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NONRESIDENT TUITION RATES - 
NORTH DAKOTA COMPARED TO OTHER STATES 

 

North Dakota Legislative Council  January 2016 

This memorandum provides information regarding nonresident tuition rates in North Dakota compared to other 
states and information on tuition waiver policies in South Dakota and Montana. 

 
NORTH DAKOTA 

The 1973 Legislative Assembly amended North Dakota Century Code Section 15-10-18 to require Committee 
on Budget approval of nonresident tuition rates.  Section 15-10-18 was amended again in 1983 to identify the 
Budget Section as responsible for approval of nonresident tuition rates.  The 1999 Legislative Assembly removed 
the requirement for approval from the Budget Section, leaving the State Board of Higher Education responsible 
for approving nonresident tuition rates.  The Budget Section generally approved nonresident tuition rates set at 
approximately 267 percent of the resident tuition rate for each institution.  The board has never had a policy 
establishing a standard or default nonresident tuition rate, however, the board continued to annually approve 
nonresident tuition rates at approximately 267 percent of the resident rate until the 2002-03 academic year, when 
it approved a nonresident tuition rate at Williston State College at 150 percent of the resident tuition rate.  Since 
the 2002-03 academic year, the board has approved various nonresident tuition rates at North Dakota University 
System (NDUS) institutions.  Some institutions have continued to set nonresident tuition at 267 percent of the 
resident tuition rate, but at other institutions, nonresident tuition has been set at rates equivalent to the resident 
tuition rate or at some other rate between the resident tuition rate and what used to be the standard 267 percent 
rate.  State Board of Higher Education policy 805.1, relating to tuition, states in part: 

"3. Tuition rates shall include rates for residents and nonresidents, as those terms are defined by law, 
and, except as otherwise approved by the Board, the following rates for these special categories: 

a. For residents of South Dakota, Montana, Saskatchewan, and Manitoba, a tuition rate equal to 
150 per cent of the resident rate at UND or NDSU and 125 per cent of the resident rate at 
other institutions; 

b. For undergraduate students who are children or spouses of graduates of NDUS institutions, a 
tuition rate equal to 150 percent of the resident rate, regardless of residency; and 

c. Such other special rates as may be established by agreements entered into under N.D.C.C. 
§ 15-10-28, N.D.C.C. ch. 15-10.1, or under regional higher education compacts." 

 
Resident and nonresident tuition rates at University System institutions for the 2015-16 academic year are as 

follows: 

Institution 
Resident 

Tuition Rate 
Nonresident 
Tuition Rate 

Nonresident Tuition 
Rate as a Percentage of 

the Resident Tuition Rate 
Bismarck State College $3,577 $9,550 267% 
Lake Region State College $3,261 $3,261 100% 
Williston State College $3,316 $3,316 100% 
University of North Dakota $6,548 $17,482 267% 
North Dakota State University $6,762 $18,056 267% 
North Dakota State College of Science $3,682 $9,831 267% 
Dickinson State University $5,013 $7,520 150% 
Mayville State University $4,930 $13,164 267% 
Minot State University $5,066 $5,066 100% 
Valley City State University $5,153 $13,759 267% 
Dakota College at Bottineau $3,384 $5,075 150% 

 
COMPARISON TO OTHER STATES 

The Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education (WICHE) identified non-weighted 4-year institution 
2014-15 academic year tuition and fee rates for its member states were as follows: 

State 
Resident 

Tuition Rate 
Nonresident 
Tuition Rate 

Nonresident Tuition Rate 
as a Percentage of the 
Resident Tuition Rate 

Alaska $6,311 $19,631 311.1% 
Arizona 10,283 25,088 244.0% 
California 8,608 23,064 267.9% 
Colorado 9,082 22,788 250.9% 
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State 
Resident 

Tuition Rate 
Nonresident 
Tuition Rate 

Nonresident Tuition Rate 
as a Percentage of the 
Resident Tuition Rate 

Hawaii 8,181 22,445 274.4% 
Idaho 6,473 18,888 291.8% 
Montana 5,690 18,720 329.0% 
Nevada 5,947 18,646 313.5% 
New Mexico 5,401 14,342 265.5% 
North Dakota 6,834 12,657 185.2% 
Oregon 8,393 23,595 281.1% 
South Dakota 8,039 10,790 134.2% 
Utah 5,898 17,283 293.0% 
Washington 9,885 23,670 239.5% 
Wyoming 4,646 14,876 320.2% 
WICHE Average $7,311 $19,099 261.2% 

 
The Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education identified non-weighted 2-year institution 2014-15 

academic year tuition and fee rates for its member states were as follows: 

State 
Resident 

Tuition Rate 
Nonresident 
Tuition Rate 

Nonresident Tuition Rate 
 as a Percentage of the 
Resident Tuition Rate 

Alaska1 $4,690 $4,690 100.0% 
Arizona 2,437 9,489 389.4% 
California 1,380 7,439 539.1% 
Colorado 3,848 12,269 318.8% 
Hawaii 3,499 9,559 273.2% 
Idaho 3,009 8,281 275.2% 
Montana 3,434 9,426 274.5% 
Nevada 2,700 9,345 346.1% 
New Mexico 1,603 4,132 257.8% 
North Dakota 4,210 6,913 164.2% 
Oregon 4,638 9,283 200.2% 
South Dakota 6,020 6,020 100.0% 
Utah 3,410 9,543 279.9% 
Washington 4,294 9,527 221.9% 
Wyoming 2,602 6,503 249.9% 
WICHE Average $3,452 $8,161 236.4% 
1The 2014-15 academic year 2-year institution tuition and fee rates for Alaska were not available.  The rates shown for 
Alaska's 2-year institutions are for the 2013-14 academic year.  

 
Methods of establishing nonresident tuition rates vary by state.  As identified in a survey conducted by WICHE, 

basic nonresident tuition setting policy is identified as follows: 

State 

Nonresident Rate Indexed to 
the Resident Tuition Rate 

Nonresident Rate Aligned with 
Rates at Peer Institutions 

Institutions Charge What 
Nonresident Students Can Afford 

2-Year 4-Year 2-Year 4-Year 2-Year 4-Year 
Alaska Yes Yes No No No No 
Arizona1 N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 
California Yes No Yes Yes No Yes 
Colorado No No No No No No 
Hawaii No No Yes Yes Yes No 
Idaho No No No No No No 
Montana No No No No Yes Yes 
Nevada No No No No No No 
New Mexico1 N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 
North Dakota Yes Yes No No No No 
Oregon No No No No No Yes 
South Dakota No Yes No No No No 
Utah1 N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 
Washington No No No Yes No Yes 
Wyoming Yes Yes No No No No 
1Arizona, New Mexico, and Utah did not respond to this WICHE survey. 
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In a review of select other states, the South Dakota Board of Regents policy states nonresidents should pay 
more than residents, however, there is not a specific percentage identified in board policy.  The board also has a 
policy allowing universities to request reduced nonresident tuition rates to manage enrollment.  In addition to 
waivers established by the state legislature, the board has approved specific reduced tuition programs for 
graduate fellows and assistants, North Dakota residents, Wyoming residents, and residents of WICHE states. 

 
The Montana Board of Regents of Higher Education has a policy stating tuition levels will bear a relationship to 

the costs incurred by the campus in providing the education to the student.  The policy also allows campuses the 
flexibility to set nonresident tuition as low as 150 percent of the resident tuition rate.  The board policy also 
provides for tuition waivers for employee dependents, American Indians, faculty and staff, veterans, war orphans, 
and surviving dependents of Montana National Guard members, firefighters, and peace officers.  Campuses may 
also award discretionary waivers for nonresident students, senior citizens, qualified veterans, and other students 
with superior academic achievement, service to the campus, or other meritorious accomplishment. 


