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SMOKING RATES AND RELATED TRENDS IN
TOBACCO PREVENTION AND CONTROL SPENDING,
CIGARETTE TAX RATES, AND SMOKE-FREE ENVIRONMENT LAWS

This memorandum provides information regarding
changes in the smoking rates of various states,
including North Dakota, and related trends in tobacco
prevention and control spending, cigarette tax rates,
and smoke-free environment laws during the period
2000 through 2010. The federal Centers for Disease
Control and Prevention (CDC) through its State
Tobacco Activities Tracking and Evaluation (STATE)
System provides the ability to generate trend reports
for various behaviors, including cigarette use, in each
state and the District of Columbia. Cigarette use is
measured based on data from the CDC behavioral
risk factor surveillance survey. A STATE System
report of annual cigarette use among adults from 2000
through 2010 lists the percentage of overall adult
cigarette use in each state for each year and is
provided as Appendix A. The list also includes the
change in the percentage of adult cigarette use from
2000 to 2010 and ranks states based on the decrease
in adult smoking over this period. Based on the
STATE System report, New Hampshire, Nevada,
Rhode Island, lowa, and Connecticut experienced the
largest declines in adult cigarette use from 2000 to
2010. Conversely, Oklahoma and West Virginia
experienced increases in adult cigarette use during
the 10-year period. Overall adult cigarette use in
North Dakota declined from 23.2 percent in 2000 to
17.4 percent in 2010. The reduction of 5.8 percent in
adult cigarette use from 2000 to 2010 in the state
ranked North Dakota 18" among the 50 states and the
District of Columbia.

The states selected for comparative analysis are
the five states that had the most significant decreases
in adult cigarette use from 2000 to 2010, the five
states that had the least change or an increase in
adult cigarette use during the same period, and
selected other states based on proximity to North
Dakota or other factors, including similarities in
population and smoking rate reductions. Tobacco
prevention and control spending and policies vary
widely from state to state. These differences make
comparisons between the states difficult, and other
factors not considered in these comparisons may also
affect cigarette use by adults in these states. For
example, at the same time the smoking rate in New
Hampshire decreased from 17.1 percent in 2008 to
15.8 percent in 2009, tobacco prevention and control
spending in the state was reduced from $2.5 million to
$1.1 million, and the cigarette tax rate increased by
$.45 per package in 2009.

TOBACCO PREVENTION

AND CONTROL SPENDING

Tobacco prevention and control appropriation
information for each state is published annually by the
American Lung Association and is available from 2003
through 2010. Appropriation information compared to
adult cigarette use for the selected states is provided
in Appendix B. Of the five states that had the most
significant decrease in adult cigarette use from 2000
to 2010, three--New Hampshire, Nevada, and Rhode
Island--decreased funding for tobacco prevention and
control from 2003 to 2010, while two--lowa and
Connecticut--increased funding. Of the five states
that had the least change or an increase in adult
cigarette use, three--Louisiana, Montana, and
Oklahoma--increased funding, Mississippi decreased
funding, and West Virginia had minimal funding
changes over the eight-year period.

From 2003 through 2009, funding for tobacco
prevention and control in North Dakota ranged from
$3.4 million to $4.5 million annually, while the adult
smoking rate decreased from 20.5 percent to
18.6 percent during the same period. Funding for
tobacco prevention and control in North Dakota
increased to $9.4 million in 2010, and the smoking
rate decreased to 17.4 percent. South Dakota
provided funding for tobacco prevention and control at
levels varying from $1.6 million to $6.1 million from
2003 through 2010, and the adult smoking rate
decreased from 22.7 percent to 15.4 percent.
Minnesota reduced funding for tobacco prevention
and control from $30.1 million in 2003 to an average
of approximately $22 million per year from 2004
through 2010. Smoking rates in Minnesota decreased
from 21.1 percent in 2003 to 14.9 percent in 2010.

CIGARETTE TAX RATES

The federal CDC STATE System identifies
cigarette tax rates by state. In 2000 cigarette tax
rates ranged from $.025 per package in Virginia to
$1.11 per package in New York. In 2010 cigarette tax
rates ranged from $.17 per package in Missouri to
$4.35 per package in New York. These tax rates do
not include taxes levied by local governments. A
summary of cigarette tax rates compared to adult
cigarette use for the selected states from 2000
through 2010 is provided in Appendix C. The
appendix also includes cigarette tax rate increases
from 2001 through 2011 for the states identified.
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Of the five states that had the most significant
decrease in adult cigarette use from 2000 to 2010,
three--New  Hampshire, Rhode Island, and
Connecticut--increased cigarette tax rates several
times over the 10-year period. Of the five states that
had the least change or an increase in adult cigarette
use, four--Louisiana, Mississippi, Oklahoma, and
West Virginia--increased cigarette tax rates once,
while Montana increased its cigarette tax rate twice
over the 10-year period. Montana currently charges a
cigarette tax rate of $1.70 per package.

In North Dakota the cigarette tax rate remains
unchanged from 2000 at $.44 per package. In South
Dakota the cigarette tax rate was increased twice over
the 10-year period and is currently $1.53 per package.
Minnesota has increased its cigarette tax annually
since 2005 and currently charges $1.586 per
package.

SMOKE-FREE ENVIRONMENT LAWS

A federal CDC STATE System report identifying
smoke-free environment laws by state as of
December 31, 2009, indicates 21 states and the
District of Columbia had smoke-free environment laws
enacted for worksites, restaurants, and bars.
Nineteen states had no smoke-free environment laws,
and the remaining 10 states had laws providing partial
coverage. Areas covered by smoke-free indoor air
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laws as of December 31, 2009, compared to adult
cigarette use for the selected states are provided in
Appendix D.

Of the five states that had the most significant
decrease in adult cigarette use from 2000 to 2010,
two--Rhode Island and lowa--covered worksites,
restaurants, and bars in their smoke-free indoor air
laws. Nevada covered worksites and restaurants,
New Hampshire covered just restaurants, and
Connecticut had no smoke-free indoor air coverage.
Of the five states that had the least change or an
increase in adult cigarette use, three--Mississippi,
Oklahoma, and West Virginia--had no laws for smoke-
free indoor air. Montana covered worksites,
restaurants, and bars in their smoke-free indoor air
laws, and Louisiana covered worksites and
restaurants.

For the remaining selected states, South Dakota
smoke-free indoor air laws covered worksites and
restaurants, and Minnesota smoke-free indoor air
laws covered worksites, restaurants, and bars.

North Dakota prohibits smoking in all enclosed
areas of public places and places of employment but
provides exemptions for other areas, including bars.
Local governments may enact more stringent tobacco
control laws.
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