North Dakota Legislative Management

Tentative Agenda

23.5127.02000



JUDICIARY COMMITTEE

Tuesday, February 22, 2022 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m. Call to order Roll call Consideration of the minutes of the October 5, 2021, meeting

JUVENILE JUSTICE

- 9:05 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Jesse Jahner, Cass County Sheriff, on experience and observations
- 9:20 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Mandy Dendy, Staff Attorney, Protection and Advocacy Project, relating to individual justice planning
- 9:45 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Karen Kringlie, Director of Juvenile Court, Administrative Unit Two, and Mr. Travis Finck, Executive Director, Commission on Legal Counsel for Indigents, relating to the implementation of House Bill No. 1035 (2021)
- 10:10 a.m. Break
- 10:30 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Tracy Gillespie, Senior Policy Analyst, State Initiatives, Council of State Governments' Justice Center, relating to course corrections
- 11:00 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Josh Weber, Deputy Director, Corrections and Reentry, Council of State Governments' Justice Center, on the implementation of House Bill No. 1427 (2021)
- 11:30 a.m. Comments by interested persons
- 11:50 a.m. Committee discussion
- 12:00 noon Recess

REPORTS

- 1:00 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Finck of a report on the indigent defense contract system and public defender offices as required by North Dakota Century Code Section 54-61-03 and House Bill No. 1035
- 1:35 p.m. Committee discussion
- 1:45 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Troy Seibel, Deputy Attorney General, summarizing activity relating to civilly forfeited property
- 2:00 p.m. Committee discussion
- 2:10 p.m. Presentation by a representative of the North Dakota Racing Commission of a report relating to liability of charitable organizations that receive and disburse money handled through account wagering as required by Section 53-06.2-04
- 2:30 p.m. Committee discussion
- 2:40 p.m. Adjourn

A livestream of the meeting will be available to the public at: <u>https://video.legis.nd.gov</u>.

Committee Members

Representatives: Kim Koppelman (Chairman), Mary Adams, Ruth Buffalo, Sebastian Ertelt, Karla Rose Hanson, Mary Johnson, Terry B. Jones, Karen Karls, Lawrence R. Klemin, Jeffery J. Magrum, Bob Paulson, Shannon Roers Jones, Bernie Satrom, Mary Schneider, Steve Vetter

Senators: JoNell A. Bakke, Robert O. Fors, Diane Larson, Janne Myrdal

Staff Contact: Samantha E. Kramer, Senior Counsel