



Tentative Agenda

23.5198.02000

Revised 9/16/2022

WATER TOPICS OVERVIEW COMMITTEE

Monday, September 19, 2022
Bus Tour, Minot, North Dakota
Tuesday, September 20, 2022
Sleep Inn and Suites Conference Center, Minot, North Dakota

Monday, September 19, 2022

12:45 p.m. Call to order

Roll call

Consideration of the minutes of the June 23, 2022, meeting

1:00 p.m. Bus tour of Mouse River flood control project in and around Minot

4:00 p.m. Tour ends - Recess

Tuesday, September 20, 2022

8:00 a.m. Reconvene and Chairman remarks

Opening remarks from Mr. Tom Ross, Mayor, City of Minot

8:05 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Ross and Mr. David Ashley, Chairman, Souris River Joint Board,

regarding an update on the flood control plan in the Mouse River Basin, funds

expended during the biennium, and requests for the 2023-2025 biennium

8:35 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Ashley regarding an update on the activities of the Souris River

Joint Board

8:55 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Adam Mathiak, Senior Fiscal Analyst, Legislative Council,

regarding the resources trust fund

9:00 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Chris J. Kadrmas, Director, Finance and Administration Division,

Department of Water Resources, regarding the budget of the Department of Water

Resources

9:15 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Andrea Travnicek, Director, Department of Water Resources, and

Mr. Dan Jonasson, Public Works Director, City of Minot, regarding an update on the

Northwest Area Water Supply Project

9:35 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Jen Murray, Manager and Chief Executive Officer, Southwest

Water Authority, regarding reserve funds for replacement and extraordinary

maintenance of water systems

9:55 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Tami Madsen, Chief Executive Officer, Western Area Water Supply

Authority, regarding an update on the authority's recent activities

10:15 a.m. Break

10:25 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Wade Bachmeier, Chairman, Missouri River Joint Water Board,

regarding an update on Missouri River Joint Water Board activities

10:45 a.m. Presentation by a representative of the Army Corps of Engineers, regarding section

408 permits and other projects along the Missouri River

11:15 a.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Ms. Travnicek regarding an update on the activities of the Department of Water Resources, allocation of remaining funds received from the federal American Rescue Plan Act, and projected needs for the 2023-2025 biennium
11:35 a.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Duane DeKrey, General Manager, Garrison Diversion Conservancy District, regarding the intake structure for the Red River Valley Water Supply Project
12:05 p.m.	Recess
1:05 p.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Dr. Duane Pool, Natural Resource Economist, Planning and Education Division, Department of Water Resources, regarding the economic analysis process for projects authorized by the Department of Water Resources
1:25 p.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Ms. DeAnn Ament, Executive Director, Public Finance Authority, regarding the bonding process for water projects within the state
1:40 p.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Eric Volk, Executive Director, Rural Water Systems Association, regarding an update on the rural water systems in the state
1:55 p.m.	Presentation by Senator Sorvaag regarding an update from the interim Water Drainage Committee [23.0024.03000] & [23.0025.03000]
2:10 p.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Aaron Carranza, Director, Regulatory Division, Department of Water Resources, regarding changes to the administrative rules related to dam safety and criteria for hazard risk classification
2:30 p.m.	Break
2:40 p.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Ms. Mary Podoll, State Conservationist, Natural Resources Conservation Service of North Dakota, regarding dam safety from the perspective of the agency
2:55 p.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Tom Schimelfenig, Chairman, Onsite Wastewater Recycling Technical Committee, regarding a report on the status of the statewide technical guide and the committee's recommendations
3:10 p.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Richard Johnson, Commissioner, State Water Commission, regarding an update on the commission's activities
3:25 p.m.	Comments by interested persons
3:45 p.m.	Comments from committee members and Legislative Council staff
	Final motions
4:00 p.m.	Adjourn

A livestream of the meeting will be available to the public at: https://video.ndlegis.gov.

Committee Members

Representatives: Jim Schmidt (Chairman), Tracy Boe, Chuck Damschen, Jay Fisher, Michael Howe, Bob Martinson, Marvin E. Nelson, Jon O. Nelson, Todd Porter, Matthew Ruby, Denton Zubke

Senators: Michael Dwyer, Joan Heckaman, Jason G. Heitkamp, David Hogue, Jordan Kannianen, Jim P. Roers, Ronald Sorvaag, Mark F. Weber

Staff Contact: Dustin A. Richard, Counsel