FIRST ENGROSSMENT

Sixty-eighth Legislative Assembly of North Dakota

ENGROSSED SENATE BILL NO. 2165

Introduced by

Senators Patten, Kannianen, Kessel

Representatives Bosch, Novak, Porter

- 1 A BILL for an Act to amend and reenact section 54-63.1-03 of the North Dakota Century Code,
- 2 relating to membership of the clean sustainable energy authority.

3 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF NORTH DAKOTA:

4 SECTION 1. AMENDMENT. Section 54-63.1-03 of the North Dakota Century Code is

5 amended and reenacted as follows:

6	54-	63.1-	03. Clean sustainable	energy authority - Mem	bership - Meetings.	
7	1.	The	e clean sustainable ene	rgy authority consists of s	sixteen<u>seventeen</u> members,	
8		incl	uding eight<u>nine</u> voting r	members and eight nonve	oting technical advisors.	
9	2.	The	e eight<u>nine</u> voting meml	bers consist of:		
10		a.	One member<u>Two</u> me	mbers, one from the sena	te and one from the house of	
11			<u>representatives,</u> appo	pinted by the legislative m	anagement to serve as	
12			chairman<u>co-chairmer</u>	<u>];</u>		
13		b.	Two members appoin	ited by the lignite researc	h council;	
14		C.	Two members appoin	ited by the oil and gas re	search council;	
15		d.	Two members appoin	ited by the renewable en	ergy council; and	
16		e.	One member appoint	ed by the western Dakota	a energy association.	
17	3.	The eight nonvoting technical advisors consist of:				
18		a.	One member appoint	ed by the North Dakota o	utdoor heritage fund advisory	
19			board;			
20		b.	The commissioner of	commerce or the commis	ssioner's designee;	
21		C.	The director of the de	partment of environment	al quality or the director's designee;	
22		d.	The director of minera	al resources or the directed	or's designee;	
23		e.	The director of the No	orth Dakota pipeline autho	prity or the director's designee;	
24		f.	The director of the No	orth Dakota transmission	authority or the director's designee;	
				Page No. 1	23.0491.03000	

Sixty-eighth Legislative Assembly

1		g. The director of the state energy research center or the director's designee; and
2		h. The president of the Bank of North Dakota or the president's designee.
3	4.	The term of office for the chairmaneach co-chairman is two years. The term of office
4		for the other voting members is four years, and the other voting members may not
5		serve more than two consecutive terms. The terms of office for the voting members
6		commence on July first. The initial terms for the voting members of the authority must
7		be staggered following a method determined by the authority.
8	5.	The authority shall meet at least semiannually. The chairmanco-chairmen shall call a
9		meeting upon written request from three voting members of the authority. Five voting
10		members is a quorum at any meeting.
11	6.	The authority may not forward a recommendation to the commission unless the
12		recommendation fulfills the purposes of this chapter and is approved by a majority of
13		the voting members of the authority.