

Tentative Agenda

23.5148.02000

ENERGY DEVELOPMENT AND TRANSMISSION COMMITTEE

Tuesday, May 10, 2022 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

	ziemaron, rienti zanota
9:00 a.m.	Call to order Roll call Consideration of the minutes of the March 1, 2022, meeting
9:05 a.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum regarding coal conversion facility bonding and reclamation
9:15 a.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Ms. Jean Schafer, Senior Legislative Representative, Basin Electric Power Cooperative, regarding reclamation of coal conversion facilities
9:25 a.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Jay Skabo, Vice President of Electric Supply, Montana Dakota Utilities Company, regarding reclamation of coal conversion facilities
9:35 a.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Craig Bleth, Vice President of Power Supply, Minnkota Power Cooperative, regarding reclamation of coal conversion facilities
9:45 a.m.	Presentation by Ms. Julie Fedorchak, Commissioner, Public Service Commission, regarding Midcontinent Independent System Operator's perspective on operating the power grid and delivering electricity reliably, dependably, and affordably
10:05 a.m.	Break
10:20 a.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Randy Christmann, Commissioner, Public Service Commission, regarding Southwest Power Pool's perspective on operating the power grid and delivering electricity reliably, dependably, and affordably
10:40 a.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Christmann regarding the methods and amounts of financial assurance, schedules, economic considerations, statutes, rules, and policies relating to the remaining useful life and early retirement of coal conversion facilities and the role of the Public Service Commission in all electrical generation retirement
11:00 a.m.	Comments by interested persons and committee discussion
11:30 a.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by a representative of the Insurance Department regarding the availability, cost, and risks associated with insurance coverage in the lignite coal industry
12:00 noon	Recess
1:00 p.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum regarding natural gas and propane infrastructure development
1:10 p.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Justin Kringstad, Director, North Dakota Pipeline Authority, regarding North Dakota's natural gas production and transportation dynamics
1:40 p.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Mike Rud, Executive Director, North Dakota Propane Gas Association, regarding propane storage expansion
2:00 p.m.	Presentation by Mr. Brian Kroshus, Tax Commissioner, regarding the implementation of

Senate Bill No. 2328 (2021)

2:20 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Cully Cavness, President, Co-Founder, and Chief Operating

Officer, Crusoe Energy Systems Inc., regarding digital flare mitigation

2:35 p.m. Comments by interested persons and committee discussion

3:00 p.m. Adjourn

A livestream of the meeting will be available to the public at: https://video.legis.nd.gov.

Committee Members

Senators: Jessica Bell (Chairman), Brad Bekkedahl, Kathy Hogan, Curt Kreun, Dale Patten, Merrill Piepkorn

Representatives: Dick Anderson, Tracy Boe, Mike Brandenburg, Alisa Mitskog, Todd Porter, Don Vigesaa

Staff Contact: Christopher S. Joseph, Counsel