North Dakota Legislative Management

# **Tentative Agenda**

23.5133.02000



Revised 3/1/2022

## JUDICIARY COMMITTEE

Thursday, March 3, 2022 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m. Call to order Roll call Consideration of the <u>minutes of the October 5, 2021, meeting</u>

#### JUVENILE JUSTICE

- 9:05 a.m. Presentation by <u>Mr. Denis Otterness</u>, Chief, West Fargo Police, and <u>Mr. Jesse Jahner</u>, Sheriff, Cass County on experience and observations
- 9:25 a.m. <u>Presentation</u> by Ms. Mandy Dendy, Attorney, Protection and Advocacy Project, relating to individual justice planning
- 9:50 a.m. <u>Presentation</u> by Ms. Karen Kringlie, Director of Juvenile Court, Administrative Unit Two, relating to the implementation of House Bill No. 1035 (2021)
- 10:10 a.m. Break
- 10:30 a.m. <u>Presentation</u> by Ms. Laura van der Lugt, Project Manager, State Initiatives, Council of State Governments' Justice Center, relating to course corrections
- 11:00 a.m. <u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Josh Weber, Deputy Division Director, Corrections and Reentry, Council of State Governments' Justice Center, on the implementation of House Bill No. 1427 (2021)
- 11:30 a.m. Comments by interested persons
- 11:50 a.m. Committee discussion
- 12:00 noon Recess

#### REPORTS

- 1:00 p.m. <u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Troy Seibel, Chief Deputy Attorney General, Attorney General's Office, summarizing activity relating to civilly forfeited property
- 1:20 p.m. <u>Presentation</u> by a representative of the North Dakota Racing Commission of a report relating to liability of charitable organizations that receive and disburse money handled through account wagering as required by North Dakota Section Code 53-06.2-04
- 1:45 p.m. Committee discussion

### SHELTER CARE STUDY

- 2:00 p.m. <u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Cory Pedersen, Director, Children and Family Services, Department of Human Services, relating to shelter care services
- 2:20 p.m. Comments by interested persons
- 2:40 p.m. Committee discussion
- 3:00 p.m. Adjourn

A livestream of the meeting will be available to the public at: https://video.legis.nd.gov.

#### **Committee Members**

Representatives: Kim Koppelman (Chairman), Mary Adams, Ruth Buffalo, Sebastian Ertelt, Karla Rose Hanson, Mary Johnson, Terry B. Jones, Karen Karls, Lawrence R. Klemin, Jeffery J. Magrum, Bob Paulson, Shannon Roers Jones, Bernie Satrom, Mary Schneider, Steve Vetter

Senators: JoNell A. Bakke, Robert O. Fors, Diane Larson, Janne Myrdal

Staff Contact: Samantha E. Kramer, Senior Counsel