

## **Tentative Agenda**

23.5111.02000

Revised 3/16/2022

## WATER TOPICS OVERVIEW COMMITTEE

Tuesday, March 22, 2022 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

10:00 a.m.	Call to order Roll call Consideration of the minutes of the December 7, 2021, meeting
10:05 a.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Chris J. Kadrmas, Senior Fiscal Analyst, Legislative Council, regarding the resources trust fund
10:10 a.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Ms. Heide Delorme, Director, Administrative Services Division, Department of Water Resources, regarding American Rescue Plan Act funds and the project status summary
10:20 a.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Wade Bachmeier, Chairman, Missouri River Joint Water Board, regarding an update on Missouri River Joint Water Board activities
10:30 a.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Ms. Andrea Travnicek, Director, Department of Water Resources, regarding an update on Department of Water Resources activities
11:00 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Richard Johnson, Commissioner, State Water Commission, regarding an update on State Water Commission activities
11:20 a.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Ms. DeAnn Ament, Executive Director, Public Finance Authority, regarding progress on implementing legislation relating to bonding
11:30 a.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Pat Fridgen, Director, Planning and Education Division, Department of Water Resources, regarding Department of Water Resources interagency relationships
11:45 a.m.	Recess
12:45 p.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Shaun Sipma, Mayor, City of Minot, regarding an update on the Souris River flood control project
1:00 p.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Joel Paulsen, Executive Director, FM Area Diversion Project, regarding an update on the FM Area Diversion Project
1:15 p.m.	Presentation by Ms. Claire Ness, Senior Counsel and Code Revisor, Legislative Council, regarding an update on the Water Drainage Committee
1:25 p.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Duane DeKrey, General Manager, Garrison Diversion Conservancy District, regarding an update on the Red River Valley Water Supply Project
1:45 p.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Ms. Jen Murray, Manager and Chief Executive Officer, Southwest Water Authority, regarding an update on the Southwest Pipeline Project
2:00 p.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Ms. Tami Madsen, Executive Director, Western Area Water Supply Authority, regarding an update on the Western Area Water Supply Project
2:15 p.m.	Break

2:25 p.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Matt Gardner, Executive Director, North Dakota League of Cities, regarding municipal water supply projects and funding
2:40 p.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Eric Volk, Executive Director, North Dakota Rural Water Systems Association, regarding rural water projects and funding
2:55 p.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Gary Thompson, Chairman, Red River Joint Water Resource District, regarding the Cass County pilot project
3:10 p.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Jack Dwyer, Executive Secretary, North Dakota Water Resource Districts Association, regarding water resource boards' activities
3:25 p.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Mr. David Glatt, Director, Department of Environmental Quality, regarding waste water funding and federal funding for lead pipe replacement
3:40 p.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Mark Wax, Acting State Director, North Dakota Office of Rural Development, United States Department of Agriculture, regarding engineering costs, reserves, and the water supply loan program
3:55 p.m.	Adjourn

A livestream of the meeting will be available to the public at: <a href="https://video.legis.nd.gov">https://video.legis.nd.gov</a>.

## **Committee Members**

Representatives: Jim Schmidt (Chairman), Tracy Boe, Chuck Damschen, Jay Fisher, Michael Howe, Bob Martinson, Jon O. Nelson, Marvin E. Nelson, Todd Porter, Matthew Ruby, Denton Zubke

Senators: Michael Dwyer, Joan Heckaman, Jason G. Heitkamp, David Hogue, Jordan Kannianen, Jim P. Roers, Ronald Sorvaag, Mark F. Weber

Staff Contact: Claire Ness, Senior Counsel and Code Revisor