
NORTH DAKOTA
ADMINISTRATIVE CODE

The North Dakota Administrative Code, published
by the Legislative Council office pursuant to North
Dakota Century Code (NDCC) Section 28-32-03.2,
contains all rules adopted by administrative agencies
subject to NDCC Chapter 28-32 (the Administrative
Agencies Practice Act).  The Administrative Code
consists of 116 titles.  Eighty-nine titles contain rules
of administrative agencies.  The rules of the Dairy
Promotion Commission and the Parks and Recreation
Department are voluntarily published in the Adminis-
trative Code, although these agencies are excluded
from the definition of administrative agency.

The 1977 Legislative Assembly enacted Section
28-32-03.1, which requires the Legislative Council to
compile and publish the North Dakota Administrative
Code.  Administrative Code supplements are
published the month after rules are filed with the
Legislative Council office for publication.  Prior to
1977, agencies were authorized to adopt administra-
tive rules but there was no compilation or central
source for administrative rules.  Except for May 1979;
March 1981; August 1982; April 1983; November
1984; May, August, and October 1985; February
1987; February 1989; and July 1999, a supplement
has been published every month since the initial
publication of the Administrative Code on July 1,
1978.

Although rules differ in length and complexity,
comparison of the number of administrative rules
sections affected during biennial periods is one
method of comparing the volume of administrative
rules reviewed by the Administrative Rules Committee
since its creation in 1979.  The following table shows
the number of sections of the North Dakota Adminis-
trative Code amended, repealed, created,
superseded, reserved, or redesignated during each
identified time period:

2,789November 1996-October 1998
2,762November 1994-October 1996
3,235November 1992-October 1994
3,079November 1990-October 1992
2,325November 1988-October 1990
2,681November 1986-October 1988
1,280December 1984-October 1986
1,856September 1982-November 1984

916November 1980-August 1982
1,440July 1979-October 1980

Number of
SectionsTime Period

For committee review of rules, the Legislative
Council staff prepares an Administrative Rules
Committee (ARC) supplement containing all rules
changes submitted since the previous committee
meeting.  The supplement is prepared in a style
similar to bill drafts, e.g., changes are indicated by
overstrike and underscore.  The administrative rules
supplements for the period November 1996 through
October 1998 consisted of 4,123 pages of rules
changes.  This compares with 3,809 pages of rules
changes during the November 1992-October 1994
biennial period and 3,140 pages of rules considered
by the committee during the November 1994-October
1996 biennial period.

The Administrative Code is distributed free to each
county auditor, Supreme Court justice, district court
judge, and to specific state agencies as required by
Section 28-32-03.2.  The Legislative Council is
required by Section 28-32-03.2 to establish prices for
paid subscriptions to the North Dakota Administrative
Code.  Effective July 1, 1999, prices for paid subscrip-
tions are $440 for the initial code and $250 per year
for supplements.

The numbering for the Administrative Code is
similar to the numbering used for the North Dakota
Century Code.  However, while Century Code
sections are designated by numbers having three
parts separated by hyphens, Administrative Code
section numbers consist of four parts--the first part
designates the agency (title); the second part desig-
nates the major activity or division within the agency
(article); the third part designates the subject within
the major activity (chapter); and the fourth part desig-
nates the rule number (section).

STATUTORY PROVISIONS FOR
RULES REVIEW

The 1979 Legislative Assembly enacted the stat-
utes providing for legislative review of administrative
rules.

North Dakota Century Code Section 54-35-02.5
directs the Legislative Council to appoint biennially an
Administrative Rules Committee and to designate the
chairman of the committee.  The committee is to
operate according to the statutes and procedures
governing the operation of Legislative Council interim
committees.  However, because the committee is
established by statute, it is not discharged upon
making its report to the Legislative Council at the end
of the interim, and the committee could be called to
meet at any time, including during a legislative
session.

Section 54-35-02.5 provides that it is the standing
duty of the committee to review administrative rules
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adopted under Chapter 28-32.  Section 54-35-02.5
requires the committee membership to include at
least one member from each standing committee of
the House of Representatives or Senate in the most
recently completed regular legislative session.

The 1981 Legislative Assembly enacted Section
28-32-03.3, authorizing the Administrative Rules
Committee to make formal objections to agency rules.
If the committee objects to a rule because the
committee determines it to be unreasonable, arbitrary,
capricious, or beyond the authority delegated to the
adopting agency, the committee may file that objec-
tion in certified form in the Legislative Council office.
The objection must contain a concise statement of the
committee's reasons for its action.  The Legislative
Council office is to transmit a copy of the objection to
the agency adopting the rule in question.  The Legis-
lative Council office is also to publish the objection in
the next issue of the Administrative Code supplement.
Within 14 days after the filing of an objection, the
adopting agency is to respond in writing to the
committee.  After receipt of the response, the
committee may withdraw or modify its objection.  After
the filing of a committee objection, the burden of
persuasion is upon the agency in any action for judi-
cial review or for enforcement of the rule to establish
that the rule is within the procedural and substantive
authority delegated to the agency.  If the agency fails
to meet its burden of persuasion, the court is to
declare the rule invalid and judgment is to be
rendered against the agency for court costs, including
a reasonable attorney's fee.

Section 28-32-03.3 was amended by 1995 House
Bill No. 1284 to expand the authority of the Adminis-
trative Rules Committee in reviewing rules.  The
amendment allows the committee to find that all or
any portion of a rule is void if the committee makes
the specific finding that there is:

1. An absence of statutory authority.
2. An emergency relating to public health,

safety, or welfare.
3. A failure to comply with express legislative

intent or to substantially meet the procedural
requirements of Chapter 28-32 regarding
adoption of the rule.

4. A conflict with state law.
5. Arbitrariness and capriciousness.
6. A failure to make a written record of its

consideration or written and oral submissions
respecting the rule during the hearing
process and comment period.

Section 28-32-03.3 allows the committee to find a
rule void if the rule is initially considered by the
committee within 90 days after the date of the Admin-
istrative Code supplement in which the rule change
appears.  An exception is that for rules appearing in
the Administrative Code supplement during the period
from November 1 through May 1 encompassing a
regular session of the Legislative Assembly, the

committee is not limited to 90 days to initially consider
a rule but may initially consider the rule at the first
meeting of the committee following the regular
session of the Legislative Assembly.  The committee
may carry consideration of a rule to one subsequent
committee meeting for purposes of the decision on
whether to void a rule.  The committee recommended
this change in 1997 legislation to avoid the need for
making a decision on whether to void a rule after
consideration at only one committee meeting.

If the Administrative Rules Committee finds a rule
to be void, the office of the Legislative Council is to
provide written notice of the finding to the adopting
agency and to the chairman of the Legislative
Council.  Within 14 days after receipt of the notice, the
adopting agency may file a petition with the chairman
of the Legislative Council for review by the Legislative
Council of the decision of the committee.  If the
adopting agency does not file a petition for review, the
rule becomes void on the fifteenth day after receiving
the notice from the office of the Legislative Council to
the adopting agency.  If within 60 days after receipt of
the petition from the adopting agency the Legislative
Council has not disapproved the finding of the Admin-
istrative Rules Committee, the rule is void.

Section 28-32-03.3 allows a rule change to be
made after consideration of rules by the Administra-
tive Rules Committee if the agency and committee
agree that the rule change is necessary to address
any of the considerations for which the committee
may find a rule to be void.  This allows an agency to
change an administrative rule when the committee
expresses concerns, and the agency is not required
to commence a new rulemaking proceeding.  If a rule
change is agreed to by the Administrative Rules
Committee and the agency, it must be reconsidered
at a subsequent Administrative Rules Committee
meeting, and public comment on the agreed rule
change must be allowed.

Because the Legislative Assembly recognized that
there were constitutional questions about the Admin-
istrative Rules Committee voiding rules, 1995 House
Bill No. 1284 provided that if the North Dakota
Supreme Court rules that the authority to void rules is
unconstitutional, an alternative amendment to Section
28-32-03.3 will take effect.  The alternative amend-
ment is the same in all respects as the amendment
allowing the committee to find rules void except that
under the alternative amendment the committee may
not find a rule to be void but may suspend a rule or
portion of a rule.  The effect of a suspension is that
the rule becomes ineffective temporarily and will
become permanently ineffective unless it is ratified by
both houses of the Legislative Assembly during the
next legislative session.  The amendment requires the
agency seeking ratification of a suspended rule to
introduce a bill for that purpose.  The authority of the
Legislative Council to reverse the decision of the
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committee also applies in the case of a suspension of
a rule.

The Legislative Council has assigned the
committee the responsibility under Sections 28-32-02
and 28-32-15 to approve extensions of time for
administrative agencies to adopt rules, establish a
procedure to distribute copies of administrative
agency filings of notice of proposed rulemaking, and
receive notice of appeal of an administrative agency's
rulemaking action.

RULEMAKING PROCEDURES
North Dakota Century Code Section 28-32-01(2)

defines administrative agency as:
[E]ach board, bureau, commission, depart-
ment, or other administrative unit of the
executive branch of state government,
including one or more officers, or employ-
ees, or other persons directly or indirectly
purporting to act on behalf or under
authority of the agency.  An administrative
unit located within or subordinate to an
administrative agency shall be treated as
part of that agency to the extent it purports
to exercise authority subject to this chapter.
The term administrative agency does not
include:
a. The office of management and budget

except with respect to rules made
under section 32-12.2-14, rules relating
to conduct on the capitol grounds and
in buildings located on the capitol
grounds under section 54-21-18, rules
relating to the state building code as
authorized or required under section
54-21.3-03, rules relating to the Model
Energy Code as required under section
54-21.2-03, rules relating to the central
personnel system as authorized under
section 54-44.3-07, rules relating to
state purchasing practices as required
under section 54-44.4-04, rules relating
to records management as authorized
or required under chapter 54-46, and
rules relating to the central microfilm
unit as authorized under chapter
54-46.1.

b. The adjutant general with respect to
the division of emergency
management.

c. The council on the arts.
d. The state auditor.
e. The department of economic develop-

ment and finance.
f. The dairy promotion commission.
g. The education factfinding commission.
h. The educational telecommunications

council.
i. The board of equalization.

j. The board of higher education.
k. The Indian affairs commission.
l. The industrial commission with respect

to the activities of the Bank of North
Dakota, the North Dakota housing
finance agency, the North Dakota
municipal bond bank, the North Dakota
mill and elevator association, and the
North Dakota farm finance agency.

m. The department of corrections and
rehabilitation except with respect to the
activities of the division of adult serv-
ices under chapter 54-23.4.

n. The pardon advisory board.
o. The parks and recreation department.
p. The parole board.
q. The state fair association.
r. The state department of health with

respect to the state toxicologist.
s. The board of university and school

lands except with respect to activities
under chapter 47-30.1.

t. The administrative committee on veter-
ans' affairs except with respect to rules
relating to the supervision and govern-
ment of the veterans' home and the
implementation of programs or services
provided by the veterans' home.

u. The industrial commission with respect
to the lignite research fund except as
required under section 57-61-01.5.

v. The secretary of state with respect to
rules adopted for the presidential pref-
erence contest under section
16.1-11-02.2.

The only change to the definition of administrative
agency under Section 28-32-01(2) made in 1999
resulted from passage of Senate Bill No. 2110.  The
bill created a risk management motor vehicle accident
review board (NDCC Section 32-12.2-14) to be estab-
lished by the director of the Office of Management
and Budget to review accidents involving state vehi-
cles operated by state employees.  The amendment
to the definition of administrative agency allows the
Office of Management and Budget to adopt adminis-
trative rules relating to activities of the board.

Section 28-32-01(11) defines a rule as:
[T]he whole or a part of an agency state-
ment of general applicability that imple-
ments or prescribes law or policy, or the
organization, procedure, or practice
requirements of the agency.  The term
includes the adoption of new rules and the
amendment, repeal, or suspension of an
existing rule.  The term does not include:
a. A rule concerning only the internal

management of an agency which does
not directly or substantially affect the
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substantive or procedural rights or
duties of any segment of the public.

b. A rule that sets forth criteria or guide-
lines to be used by the staff of an
agency in the performance of audits,
investigations, inspections, and settling
commercial disputes or negotiating
commercial arrangements, or in the
defense, prosecution, or settlement of
cases, if the disclosure of the state-
ment would:
(1) Enable law violators to avoid

detection;
(2) Facilitate disregard of require-

ments imposed by law; or
(3) Give a clearly improper advan-

tage to persons who are in an
adverse position to the state.

c. A rule establishing specific prices to be
charged for particular goods or serv-
ices sold by an agency.

d. A rule concerning only the physical
servicing, maintenance, or care of
agency owned or operated facilities or
property.

e. A rule relating only to the use of a
particular facility or property owned,
operated, or maintained by the state or
any of its subdivisions, if the substance
of the rule is adequately indicated by
means of signs or signals to persons
who use the facility or property.

f. A rule concerning only inmates of a
correctional or detention facility,
students enrolled in an educational
institution, or patients admitted to a
hospital, if adopted by that facility, insti-
tution, or hospital.

g. A form whose contents or substantive
requirements are prescribed by rule or
statute or are instructions for the
execution or use of the form.

h. An agency budget.
i. An opinion of the attorney general.
j. A rule adopted by an agency selection

committee under section 54-44.7-03.
k. Any material, including a guideline,

interpretive statement, statement of
general policy, manual, brochure, or
pamphlet, that is explanatory and not
intended to have the force and effect of
law.

Subsections 2, 4, and 5 of Section 28-32-02
provide:

2. Any rule change, including a creation,
amendment, or repeal, made to imple-
ment a statutory change must be
adopted and filed with the office of the
legislative council within nine months of

the effective date of the statutory
change. If an agency needs additional
time for the rule change, a request for
additional time must be made to the
legislative council. The legislative
council may extend the time within
which the agency must adopt the rule
change if the request by the agency is
supported by evidence that the agency
needs more time through no deliberate
fault of its own. 

4. The agency's full notice of the proposed
adoption, amendment, or repeal of a
rule must include a short, specific expla-
nation of the proposed rule and the
purpose of the proposed rule, a determi-
nation of whether the proposed rule-
making is expected to have an impact
on the regulated community in excess of
fifty thousand dollars, identify at least
one location where interested persons
may review the text of the proposed
rule, provide the address to which
written data, views, or arguments
concerning the proposed rule may be
sent, provide a phone number at which
a copy of the rules and regulatory
analysis may be requested, and, in the
case of a substantive rule, provide the
time and place set for each oral hearing.
The agency’s full notice must be filed
with the office of the legislative council,
and the agency shall request publication
of an abbreviated newspaper publication
notice at least once in each official
county newspaper published in this
state. The notice filed with the office of
the Legislative Council must be accom-
panied by a copy of the proposed rules.
The abbreviated newspaper publication
of notice must be in a display-type
format with a minimum width of one
column of approximately two inches
[5.08 centimeters] and a depth of from
three inches [7.62 centimeters] to four
inches [10.16 centimeters] with a head-
line describing the general topic of the
proposed rules.  The notice must also
include the address and telephone
number to use to obtain a copy of the
proposed rules or to submit written
comments, and the location, date, and
time of the public hearing on the rules.
The agency shall mail a copy of the
agency’s full notice to each person who
has made a timely request to the
agency for a mailed copy of the notice.
The agency may mail or otherwise
provide a copy of the agency’s full
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notice to any person who is likely to be
an interested person. The agency shall
mail or deliver a copy of the rules to any
person requesting a copy. The agency
may charge for the actual cost of
providing copies of the proposed rule. At
least thirty days must elapse between
the later of the date of the publication of
the notice or the date the legislative
council mails copies of an agency's
notice and the date of the hearing. The
thirty-day period begins on the first busi-
ness day of the month in which the
notices must be mailed or on the date of
the publication, whichever is later.
Subject to subsection 5, notices filed on
or before the last calendar day of the
preceding month must be mailed by the
legislative council on the first business
day of the following month to any person
making a request. The agency shall
allow, after the conclusion of any rule-
making hearing, a comment period of
not less than thirty days during which
data, views, or arguments concerning
the proposed rulemaking will be
received by the agency and made a part
of the rulemaking record to be consid-
ered by the agency.  In addition to the
other notice requirements of this
subsection, the superintendent of public
instruction shall provide notice of any
proposed rulemaking by the superinten-
dent of public instruction to each asso-
ciation with statewide membership
whose primary focus is elementary and
secondary education issues which has
requested to receive notice from the
superintendent under this subsection
and to the superintendent of each public
school district in this state, or the presi-
dent of the school board for school
districts that have no superintendent, at
least thirty days before the date of the
hearing described in the notice.  Notice
provided by the superintendent of public
instruction under this section must be by
first-class mail.  However, upon request
of a group or person entitled to notice
under this section, the superintendent of
public instruction shall provide the group
or person notice by electronic mail.

5. The legislative council shall establish
standard procedures for all agencies to
follow in complying with the provisions
of subsection 4 and a procedure
whereby any person may request and
receive mailed copies of all filings made
by agencies pursuant to subsection 4.

The legislative council may charge for
providing copies of the filings.

The provisions of Section 28-32-02(4) were
amended by 1999 Senate Bill No. 2027 with regard to
publication of notice of agency rulemaking.  The bill
requires administrative rulemaking notices to be
published once in each official county newspaper,
rather than twice in each daily newspaper as current
law requires.  The bill requires publication of a more
abbreviated notice than current law and requires a
headline showing the general topic, a statement that
rules on the topic will be considered, a telephone
number to obtain a copy of the proposed rules, and
the time and place of the public hearing.  Because the
bill requires publication in 52 county newspapers
rather than nine daily newspapers, it was estimated
that notices would be available to more newspaper
readers, but the average cost of newspaper publica-
tion of notice would increase from approximately $800
to approximately $2,200.  The bill is effective for
administrative rulemaking notices filed with the office
of the Legislative Council after July 31, 1999.

Section 28-32-02(4) was amended by 1999
Senate Bill No. 2219 to require that the rulemaking
notice filed with the office of the Legislative Council
must be accompanied by a copy of the proposed
rules.

Section 28-32-02(4) was amended by 1999 House
Bill No. 1365 to provide that in addition to other notice
requirements, the Superintendent of Public Instruction
is required to provide notice of any proposed rule-
making to each statewide association with a focus on
education issues which has requested to receive
notice and to the superintendent of each public school
district, or the president of the school board if the
district has no superintendent.  Notice under this
provision must be by first-class mail or by electronic
mail if requested by the recipient.

Section 28-32-02(5) requires the Legislative
Council to establish guidelines for agencies to comply
with Section 28-32-02(4).  Attached as an appendix is
a copy of the guidelines adopted by the committee in
October 1996.  The committee may wish to update
these guidelines in light of 1999 amendments to the
statutory provision.  The committee may also wish to
consider recommending legislation to incorporate the
guidelines in statute.

Section 28-32-02(6) allows an agency to adopt
rules on an emergency basis because of imminent
peril to the public health, safety, or welfare; because a
delay is likely to cause a loss of revenues appropri-
ated to support a duty imposed by law upon the
agency; or when reasonably necessary to avoid a
delay in implementing an appropriations measure.  An
emergency rule may be declared effective no earlier
than the date of filing notice of rulemaking with the
Legislative Council.  An emergency rule becomes
ineffective if it is not adopted as a final rule within 180
days after its declared effective date.
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Section 28-32-02(7) requires review by the
Attorney General of all administrative rules and
provides that the Attorney General may not approve a
rule as to legality when the rule exceeds the statutory
authority of the agency, the rule is written in a manner
that is not concise or easily understandable, or proce-
dural requirements for adopting the rule are not
substantially met.

The Administrative Rules Committee has set the
annual charge for providing copies of the filings of
notice of proposed rulemaking at $50.  As of June 1,
1997, there were 31 paid subscribers to this service.
As of June 1, 1999, there were 22 paid subscribers to
this service.  Some of the reduction in paid subscrip-
tions may be attributable to the fact that notices were
made available on the legislative branch Web page
beginning in 1998.

Section 28-32-02.5 requires an agency to prepare
a written assessment of the constitutional takings
implications of a proposed rule that may limit the use
of real property.  The assessment must:

1. Assess the likelihood that the proposed rule
may result in a taking or regulatory taking.

2. Clearly and specifically identify the purpose
of the proposed rule.

3. Explain why the proposed rule is necessary
to substantially advance that purpose and
why no alternative action is available that
would achieve the agency's goals while
reducing the impact on private property
owners.

4. Estimate the potential cost to the government
if a court determines that the proposed rule
constitutes a taking or regulatory taking.

5. Identify the source of payment within the
agency's budget for any compensation that
may be ordered.

6. Certify that the benefits of the proposed rule
exceed the estimated compensation costs.

Section 65-02-08 provides that until August 1,
1999, the Administrative Rules Committee must
approve fee schedules for medical and hospital serv-
ices proposed for adoption by the Workers Compen-
sation Bureau.  This requirement was eliminated
effective August 1, 1999, by 1999 House Bill No.
1333, which substituted a requirement for a public
hearing before a fee schedule change.  The bill
provides that the required public hearing is not subject
to Chapter 28-32 but the schedule is still to be
amended by administrative rule, so a question exists
about whether administrative rules notice and proce-
dure requirements of  Chapter 28-32 apply to these
hearings and resulting rules.

Under Section 28-32-02.5(2), any private land-
owner affected by a rule that limits the use of the land-
owner's private real property may file a written request
for reconsideration of the application or need for the
rule.  Within 30 days of receiving the request, the
agency must consider the request and provide a

written response to the landowner of whether the
agency intends to keep the rule in place, modify the
rule, or repeal the rule.

Section 23-25-03.3 was created by 1997 House
Bill No. 1410 to prohibit the State Department of
Health from adopting air quality rules or standards
affecting coal conversion and associated facilities,
petroleum refineries, or oil and gas production and
processing facilities which are more strict than federal
rules or standards under the Clean Air Act.  The
statute also prohibits the department from adopting air
quality rules or standards affecting such facilities
when there are no corresponding federal rules or
standards unless the more strict or additional rules or
standards are based on a risk assessment that
demonstrates a substantial probability of significant
impacts to public health or property, a cost-benefit
analysis that affirmatively demonstrates that the bene-
fits of the more stringent or additional state rules and
standards will exceed the anticipated costs, and the
risk assessment and the cost-benefit analysis is inde-
pendently peer reviewed by qualified experts selected
by the Air Pollution Control Advisory Council.

Section 28-32-02.3 was created in 1995 to prohibit
agencies from adopting rules from federal guidelines
that are not relevant to state regulatory programs.
The law was enacted to assist the State Department
of Health in seeking waiver from the Environmental
Protection Agency to avoid the necessity of adopting
rules that have no application in North Dakota.  This
statutory provision was amended by 1999 House Bill
No. 1025 to provide that any agency may not adopt
rules from federal guidelines that are not relevant to
state regulatory programs.  The amendment also
provides that an agency is required to repeal or
amend any existing rule adopted from federal guide-
lines which is not relevant to state regulatory
programs.

POSSIBLE RULE REVIEW
During the 1979-80 interim, the Administrative

Rules Committee reviewed all rules of the Board of
Barber Examiners, the Game and Fish Department,
and the Highway Department.  During the 1981-82
interim, the Administrative Rules Committee reviewed
all rules of the Department of Human Services.  Since
the 1981-82 interim, preexisting rules have not been
reviewed.

During the 1997-98 interim, as rules were sched-
uled for review, each adopting agency was requested
to provide the committee with written information in
this format:

1. Whether the rules resulted from statutory
changes made by the most recent regular
session of the Legislative Assembly.

2. Whether the rules are related to any federal
statute or regulation.
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3. The rulemaking procedure followed in
adopting the rules, e.g., a description of the
type of public notice given and the extent of
public hearings held on the rules.

4. Whether any person has presented a written
or oral concern, objection, or complaint for
agency consideration with regard to these
rules.  If so, describe the concern, objection,
or complaint and the response of the agency,
including any change made in the rules to
address the concern, objection, or complaint.
Please summarize the comments of any
person who offered comments at the public
hearings on these rules.

5. Whether a written request for a regulatory
analysis was filed by the Governor or an
agency, whether the rule is expected to have
an impact on the regulated community in
excess of $50,000, and whether a regulatory
analysis was issued.  Please provide a copy
if one was prepared.

6. The approximate cost of giving public notice
and holding any hearing on the rules and the
approximate cost of staff time used in devel-
oping the rules.

7. An explanation of the subject matter of the
rules and the reasons for adopting the rules.

8. Whether a constitutional takings assessment
was prepared as required by Section
28-32-02.5.  Please provide a copy if one
was prepared. 

North Dakota Century Code Section 54-35-02.6
authorizes the committee to study administrative rules
and related statutes to determine whether:

1. Administrative agencies are properly imple-
menting legislative purpose and intent.

2. There is dissatisfaction with administrative
rules or with statutes relating to administra-
tive rules.

3. There are unclear or ambiguous statutes
relating to administrative rules.

ATTACH:1

19049 7 July 1999



79160.02
APPENDIX

Adopted by the Administrative
Rules Committee

October 1996

GUIDELINES UNDER NORTH DAKOTA CENTURY CODE
SECTION 28-32-02(4)

North Dakota Century Code (NDCC) Section 28-32-02(5) directs the
Legislative Council to establish standard procedures for all
agencies to follow in complying with the provisions of Section
28-32-02(4) and a procedure whereby any person may request and
receive mailed copies of all filings made by agencies pursuant to
subsection 4. A copy of NDCC Section 28-32-02 is attached as an
appendix. These guidelines are adopted under that directive.

CONTENTS OF NOTICE

The notice provided by the agency with regard to proposed
rulemaking must contain the information required by NDCC Section
28-32-02(4).

In determining whether the rule is expected to have an impact on
the regulated community in excess of $50,000, this standard means a
reasonable expectation of a reasonably foreseeable cumulative
negative fiscal impact to an identifiable regulated community in
excess of $50,000 in any 12-month period, which would not occur if
the rule is not adopted. Any doubt about issuance of a regulatory
analysis should be resolved in favor of issuance.

The address for submission of written data, views, or arguments
should include the name of the person responsible for receiving
this information. The notice should state the beginning and ending
dates of the period during which written comments on the proposed
rules will be accepted.

MAILING OF NOTICE

Each agency shall maintain a mailing list of persons who will be
provided notice of the agency's rulemaking activity. A person
desiring inclusion on the agency's mailing list must be included
but the agency may periodically update the list by contacting those
on the list to determine whether they remain interested in being
included. The mailing list may be subdivided according to subject
matter if it is likely that persons on the list would be interested
in receiving notice only in regard to rules within a discrete area
of the agency's jurisdiction. An agency may charge the actual cost
of providing copies of the notice and regulatory analysis and may
require that the cost be paid before delivery of the copies.
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Page 2
October 1996

COMMENTS TO PROPOSED RULEMAKING

Submissions received during the comment period for ru1emaking must
be made part of the written rulemaking record of the agency.

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULEMAKING SERVICE

The Legislative Council will mail copies of all notices of proposed
rulemaking filed by agencies pursuant to NDCC Section 28-32-02(4)
to a subscriber to the notice of proposed rulemaking service. Any
person may subscribe to this service upon payment of an annual
subscription fee of $50.


