

2:00 p.m.

Adjourn

Tentative Agenda

23.5122.02000

ENERGY DEVELOPMENT AND TRANSMISSION COMMITTEE

Tuesday, March 1, 2022 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m.	Call to order Roll call Consideration of the minutes of the August 4-5, 2021, meeting
9:05 a.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum regarding oil and gas lease postproduction deductions
9:15 a.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Justin Kringstad, Director, North Dakota Pipeline Authority, regarding North Dakota's natural gas production, processing, transmission outlook, and energy corridors
9:45 a.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Josh Teigen, Director, Economic Development and Finance, Department of Commerce, regarding support of west to east natural gas pipeline for economic development
9:55 a.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Ron Ness, President, North Dakota Petroleum Council, of an overview of the complexities and challenges of Bakken oil and gas development, and environmental, social, and governance standards
10:10 a.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Brent Lohnes, General Manager, North Dakota Operations, Hess Corporation, regarding deductions for postproduction costs under oil and gas leases
10:40 a.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Russell Murphy, President, North Dakota Chapter, National Association of Royalty Owners, regarding postproduction deductions
11:10 a.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Robert Skarphol, Founder, Williston Basin Royalty Owners Association, regarding postproduction costs assessed and collected
11:40 a.m.	Comments by interested persons and committee discussion
12:00 noon	Recess
1:00 p.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Lynn Helms, Director, Department of Mineral Resources, regarding deductions for postproduction costs under oil and gas leases
1:20 p.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Ms. Jodi A. Smith, Commissioner, Department of Trust Lands, regarding postproduction costs as it relates to the Board of University and School Lands' lease
1:35 p.m.	Presentation by a representative of the Attorney General's office regarding deductions for postproduction costs under oil and gas leases
1:45 p.m.	Comments by interested persons and committee discussion

A livestream of the meeting will be available to the public at: https://video.legis.nd.gov.

Committee Members

Senators: Jessica Bell (Chairman), Brad Bekkedahl, Kathy Hogan, Curt Kreun, Dale Patten, Merrill Piepkorn

Representatives: Dick Anderson, Tracy Boe, Mike Brandenburg, Alisa Mitskog, Todd Porter, Don Vigesaa

Staff Contact: Christopher S. Joseph, Counsel