



## **Tentative Agenda**

23.5190.02000

Revised 9/6/2022

## **TAXATION COMMITTEE**

Thursday, September 8, 2022 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

10:00 a.m. Call to order

Roll call

Consideration of the minutes of the June 15, 2022, meeting

**REPORTS** 

10:05 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Rikki Roehrich, Deputy Director, Division of Community Services,

Department of Commerce, regarding renaissance zone progress and a summary of reports provided by cities having a renaissance zone included in a tax increment

financing district

10:20 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Carla Valentine, Program Manager, Economic Development and

Finance Division, Department of Commerce, of the 2021 Business Incentive

Accountability Report

PROPERTY AND INCOME TAX REFORM AND RELIEF STUDY

10:35 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Matt Gardner, Executive Director, North Dakota League of Cities,

and a representative of a city auditor's office regarding the feasibility of including special assessment information on the notice of estimated property tax required under North

Dakota Century Code Section 57-15-02.2

11:10 a.m. Presentation by Governor Doug Burgum and Mr. Brian Kroshus, Tax Commissioner,

regarding potential individual income tax relief legislation

11:45 a.m. Comments by interested persons

12:00 noon Recess

1:00 p.m. Presentation by Ms. Linda Svihovec, Research Analyst, North Dakota Association of

Counties, regarding an overview of calculating property tax, including calculation of mill

rates and local budgeting

1:35 p.m. Committee discussion regarding the property and income tax reform and relief study

2:20 p.m. Committee discussion and final motions

2:30 p.m. Adjourn

A livestream of the meeting will be available to the public at: <a href="https://video.ndlegis.gov">https://video.ndlegis.gov</a>.

## **Committee Members**

Senators: Dale Patten (Chairman), Scott Meyer, Merrill Piepkorn, Mark F. Weber

Representatives: Dick Anderson, Jason Dockter, Robb Eckert, Patrick Hatlestad, Craig Headland, Tom

Kading, Jim Kasper, Ben Koppelman, Vicky Steiner, Wayne A. Trottier

Staff Contacts: Megan J. Gordon, Counsel

Emily Thompson, Legal Division Director