



3:00 p.m.

Adjourn

Tentative Agenda

23.5136.02000

Revised 3/28/2022

TAXATION COMMITTEE

Wednesday, April 6, 2022 Pioneer Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

	·
10:00 a.m.	Call to order Roll call Consideration of the minutes of the February 17, 2022, meeting
10:05 a.m.	ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT TAX INCENTIVES STUDY Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a memorandum summarizing the committee's progress in receiving information to evaluate economic development tax incentives
10:10 a.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Ms. Nancy Johnson, Executive Director, North Dakota Soybean Growers Association, regarding the soybean or canola crushing facility construction or retrofit credit
10:25 a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft regarding the manufacturing automation tax credit
10:35 a.m.	Comments by interested persons
10:45 a.m.	Committee discussion and directives
11:00 a.m.	PROPERTY AND INCOME TAX REFORM AND RELIEF STUDY Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum on the committee's study of property tax reform and relief
11:20 a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a <u>background memorandum</u> on the committee's study of income tax reform and relief
11:35 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Allen H. Knudson, Legislative Budget Analyst and Auditor, regarding current and projected state revenues and expenditures, an overview of the state funds flowchart, and information regarding the state budget and legacy fund
12:00 noon	Recess
1:00 p.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Lynn Helms, Director, Department of Mineral Resources, regarding the oil production outlook for the state
1:30 p.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Adam J. Tescher, Director, School Finance and Organization, Department of Public Instruction, of an overview of the education funding formula
2:00 p.m.	Comments by interested persons
2:15 p.m.	Committee discussion and directives
2:30 p.m.	BIOLOGIC MANUFACTURING SALES TAX EXEMPTION STUDY Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a memorandum regarding incentives available to the bioscience, manufacturing, and agriculture industries
2:45 p.m.	Committee discussion and directives

A livestream of the meeting will be available to the public at: https://video.legis.nd.gov.

Committee Members

Senators: Dale Patten (Chairman), Scott Meyer, Merrill Piepkorn, Mark F. Weber

Representatives: Dick Anderson, Jason Dockter, Robb Eckert, Patrick Hatlestad, Craig Headland,

Tom Kading, Jim Kasper, Ben Koppelman, Vicky Steiner, Wayne A. Trottier

Staff Contacts: Megan J. Gordon, Counsel

Emily Thompson, Legal Division Director