

## **Tentative Agenda**

23.5102.02000

## **TAXATION COMMITTEE**

Wednesday, December 15, 2021 Room 327B, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

Bismarck, North Dakota		
9:00	a.m.	Call to order Roll call Consideration of the minutes of the September 21, 2021, meeting
9:05	a.m.	MOTOR VEHICLE EXCISE TAX CREDIT STUDY  Presentation by a representative of the Tax Department regarding the history of motor vehicle excise tax and the application of a trade-in credit for retail motor vehicle sales
9:15	a.m.	Comments by interested persons
9:25	a.m.	Committee discussion
9:35	a.m.	ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT TAX INCENTIVES STUDY  Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum on the manufacturing and recycling equipment sales tax exemption
9:40	a.m.	Comments by interested persons
9:50	a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a <u>background memorandum</u> on the manufacturing automation equipment credit
9:55	a.m.	Comments by interested persons
10:05	ā a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a <u>background memorandum</u> on the soybean or canola crushing facility construction or retrofit credit
10:10	a.m.	Comments by interested persons
10:20	a.m.	Break
10:30	) a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a <u>background memorandum</u> on the agricultural commodity processing facility investment credit
10:35	ā a.m.	Comments by interested persons
10:45	5 a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a <u>background memorandum</u> on the research expense credit
10:50	a.m.	Comments by interested persons
11:00	a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a <u>background memorandum</u> on the seed capital investment credit
11:05	a.m.	Comments by interested persons
11:15	a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a <u>background memorandum</u> on the new or expanding business exemption
11:20	a.m.	Comments by interested persons
11:30	a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a <u>background memorandum</u> on the new

jobs credit from income tax withholding

11:35 a.m. Comments by interested persons
 11:45 a.m. <u>Presentation</u> by a representative of the Tax Department of <u>fiscal information</u> pertaining

to the economic development tax incentives selected for study

11:55 a.m. Committee discussion and directives

12:00 noon Adjourn

A livestream of the meeting will be available to the public at: <a href="https://video.legis.nd.gov">https://video.legis.nd.gov</a>.

## **Committee Members**

Senators: Dale Patten (Chairman), Scott Meyer, Merrill Piepkorn, Mark F. Weber

Representatives: Dick Anderson, Jason Dockter, Patrick Hatlestad, Craig Headland, Tom Kading,

Jim Kasper, Ben Koppelman, Vicky Steiner, Wayne A. Trottier

Staff Contact: Emily Thompson, Legal Division Director

Megan J. Gordon, Counsel