



## **Tentative Agenda**

23.5146.02000

Revised 6/13/2022

## WATER TOPICS OVERVIEW COMMITTEE

Thursday, June 23, 2022 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m.	Call to order Roll call Consideration of the minutes of the March 22, 2022, meeting
9:05 a.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Chris J. Kadrmas, Senior Fiscal Analyst, Legislative Council, regarding the resources trust fund
9:10 a.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Ms. Heide Delorme, Director, Administrative Services Division, Department of Water Resources, regarding American Rescue Plan Act funds and the project status summary
9:15 a.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Senator Roers and Ms. Dani Quissell, Executive Director, North Dakota Irrigation Association, regarding the status of irrigation in North Dakota and the measures needed to improve irrigation throughout the state
9:30 a.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Chris Bader, Director, Water Appropriation Division, Department of Water Resources, and Ms. Andrea Travnicek, Director, Department of Water Resources, regarding current water permitting procedures
9:50 a.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Ms. Travnicek regarding an update on the department's activities, the condition of the Northwest Area Water Supply Project, and cost-share policies
10:30 a.m.	Break
10:40 a.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Wade Bachmeier, Chairman, Missouri River Joint Water Board, regarding an update on Missouri River Joint Water Board activities
11:00 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Terry Fleck, North Dakota Recreational Representative, Missouri River Recovery Implementation Commission and Chairman, Friends of Lake Sakakawea, regarding an overview of activities by the Army Corps of Engineers on the Missouri River in North Dakota
11:30 a.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Ms. Jen Murray, Manager and Chief Executive Officer, Southwest Water Authority, and Ms. Sindhuja S. Pillai-Grinolds, Project Manager, Southwest Pipeline Project, regarding reserve funds for replacement and extraordinary maintenance of water systems
12:00 noon	Recess
12:45 p.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Dave Carlsrud, Mayor, Valley City, regarding an update on the Valley City area flood
1:15 p.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Daryl Campbell, Chairman, Walsh County Water Resource Board, regarding recent flooding issues in northeast North Dakota
1:45 p.m.	Presentation by Mr. Duane DeKrey, General Manager, Garrison Diversion Conservancy

District, regarding the intake structure for the Red River Valley Water Supply Project and the federal appropriation for the expansion of users in the Mandan, Hidatsa, and

Arikara Nation and Spirit Lake Nation

2:15 p.m.	Break
2:25 p.m.	Presentation by Mr. Richard Johnson, Commissioner, State Water Commission, regarding an update on the commission's activities
2:40 p.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Joseph Heringer, Land Commissioner, Department of Trust Lands, regarding water development on state trust lands and the department's relationship and cooperation with the Department of Water Resources
3:00 p.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Bill Robinson, Chairman, Lower Heart River Water Resource District Board, regarding dikes owned by the City of Mandan
3:30 p.m.	Presentation by Mr. Dan Cox, Audit Manager, State Auditor's office, regarding audits of water resource districts
3:50 p.m.	Comments from interested persons
4:00 p.m.	Adjourn

A livestream of the meeting will be available to the public at: <a href="https://video.legis.nd.gov">https://video.legis.nd.gov</a>.

## **Committee Members**

Representatives: Jim Schmidt (Chairman), Tracy Boe, Chuck Damschen, Jay Fisher, Michael Howe, Bob Martinson, Jon O. Nelson, Marvin E. Nelson, Todd Porter, Matthew Ruby, Denton Zubke

Senators: Michael Dwyer, Joan Heckaman, Jason G. Heitkamp, David Hogue, Jordan Kannianen, Jim P. Roers, Ronald Sorvaag, Mark F. Weber

Staff Contact: Dustin Richard, Counsel