

Tentative Agenda

23.5210.02000

Revised 10/3/2022

ENERGY DEVELOPMENT AND TRANSMISSION COMMITTEE

Monday, October 10, 2022 National Energy Center of Excellence, Bismarck State College, Bismarck, North Dakota Tuesday, October 11, 2022 Roughrider Room, State Capitol, Bismarck, North Dakota

Monday, October 10, 2022, National Energy Center of Excellence, Bismarck State College, Bismarck

7:55 a.m. Call to order Roll call

Roll call Consideration of the minutes of the July 26, 2022, meeting

- 8:00 a.m. Comments by the Chairman
- 8:05 a.m. Recess for the 14th Annual Great Plains and EmPower ND Energy Conference

Tuesday, October 11, 2022, Roughrider Room, State Capitol, Bismarck

- 9:00 a.m. Comments by the Chairman
- 9:05 a.m. <u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Lynn Helms, Director, Department of Mineral Resources, regarding whether the amount in the carbon dioxide storage facility trust fund and fees being paid into the fund are sufficient to satisfy the fund's objectives, and the strategic importance of large-scale carbon dioxide
- 9:30 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Charles Gorecki, Chief Executive Officer, Energy and Environmental Research Center, regarding the results and recommendations of the underground energy storage study
- 9:45 a.m. Comments by interested persons and committee discussion
- 9:55 a.m. Presentation by Mr. John Harju, Vice President for Strategic Partnerships, Energy and Environmental Research Center, regarding development and implementation of hydrogen energy in the state
- 10:10 a.m. Comments by interested persons and committee discussion
- 10:20 a.m. <u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Jason LaPlante, Chief Executive Officer, and Mr. Brian LaPlante, Vice President of Research and Development, 4H2 Inc., regarding emerging trends in using hydrogen and ammonia for energy and ways North Dakota can attract and retain technology opportunities
- 10:50 a.m. Comments by interested persons and committee discussion
- 11:00 a.m. <u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Al Anderson, Director, Clean Sustainable Energy Authority, regarding the authority's activities and the program's financial impact on state revenues and the state's economy
- 11:25 a.m. <u>Presentation</u> by Mr. John Weeda, Director, North Dakota Transmission Authority, regarding the authority's activities and the status of the resilience of the electric grid in North Dakota
- 11:55 a.m. Comments by interested persons and committee discussion



12:05 p.m. Discussion of other administrative matters

12:10 p.m. Adjourn

A livestream of the meeting will be available to the public at: <u>https://video.ndlegis.gov</u>.

Committee Members

Senators: Jessica Bell (Chairman), Brad Bekkedahl, Kathy Hogan, Curt Kreun, Dale Patten, Merrill Piepkorn

Representatives: Dick Anderson, Tracy Boe, Mike Brandenburg, Alisa Mitskog, Todd Porter, Don Vigesaa

Staff Contact: Christopher S. Joseph, Senior Counsel