

Tentative Agenda

23.5189.02000

ENERGY DEVELOPMENT AND TRANSMISSION COMMITTEE

Tuesday, July 26, 2022 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

10:00 a.m. Call to order

Roll call

Consideration of the minutes of the May 10, 2022, meeting

10:05 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Thomas Beadle, State Treasurer; Mr. Riley Moore, West Virginia

State Treasurer; and Mr. Marlo Oaks, Utah State Treasurer, regarding environmental

social governance

10:50 a.m. Comments by interested persons and committee discussion

11:00 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Julie Fedorchak, Commissioner, Public Service Commission,

regarding an update on the Midcontinent Independent System Operator

11:45 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Ed Murphy, State Geologist, Department of Mineral Resources,

and Executive Secretary, High-Level Radioactive Waste Advisory Council, regarding

the council's findings

12:00 noon Recess

1:00 p.m. Panel discussion regarding utility company and cooperative updates and challenges:

• Mr. Todd Sailer, Senior Manager of Power Supply, Minnkota Power Cooperative

• <u>Ms. Jean Schafer,</u> Senior Legislative Representative, Basin Electric Power

Cooperative

Mr. Brad Tollerson, Vice President of Energy Supply, Otter Tail Power Company

• Mr. John Marshall, Vice President, Community Relations, Xcel Energy

• Mr. Darcy Neigum, Director of Electric Systems Operations and Planning,

Montana-Dakota Utility

2:30 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Dave Glatt, Director, Department of Environmental Quality,

regarding carbon reduction initiatives, rules, or policies that will affect North Dakota

residents and industries

2:55 p.m. Comments by interested persons and committee discussion

3:00 p.m. Adjourn

A livestream of the meeting will be available to the public at: https://video.ndlegis.gov.

Committee Members

Senators: Jessica Bell (Chairman), Brad Bekkedahl, Kathy Hogan, Curt Kreun, Dale Patten, Merrill Piepkorn

Representatives: Dick Anderson, Tracy Boe, Mike Brandenburg, Alisa Mitskog, Todd Porter, Don Vigesaa

Staff Contact: Christopher S. Joseph, Senior Counsel