

Tentative Agenda

23.5043.02000

Revised 12/6/2021

WATER TOPICS OVERVIEW COMMITTEE

Tuesday, December 7, 2021 Brynhild Haugland Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m.	Call to order Roll call Consideration of the minutes of the July 12-13, 2021, meeting
9:05 a.m.	Committee discussion with the State Water Commission regarding 2021 water-related legislation, including Senate Bill No. 2345 (2021), and other topics
9:35 a.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Ms. Andrea Travnicek, Director, Department of Water Resources, regarding activities of the Department of Water Resources
9:50 a.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Gary Thompson, Chairman, Red River Joint Water Resource District, regarding the Cass County pilot project
10:10 a.m.	Presentation by Representative Jon O. Nelson, Rugby, regarding All Seasons Water Users District funding
10:20 a.m.	Break
10:30 a.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Wade Bachmeier, Chairman, Missouri River Joint Water Board, regarding a work plan and proposal
10:45 a.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Richard Johnson, Commissioner, State Water Commission, regarding the pilot project for the Upper Sheyenne River Basin
11:00 a.m.	<u>Presentation</u> from Mr. Aaron Carranza, Director, Regulatory Division, Department of Water Resources, regarding the relationship between the Department of Water Resources and water resource boards, and regarding hydrologic unit codes
11:20 a.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Chris J. Kadrmas, Senior Fiscal Analyst, Legislative Council, regarding the resources trust fund
11:25 a.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Ms. Heide Delorme, Director, Administrative Services Division, Department of Water Resources, regarding the project status summary
11:30 a.m.	Recess
12:30 p.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Ms. Merri Mooridian, Administrative Officer/Deputy Project Manager for Red River Valley Water Supply Project Administration, Garrison Diversion Conservancy District, regarding the status of the Red River Valley Water Supply Project
12:50 p.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Shaun Sipma, Mayor, City of Minot, and Mr. David Ashley, Chairman, Souris River Joint Board, regarding the status of the Souris River flood control project
1:05 p.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Kory Peterson, Mayor, City of Horace, regarding water supply issues
1:20 p.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Kris Bakkegard, Director of Engineering, FM Area Diversion Project, regarding the status of the FM Diversion Project

1:35 p.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Jeb Williams, Director, Game and Fish Department, regarding aquatic nuisance species
1:50 p.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Mr. David Glatt, Director, Department of Environmental Quality, regarding the state drinking water program
2:05 p.m.	Break
2:15 p.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Mr. James Leiman, Commissioner, Department of Commerce, regarding community development block grants
2:30 p.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Ms. Shannon Fisher, Program Manager, Drinking Water State Revolving Fund Program, and Ms. Elizabeth Tokach Duran, Program Manager, Clean Water State Revolving Fund Program, Department of Environmental Quality; and Ms. DeAnn Ament, Executive Director, Public Finance Authority, regarding affordability of water projects
2:50 p.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Ms. Ament regarding progress on implementing legislation relating to bonding
3:05 p.m.	Presentation by Ms. Claire Ness, Senior Counsel and Code Revisor, Legislative Council, regarding the Water Drainage Committee
3:20 p.m.	Presentation by Ms. Travnicek regarding the Northwest Area Water Supply Project
3:35 p.m.	Presentation by Mr. Blake Crosby, Executive Director, North Dakota League of Cities, regarding municipal water supply and industrial water supply
3:50 p.m.	Comments from interested persons
4:05 p.m.	Adjourn

A livestream of the meeting will be available to the public at: https://video.legis.nd.gov.

Committee Members

Representatives: Jim Schmidt (Chairman), Tracy Boe, Chuck Damschen, Jay Fisher, Michael Howe, Bob Martinson, Jon O. Nelson, Marvin E. Nelson, Todd Porter, Matthew Ruby, Denton Zubke

Senators: Michael Dwyer, Joan Heckaman, Jason G. Heitkamp, David Hogue, Jordan Kannianen, Jim P. Roers, Ronald Sorvaag, Mark F. Weber

Staff Contact: Claire Ness, Senior Counsel and Code Revisor