

Call to order

9:00 a.m.

Tentative Agenda

23.5193.02000

JUDICIARY COMMITTEE

Wednesday, September 14, 2022 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

	Roll call	
	Consideration of the minutes of the May 4-5, 2022, meeting	
9:05 a.m.	SPOUSAL SUPPORT STUDY Presentation by Ms. DeAnn M. Pladson, family law attorney, of a bill draft [23.0117.01000] relating to spousal support	
9:30 a.m.	Comments by interested persons	
9:35 a.m.	Committee discussion	
9:55 a.m.	FIREARM AND AMMUNITION STUDY Presentation by Attorney General Drew H. Wrigley, relating to the availability of firearms and ammunition and an update on civil asset forfeiture data	
10:20 a.m.	Break	
REPORTS		
10:35 a.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Representative Lawrence R. Klemin, North Dakota Commission on Uniform State Laws, regarding the recommendations of the commission for the 2022 legislative session	
10:50 a.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Ms. Jennifer S. N. Clark, Senior Counsel and Code Revisor, Legislative Council, of a bill draft [23.0171.01000] relating to technical corrections to the North	

11:10 a.m. Committee discussion

Dakota Century Code

11:30 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Jason Wahl, Director, Division of Medical Marijuana, Department of

Health and Human Services, regarding the annual report relating to medical marijuana

in the state as required by North Dakota Century Code Section 19-24.1-39

12:00 noon Recess

JUVENILE JUSTICE COMMISSION

12:45 p.m. Presentation by Mr. McLean Jones, Jamestown, relating to children in need of services

1:00 p.m. Presentation by Ms. Karen Kringlie, Director of Juvenile Court, Administrative Unit Two,

and Ms. Lisa Bjergaard, Director, Division of Juvenile Services, Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation, regarding the Juvenile Justice Commission's

recommendations for further implementation of House Bill No. 1035 (2021)

1:25 p.m. Comments by interested persons

1:35 p.m. Committee discussion

RECOMMENDATIONS FROM THE CHILDREN'S CABINET AND JUDICIARY

1:45 p.m. Presentation by Justice Lisa K. Fair McEvers, North Dakota Supreme Court, regarding the court's recommendations developed by the Children's Cabinet

2:15 p.m. Comments by interested persons

COMMITTEE DISCUSSION

2:30 p.m. Committee discussion relating to executive orders issued by the President of the United States which have not been affirmed by Congress

3:00 p.m. Final committee discussion and directives

A livestream of the meeting will be available to the public at: https://video.ndlegis.gov.

Committee Members

Representatives: Kim Koppelman (Chairman), Mary Adams, Ruth Buffalo, Sebastian Ertelt, Karla Rose Hanson, Mary Johnson, Terry B. Jones, Karen Karls, Lawrence R. Klemin, Jeffery J. Magrum, Bob Paulson, Shannon Roers Jones, Bernie Satrom, Mary Schneider, Steve

Vetter

3:15 p.m.

Adjourn

Senators: JoNell A. Bakke, Robert O. Fors, Diane Larson, Janne Myrdal

Staff Contact: Samantha E. Kramer, Senior Counsel and Assistant Code Revisor