23.5107.02000



HIGHER EDUCATION COMMITTEE

Tuesday and Wednesday, February 15-16, 2022 Ballroom B, Memorial Union, North Dakota State University Fargo, North Dakota

Tuesday, February 15, 2022

- 1:00 p.m. Call to order Roll call
 - Consideration of the <u>minutes of the September 28-29, 2021, meeting</u> Comments by the Chairman
- 1:05 p.m. <u>Presentation</u> by a representative of the North Dakota Nurses Association regarding workforce needs and nurse education requirements
- 1:30 p.m. <u>Presentation</u> by a representative of the North Dakota University System regarding enrollment and graduation trends in nursing programs
- 1:40 p.m. <u>Presentation</u> by a representative of the University System of an update regarding the capital building fund program
- 1:50 p.m. Break
- 2:00 p.m. <u>Presentation</u> by a representative of North Dakota State University of an overview of the institution
- 3:00 p.m. Tour of North Dakota State University
- 5:00 p.m. Recess

Wednesday, February 16, 2022

- 8:30 a.m. <u>Presentation</u> by a representative of the North Dakota State College of Science of an overview of the institution, including facility needs
- 9:50 a.m. Break
- 10:00 a.m. Presentation by a representative of the University System regarding state student financial assistance, including:
 - State grants, scholarships, and loan forgiveness programs;
 - Campus waivers and scholarships;
 - Student financial assistance provided by campus foundations; and
 - The current role of the Bank of North Dakota in the provision of student financial assistance, including student loans
- 11:00 a.m. <u>Presentation</u> by a representative of the Department of Career and Technical Education regarding the career center initiative grant program
- 11:30 a.m. Comments by interested persons regarding the committee's assigned studies and duties
- 11:45 a.m. Committee discussion and staff directives
- 12:00 noon Adjourn

A livestream of the meeting will be available to the public at: <u>https://video.legis.nd.gov</u>.

Committee Members

Representatives: Mark Sanford (Chairman), Larry Bellew, Jay Fisher, LaurieBeth Hager, Karla Rose Hanson, Zachary Ista, Dennis Johnson, Bob Martinson, Gary Paur, Brandy Pyle, David Richter, Mike Schatz, Cynthia Schreiber-Beck

Senators: JoNell A. Bakke, Robert Erbele, Karen K. Krebsbach, Dave Oehlke, Jim P. Roers

Staff Contact: Alex J. Cronquist, Senior Fiscal Analyst