



Tentative Agenda

23.5113.02000

Revised 2/8/2022

HEALTH CARE COMMITTEE

Wednesday, March 2, 2022 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m. Call to order

Roll call

Consideration of the minutes of the December 16, 2021, meeting

Comments by the Chairman

COMMUNITY HEALTH WORKER STUDY

9:05 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Elinor Higgins, Policy Associate, and Ms. Rebecca Cooper, Policy

Associate, National Academy for State Health Policy, regarding an overview of

community health workers

9:35 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Caprice Knapp, Medicaid Director, Division of Medical Services,

Department of Human Services, regarding Medicaid reimbursement for community

health workers and tribal communities

9:50 a.m. Break

10:05 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Allison Myers, PhD/MPH, Director, Oregon State University Center

for Health Innovation, and Ms. Oralia Mendez, MPH CHW, Manager, Workforce Development and Community Programs, Oregon State University, regarding

community health workers

10:50 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Ben Tiensvold, Community Outreach Coordinator, Community

Health Worker Collaborative of South Dakota, regarding an overview of South Dakota's

community health workers

11:20 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Adam Parker, Manager, AirMed/EMS, Sanford Health, regarding

community paramedics

11:40 a.m. Comments by interested persons

11:50 a.m. Committee discussion and directives

12:00 noon Recess

DRUG PRICING STUDY

1:00 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Drew Gattine, Senior Policy Fellow, National Academy for State

Health Policy, regarding an overview of the drug supply chain

1:20 p.m. Presentation by Ms. Leah Lindahl, Senior Director, State Government Affairs, Western

Region, Healthcare Distribution Alliance, regarding the role of drug distributors in the

drug supply chain and in drug pricing

1:40 p.m. Presentation by Mr. James McSpadden, Senior Policy Advisor, AARP Public Policy

Institute, regarding drug pricing

2:25 p.m. Break

2:40 p.m. <u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Gattine, regarding legislation affecting drug prices

3:00 p.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Jon Godfread, Insurance Commissioner, regarding the role of the Insurance Department in the regulation of pharmacy benefit managers
3:30 p.m.	<u>Presentations</u> by representatives of health insurance carriers regarding the drug price upon which drug copays, coinsurance, and deductibles are based
3:50 p.m.	Comments by interested persons
4:00 p.m.	Committee discussion and directives
4:10 p.m.	Adjourn

A livestream of the meeting will be available to the public at: https://video.legis.nd.gov.

Committee Members

Representatives: Robin Weisz (Chairman), Pamela Anderson, Mike Beltz, Ruth Buffalo, Gretchen Dobervich, Clayton Fegley, Zachary Ista, Jim Kasper, Lisa Meier, Marvin E. Nelson,

Bob Paulson, Karen M. Rohr, Greg Westlind

Senators: Howard C. Anderson, Jr., Tim Mathern, Dave Oehlke, Kristin Roers

Staff Contacts: Jennifer S. N. Clark, Senior Counsel and Assistant Code Revisor Samantha E. Kramer, Senior Counsel