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INCENTIVES FOSTERING EMPLOYEE TRAINING, RECRUITMENT, 
AND INTERNSHIP PROGRAMS - MULTISTATE SURVEY 

 

North Dakota Legislative Council  December 2015 

This memorandum was requested to provide information on the availability of incentives in other states which are similar to the new jobs credit from income 
tax withholding provided in North Dakota Century Code Section 52-02.1-03, the internship program credit provided in Section 57-38-01.24, and the workforce 
recruitment credit provided in Section 57-38-01.25.  The following table provides an overview of each incentive including the name of the incentive, the agency 
administering the incentive, a brief description of the incentive, and the statutory citation. 

 

State 
Incentive 

Title 
Administering 

Agency Description 
Statutory 
Citation 

Arkansas Youth 
Apprenticeship 
Training Program 

Arkansas 
Department of 
Career Education 

A taxpayer that trains a youth apprentice in a registered youth apprenticeship program may receive 
a credit against income tax liability. The amount of the credit is equal to $2,000 or 10 percent of the 
wages earned by the youth apprentice, whichever is less. Any credit amount exceeding a 
taxpayer's liability may be carried forward for up to two taxable years. 

Arkansas Code 
Annotated Section 
26-51-509  
 

Arkansas Youth 
Apprenticeship/
Work-Based 
Learning 
Program 

Arkansas 
Department of 
Workforce 
Education 

A taxpayer that trains a youth apprentice in an approved apprenticeship work-based learning 
program in an occupation not eligible under the Youth Apprenticeship Training Program may 
receive a credit against income tax liability. The amount of the credit is equal to $2,000 or 
10 percent of the wages earned by the youth apprentice, whichever is less. Any credit amount 
exceeding a taxpayer's liability may be carried forward for up to two taxable years. 

Arkansas Code 
Annotated Section 
26-51-1601  
 

Colorado Job Growth 
Incentive Tax 
Credit 

Colorado Office 
of Economic 
Development 
and International 
Trade 

A business that undertakes a job creation project for which Colorado is competing with at least one 
other state may qualify for a credit against income tax liability. To qualify for the credit, a business 
must create at least 20 new jobs in Colorado with an average yearly wage of at least 100 percent 
of the county average wage rate in the county in which the business is located. A business located 
in an Enhanced Rural Enterprise Zone is required to create five new jobs with an average yearly 
wage of at least 100 percent of the county average wage. New jobs must be maintained for at least 
one year from the date of hire to qualify. The amount of the credit is equal to 50 percent of the 
Federal Insurance Contributions Act taxes paid by the business on the new job growth each 
calendar year for a period of 96 consecutive months. 

Colorado Revised 
Statutes Annotated 
Section 39-22-531  
 

Connecticut Human Capital 
Investment Tax 
Credit 

Connecticut 
Department of 
Revenue 
Services 

A corporation may qualify for a credit against corporation business tax liability for expenses 
incurred for certain types of human capital investments. Qualifying investments include 
investments in in-state job training for Connecticut employees, work education programs, in-state 
training provided by institutions of higher learning, donations or capital contributions to institutions 
of higher learning in Connecticut for improvements or advancements of technology. The amount of 
the credit is equal to 5 percent of the amount incurred by the corporation in any income year 
commencing on or after January 1, 2000. Any credit amount exceeding a taxpayer's liability may 
be carried forward for up to five taxable years. 

Connecticut 
General Statutes 
Annotated Section 
12-217x  
 

Connecticut Manufacturing 
Apprenticeship 
Tax Credit 

Connecticut 
Department of 
Labor 

A taxpayer that employs an apprentice in a manufacturing, construction, or plastics-related trade 
may claim a credit against corporation business tax liability. The amount of the credit for 
apprentices in a manufacturing trade is equal to $6 per hour multiplied by the total number of hours 
worked during the income year by apprentices in the first year of a two-year apprenticeship and the 
first three quarters of a four-year apprenticeship. The credit may not exceed a maximum amount of 
$7,500 or 50 percent of actual wages for each apprentice, whichever is less. The amount of the 
credit for apprentices in a plastics-related trade is equal to $4 per hour multiplied by the total 
number of hours worked during the income year by apprentices in the first year of a two-year 
apprenticeship and the first three quarters of a four-year apprenticeship. The credit may not 
 

Connecticut 
General Statutes 
Annotated Section 
12-217g  
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   exceed a maximum amount of $4,800 or 50 percent of actual wages for each apprentice, 
whichever is less. The amount of the credit for apprentices in a construction trade is equal to 
$2 per hour multiplied by the total number of hours completed by each apprentice. The credit may 
not exceed $4,000 or 50 percent of actual wages paid over the first four income years for each 
apprentice, whichever is less. A qualifying apprenticeship training program must be at least 4,000 
hours but not more than 8,000 hours and must employ apprentices on a full-time basis. A taxpayer 
entitled to a credit may sell, assign, or transfer the credit to one or more taxpayers up to three 
times. 

 

Delaware Business 
Finder's Fee Tax 
Credit 

Delaware 
Economic 
Development 
Office 

A business that recruits a new company to Delaware may receive a credit against income tax 
liability. The amount of the credit is equal to $500 per year for three years for every new full-time 
job created and may be claimed by the business that recruited the new company and by the new 
company. The maximum credit amount that may be awarded in any fiscal year is $3 million. Any 
taxpayers that qualify for the credit after the cap is reached may carry the credit amount forward to 
the next fiscal year and receive priority consideration for the following year's $3 million of available 
tax credits. 

Delaware Code 
Annotated, Title 30, 
Section 2090 
through 2097  
 

Georgia Qualify Jobs Tax 
Credit 

Georgia 
Department of 
Revenue 

A company may receive a credit against corporate income tax liability by creating and maintaining 
at least 50 new jobs during a 12-month period which pay at least 110 percent of the county's 
average wage. The amount of the credit ranges from $2,500 to $5,000 per job, per year, for up to 
five years depending on the amount by which the wage exceeds the county's average wage. A 
company may apply the credit to offset up to 100 percent of corporate income tax liability and may 
apply any remaining credit to offset the company's state payroll withholding. Any credit amount 
exceeding a taxpayer's liability may be carried forward for up to 10 taxable years. 

Georgia Code 
Annotated Section 
48-7-40.17  
 

Georgia Retraining Tax 
Credit 

Georgia 
Department of 
Revenue 

A Georgia company may receive a corporate income tax credit for a portion of costs incurred for 
employee retraining programs. Eligible programs must be approved by the Technical College 
System of Georgia and must provide training in quality and productivity enhancements or in certain 
software technologies. The amount of the credit is equal to 50 percent of the employer's direct 
costs, up to a maximum of $500 per employee for each retraining program per year. The total 
amount of the credit claimed for one employee cannot exceed $1,250 per year. A taxpayer may 
apply the credit to offset a maximum of 50 percent of corporate income tax liability per taxable 
year. Any credit amount exceeding 50 percent of a taxpayer's liability may be carried forward for up 
to 10 taxable years. 

Georgia Code 
Annotated Section 
48-7-40.5  
 

Iowa New Jobs Credit 
from Withholding 

Iowa Economic 
Development 
Authority 

A company that has entered a New Jobs Training Agreement and expands its Iowa employment 
base by 10 percent or more is eligible for a new jobs credit from withholding based on the wages 
paid to new employees. The amount of the credit is equal to one-half of one percent of the gross 
wages paid by the employer to each employee participating in a project. The employer is required 
to remit the amount of the credit into a special fund to pay the principal and interest related to the 
training project. Credits to the employer cease upon full payment of principal and interest. An 
employee participating in a project receives full credit for the amount withheld.  

Iowa Code 
Annotated Section 
260E.5 

Kansas High 
Performance 
Incentive 
Program 

Kansas 
Department of 
Commerce 

Any company that pays above average wages and makes significant investments in employee 
training may receive an investment tax credit for new capital investments. The amount of the credit 
is equal to 10 percent of the company's eligible capital investments that exceed $50,000 and a 
dollar-for-dollar credit for any amount expended for training and education, up to a maximum 
amount of $50,000. Any credit amount related to expenditures for capital investments which 
exceeds a company's tax liability may be carried forward for up to 16 taxable years.  

Kansas Statutes 
Annotated Section 
79-32,160a  
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Kentucky Skills Training 
Investment Tax 
Credit 

Bluegrass State 
Skills 
Corporation  

A company that provides training to eligible employees may qualify for a credit against income tax for 
a portion of training costs. An eligible employee must be a full-time employee and must be paid at 
least $10.88 per hour plus benefits. Eligible training includes in-house training, training provided by a 
consultant, and training provided by an educational institution. The amount of the credit is equal to 
50 percent of all eligible training costs, up to a maximum of $500 per employee and $100,000 per 
individual company during each two-year state biennium funding period. A maximum of $2.5 million in 
credits may be awarded to all applicants in each state fiscal year. 

Kentucky Revised 
Statutes Annotated 
Section 
154.12-2086  
 

Minnesota Greater 
Minnesota 
Internship Tax 
Credit Program  

Minnesota 
Department of 
Revenue 

An employer may claim a credit against income and franchise tax liability of up to $2,000 for each 
internship provided to an eligible student in Minnesota. An eligible student must attend a participating 
college or university and have completed 50 percent of the credits required to complete the program. 
An employer must enter an agreement with a participating college to employ an eligible student 
intern. Any credit amount that exceeds a taxpayer's liability may be refunded to the taxpayer. 

Minnesota Statutes 
Annotated Section 
290.06 

Oklahoma 21st Century 
Qualify Jobs 

Oklahoma 
Department of 
Commerce 

Businesses that create up to 10 jobs with an average annualized wage that equals or exceeds 
300 percent of the average county wage for the county in which the applicant is located may receive 
quarterly incentive payments of up to 10 percent of payroll for up to 10 taxable years.   

Oklahoma Statutes 
Annotated, Title 68, 
Section 3913 
through 3914  

Rhode Island Employer's 
Apprenticeship 
Tax Credit 

Rhode Island 
Department of 
Labor and 
Training 

An employer that hires an apprentice as a machine toolmaker, machinist, model maker, gage maker, 
pattern maker, plastic process technician, tool and machine setter, diesinker, moldmaker, or similar 
occupation may be eligible for a credit against business corporation tax liability equal to 50 percent of 
each apprentice's actual wages or $4,800, whichever is less. The apprentice must be enrolled in a 
registered qualified program through the Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training's State 
Apprenticeship Council. 

Rhode Island 
General Laws 
Annotated Section 
44-11-41 
 

South Carolina Apprenticeship 
Income Tax 
Credit 

South Carolina 
Department of 
Revenue 

A taxpayer who employs an apprentice pursuant to an apprentice agreement may claim a credit 
against income tax liability in an amount equal to $1,000 for each apprentice employed. An 
apprentice must be employed by the taxpayer for at least seven months and the credit is not allowed 
for an individual apprentice for more than four taxable years.  

South Carolina 
Code Annotated 
Section 12-6-3477 

South Carolina Job Retraining 
Credit 

South Carolina 
Coordinating 
Council for 
Economic 
Development 

A business engaged in manufacturing or processing operations or technology intensive activities at a 
manufacturing or processing facility may claim a credit against withholding in an amount equal to 
$1,000 per year for the cost of retraining a production or technology first-line employee or immediate 
supervisor who has been employed by the business on a full-time basis for at least two years. A 
qualifying business must expend at least $1.50 on retraining eligible employees for every $1 claimed 
as a credit against withholding. A business may not claim a credit in excess of $500,000 over five 
consecutive years for each retrained production or technology first-line employee or immediate 
supervisor. 

South Carolina 
Code Annotated 
Section 12-10-95 
 

Washington Washington 
Customized 
Employment 
Training Program 

Washington 
Department of 
Revenue 

A Washington employer may claim a credit against business and occupation tax liability in an amount 
equal to 50 percent of the employer's payments for employee training. Any credit amount exceeding a 
taxpayer's liability may be carried forward to subsequent calendar years. Credits may not be claimed 
after June 30, 2021.  

Revised Code of 
Washington Section 
82-04.449 and 
82-32-585 

West Virginia Construction 
Trades 
Apprenticeship 
Training Tax 
Credit 

West Virginia 
Tax Commission 

A taxpayer may claim a credit against business franchise tax, net corporate income tax, and personal 
income tax for wages paid to apprentices in the construction trades. The amount of the credit is equal 
to $2 per hour multiplied by the total number of hours worked by the apprentice during the taxable 
year, not to exceed the lesser of $2,000 or 50 percent of the actual wages paid for the apprenticeship. 
A qualifying program must consist of at least 2,000 hours, but not more than 10,000 hours, of on-the-
job training.  

West Virginia Code 
Annotated Section 
11-13W-1 
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