Sixty-fifth Legislative Assembly of North Dakota

## **HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 3010**

Introduced by

23

24

25

Dakota Congressional Delegation.

Representatives D. Anderson, Dockter, C. Johnson, Owens Senators Kreun, Vedaa

1 A concurrent resolution recognizing the efforts undertaken and the continued need for the State 2 of North Dakota and the entire United States to undertake responsible measures to harden our 3 commercial electrical grid against multiple serious threats. 4 WHEREAS, continued reliable operation of our national electrical grid is an absolutely vital 5 core requirement for modern society to continue to function; and 6 WHEREAS, the strategic vulnerability of our electrical grid to multiple threats has been 7 documented by many leaders and technical experts; and 8 WHEREAS, Congressional Electromagnetic Pulse Commission experts have predicted 9 worst-case impacts from these threats could take down much, if not all, of our national electrical 10 grid for an extended period, and testified a high-end electromagnetic pulse event could result in 11 the eventual death of up to ninety percent of America's population; and 12 WHEREAS, public and private electric utilities have taken many steps in response to these 13 threats, including the implementation of Critical Infrastructure Protection standards developed 14 by the North American Electric Reliability Corporation, which includes the strategic installation of 15 appropriate hardware, such as electrical shunts and surge suppressors; 16 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF 17 NORTH DAKOTA, THE SENATE CONCURRING THEREIN: 18 That the Sixty-fifth Legislative Assembly recognizes the efforts undertaken to protect our 19 state and national power grid from these serious threats, and urges state and federal regulatory 20 agencies to continue awareness of this issue and carefully coordinated efforts involving private 21 and public sectors to address the threat of electromagnetic pulse; and 22 **BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED**, that the Secretary of State forward copies of this resolution

Department of Homeland Security, the Secretary of Energy, and each member of the North

to the Chairman of the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission, the Secretary of the