nd.gov - The Official Portal for North Dakota State Government
North Dakota: Legendary. Follow the trail of legends

Breadcrumb Navigation

North Dakota Legislative Assembly Then...and Now!


Oath of Dakota Territory Council

A bill known as the "omnibus bill" or "The Enabling Act" was an Act dividing the Territory of Dakota into the states of North and South Dakota, and enabling the two Dakotas, Montana, and Washington to formulate constitutions, was approved February 22, 1889, and a Constitutional Convention was held in Bismarck beginning July 4, 1889. A constitution was formulated and submitted to a vote of the people of the state of North Dakota at an election called for that purpose and to elect state officers on October 1, 1889. There were 27,440 votes cast for and 8,107 against the adoption of the constitution. 

Proclamation of Admission

(Published in the 1897 Legislative Manual)

The vote for admission of the state of North Dakota into the union having been taken, canvassed and returned to the president of the United States, President Harrison issued, on November 2nd, 1889, his proclamation reciting the different provisions provided for in the enabling act authorizing the formation of statehood and showing that the provisions had been severally complied with, concluding: "Now, therefore, I, Benjamin Harrison, president of the United States of America, do in accordance with the act of congress aforesaid, declare and proclaim the fact that the conditions imposed by congress on the state of North Dakota to entitle that state to admission into the union have been ratified and accepted, and that the admission of the said state into the union is now complete.

In testimony whereof. I have hereunto set my hand and caused the seal of the United States to be affixed. Done at the city of Washington, this second day of November, in the year of our Lord one thousand eight hundred and eighty-nine, and of the independence of the United States of America the one hundred and fourteenth.              BENJ. HARRISON.

By the President:

JAMES G. BLAINE, Secretary of State.


1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next Page>>>


Photos courtesy of the State Historical Society and the Legislative Council