#### NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

**Tentative Agenda** 

## **EDUCATION POLICY COMMITTEE**

Tuesday, January 7, 2020 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m.	Call to order
	Roll call

Consideration of the minutes of the October 2, 2019, meeting

9:05 a.m. Comments by the Chairman

## **REQUIRED REPORTS**

9:10 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Rob Bauer, Director, Office of Assessment, Department of Public Instruction, regarding a required report on assessment data

9:30 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Joe Kolosky, Director, Office of School Approval and Opportunity, Department of Public Instruction, regarding required reports on waivers and innovative education programs

#### TEACHER INCENTIVE FOR LEADERSHIP PROGRAM STUDY

9:50 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Erin Jacobson, Coordinator, North Dakota Teacher Support System, Education Standards and Practices Board, regarding the teacher support system mentoring program, issues faced by the teacher support system, and whether the teacher support system mentoring program would be compatible with a potential teacher incentive for leadership program

10:20 a.m. Comments by interested persons regarding the committee's study of the feasibility and desirability of creating a teacher incentive for leadership program

10:30 a.m. Committee discussion and directives

10:40 a.m. Break

# DUAL-CREDIT, ADVANCED PLACEMENT, AND DISTANCE EDUCATION COURSES STUDY

10:50 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Lisa Johnson, Vice Chancellor for Academic and Student Affairs/Director of Academic Affairs, North Dakota University System; and Dr. Mark Hagerott, Chancellor, North Dakota University System, regarding online masters level courses being developed for teacher credentialing in relation to the committee's study of dual-credit, advanced placement, and distance education courses

11:20 a.m. Comments by interested persons regarding the committee's study of dual-credit, advanced placement, and distance education courses

11:30 a.m. Committee discussion and directives

11:45 a.m. Luncheon recess

#### STUDENT BEHAVIORAL HEALTH ISSUES STUDY

1:00 p.m. Presentation by Dr. Andi Dulski-Bucholz, Dean and Division Chair, Division of Education, and Associate Professor of Education, Mayville State University; Dr. Jeanette Hoffman, Associate Professor of Practice, Teacher Education Program, and Certification Officer, North Dakota State University; and Dr. Lori Garnes, Associate Director of Development, North Dakota Center for Persons with Disabilities, and Associate Professor, Minot State University, regarding how University System educational institutions address student behavioral health issues when training potential new teachers

1:50 p.m. Break 2:00 p.m. Presentation by Ms. Rachel Kjonaas, Director of Special Education, West Fargo School District, regarding student behavioral health and a pilot program operating in the district regarding student incident data collection 2:20 p.m. Presentation by Ms. Heather Leas, School Safety and Security Coordinator, West Fargo School District; Officer Josh Brown, School Resource Officer, Bismarck Public Schools, and President, North Dakota Association of School Resource Officers; and Mr. Darin Hanson, Critical Infrastructure Program and Security Manager, Homeland Security, Department of Emergency Services, regarding student behavioral health, school safety, and the concept of a state-level school safety center Comments by interested persons regarding the committee's study on student 3:00 p.m. behavioral health issues Committee discussion and directives 3:15 p.m. 3:45 p.m. Adjourn

### **Committee Members**

Representatives: David Monson (Chairman), Ron Guggisberg, Pat D. Heinert, Daniel Johnston, Donald W. Longmuir, Andrew Marschall, Mark S. Owens, Brandy Pyle, David Richter, Cynthia Schreiber-Beck, Michelle Strinden

Senators: Kyle Davison, Robert O. Fors, Richard Marcellais, Erin Oban, David S. Rust, Donald Schaible

Staff Contact: Dustin Assel, Counsel