

2:20 p.m.

2:30 p.m.

2:50 p.m.

3:25 p.m.

4:00 p.m.

Break

policy

Recess

Reservation regarding tribal health services

Reservation regarding tribal tax agreements and taxation issues

Tentative Agenda

23.5167.02000

TRIBAL AND STATE RELATIONS COMMITTEE

Tuesday and Wednesday, August 9-10, 2022 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

Tuesday, Augu 8:30 a.m.	st 9, 2022 Call to order
	Roll call Consideration of the minutes of the April 6-8, 2022, meeting
8:35 a.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Shawn Peterson, Director, Juvenile Court Services, Juvenile Court, on the status, effectiveness, performance, and sustainability of the memorandum of understanding established under North Dakota Century Code Section 27-20.4-27
9:00 a.m.	TURTLE MOUNTAIN BAND OF CHIPPEWA INDIANS Presentation by Ms. Deborah McDaniel, Director, Gaming Division, Attorney General's office, regarding charitable gaming growth and electronic pull-tab devices
9:40 a.m.	Presentation by Dr. Donna Brown, President, Turtle Mountain Community College, regarding the college's programs and services
10:20 a.m.	Break
10:30 a.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Ms. Cynthia Monteau, Director, Tax Department, Three Affiliated Tribes of the Fort Berthold Reservation, regarding implementation of a state-tribal relations policy
10:50 a.m.	Discussion by representatives of the Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa Indians regarding tribal health services
11:25 a.m.	Discussion by representatives of the Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa Indians regarding tribal tax agreements and taxation issues
12:00 noon	Recess
THF 1:00 p.m.	REE AFFILIATED TRIBES OF THE FORT BERTHOLD RESERVATION Presentation by Ms. Deborah McDaniel, Director, Gaming Division, Attorney General's office, regarding charitable gaming growth and electronic pull-tab devices
1:40 p.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Robert "BJ" Rainbow, Vice President of Academics, Nueta, Hidatsa, Sahnish College regarding the college's programs and services

Presentation by Ms. Cynthia Monteau, Director, Tax Department, Three Affiliated Tribes

of the Fort Berthold Reservation, regarding implementation of a state-tribal relations

Discussion by representatives of the Three Affiliated Tribes of the Fort Berthold

Discussion by representatives of the Three Affiliated Tribes of the Fort Berthold

Wednesday, August 10, 2022		
8:30 a.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Dr. Leander McDonald, President, United Tribes Technical College, regarding the college's programs and services	
	SPIRIT LAKE TRIBE	
9:00 a.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Ms. Deborah McDaniel, Director, Gaming Division, Attorney General's office, regarding charitable gaming growth and electronic pull-tab devices	
9:40 a.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Dr. Cynthia Lindquist, President, Cankdeska Cikana Community College, regarding the college's programs and services	
10:20 a.m.	Break	
10:30 a.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Ms. Cynthia Monteau, Director, Tax Department, Three Affiliated Tribes of the Fort Berthold Reservation, regarding implementation of a state-tribal relations policy	
10:50 a.m.	Discussion by representatives of the Spirit Lake Tribe regarding tribal health services	
11:25 a.m.	Discussion by representatives of the Spirit Lake Tribe regarding tribal tax agreements and taxation issues	
12:00 noon	Recess	
STANDING ROCK SIOUX TRIBE		
1:00 p.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Ms. Deborah McDaniel, Director, Gaming Division, Attorney General's office, regarding charitable gaming growth and electronic pull-tab devices	
1:40 p.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Dr. Laurel Vermillion, President, Sitting Bull College, regarding the college's programs and services	
2:20 p.m.	Break	
2:30 p.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Ms. Cynthia Monteau, Director, Tax Department, Three Affiliated Tribes of the Fort Berthold Reservation, regarding implementation of a state-tribal relations policy	
2:50 p.m.	Discussion by representatives of the Standing Rock Sioux Tribe regarding tribal health services	
3:25 p.m.	Discussion by representatives of the Standing Rock Sioux Tribe regarding tribal tax agreements and taxation issues	
4:00 p.m.	Adjourn	

A livestream of the meeting will be available to the public at: https://video.ndlegis.gov.

Committee Members

Senators: Rich Wardner (Chairman), Jessica Bell, Joan Heckaman, Dave Oehlke Representatives: Joshua A. Boschee, Terry B. Jones, Chet Pollert

Staff Contact: Jill Grossman, Counsel