nd.gov - The Official Portal for North Dakota State Government
North Dakota: Legendary. Follow the trail of legends

Breadcrumb Navigation

Senator Tim Mathern

56th Assembly

Minority Leader

District: District 11
Political Party: Democrat

Chamber: Senate

Photo Tim Mathern


City: Fargo
  • Director of Public Policy, Prairie St. John’s
  • BA, NDSU; MSW, University of Nebraska; MPA, Harvard University
  • Advisory Council, UND School of Medicine and Health Sciences; CSG Health and Human Service Committee; Board, Prairie Roots Food Cooperative; YMCA Child Care Committee; Commissioner of ND National and Community Service; Board, Prairie Roots Community Fund; National Association for Behavioral Healthcare Advocacy Award; Council of Educational Leaders Golden Apple Award; Affordable Housing Hero Award; Emergency Management Systems Association Vision Award; Roman Catholic
  • Married; 4 children; 9 grandchildren
  • Senate since 1987
433 16th Avenue South
Fargo, ND 58103-4329
Home Telephone: 
Office Telephone: 

Senator Aaron Krauter became minority leader upon Senator Mathern’s resignation effective upon adjournment of the 56th Legislative Assembly on April 17, 1999. Senator Joel C. Heitkamp moved into position as assistant minority leader.