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State/Jurisdiction Criminal Enhanced Civil 
Alabama None Ala. Code §32-5A-304, §32-5-192  

 

First refusal – 90-day license 

suspension 

 

Second refusal  (within 5 years)– 

1-year suspension  

 

Third or fourth refusal  (within 5 

years) –3-year suspension   

 

 

Alaska Alaska Stat. §28.35.032  

 

First refusal- Not less than 72 

consecutive hours in jail; ignition 

interlock required for 12 months 

after regaining license from 

suspension; a fine of not less than 

$1,500; Class A misdemeanor 

 

Second refusal- Not less than 20 

days in jail; ignition interlock 

required for 24 months after 

regaining license from suspension; 

a fine of not less than $3,000. 

 

Third refusal- Not less than 60 

days in jail; ignition interlock 

Alaska Stat. §28.15.181 

 

First refusal – 30-day license 

suspension 

 

Second refusal  (within 10 years)1-

year suspension  

 

Third or fourth refusal  (within 10 

years) – 3-year suspension   
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required for 36 months after 

regaining license from suspension; 

a fine of not less than $4,000  

 

*The court shall revoke the 

person's driver's license and may 

order the vehicle to be forfeited  

Court may order monitored 

sobriety or treatment in alcohol 

safety action program  

 

 

 

  

 

 

Arizona None Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §28-1321 

 

First refusal – 12-month license 

suspension  

 

Subsequent refusal (within 84 

months) – 2-year license 

suspension (mandatory)  

 

*Ignition interlock license available 

in limited circumstances after 90-

day suspension  

Arkansas Ark. Stat. Ann. §5-65-305 

(Those under age 21)  

 

First offense – $100 to $500 (and 

possible community service); 

 

 

Second offense – $200 to $1,000 

and not less than 30 days of 

community service  

 

 

Third or subsequent offense – 

$500 to $2,000 and not less than 

60 days of community service  

Ark. Stat. Ann. §5-65-205  

 

First refusal- – 180-day license 

suspension. (interlock license may 

be issued immediately) 

 

Second refusal (within 5 years) –2-

year license suspension 

 

Third refusal (within 5 years) – 3-

year license revocation; no 

restricted license may be issued  

California Cal. Vehicle Code §23612 

 

Refusal becomes a criminal 

offense if the driver is convicted of 

DWI after refusal; statute states the 

offense will result in a fine and 

mandatory imprisonment   

Cal. Vehicle Code §13353, 

§13353.4(a)  

 

First refusal – l-year suspension  

 

Second refusal (within 10 years) – 

2-year revocation 

 

Third refusal (within 10 years) 3-

year revocation 

Colorado None Colo. Rev. Stat. §42-2-126 

 



First refusal – 1-year license 

revocation  

 

Second refusal – 2-year license 

revocation 

 

Subsequent refusal–3-year license 

revocation 

 

*Ignition interlocks available in 

some cases  

Connecticut None Conn. Gen. Stat. Ann.§14-227b 

 

First refusal– 45 day license 

suspension , then interlock required 

for 1 year 

 

Second refusal– interlock required 

for 2 years 

 

Subsequent refusal– interlock 

required for 3 years 

 

*For a second or subsequent refusal, 

the person must satisfactorily 

complete an alcohol treatment 

program before driving privileges 

can be reinstated 

 

Delaware None Del. Code Ann. tit. 21 §2742 

 

First refusal –1-year license 

revocation 

 

Second refusal (within 5 years) –

18-month license revocation  

 

Third or subsequent refusals 
(within 5 years) – 24-month license 

revocation 

Florida Fla. Stat. Ann.  §316.1932 

 

Offense is misdemeanor if 

person’s license has been 

previously suspended for a refusal  

 

 

*If lawmakers fail to classify a 

misdemeanor, then it is punishable 

as a misdemeanor of the second 

degree, which carries up to 60 days 

Fla. Stat. Ann. §316.1932 

 

First refusal – 1-year license 

suspension (90 days mandatory);  

hardship license is available after 

this mandatory period  

 

Subsequent refusals–– 18-month 

license suspension  

 



in jail and a fine of up to $500 

(Fla. Stat. Ann. § 775.081, 

§775.082, §775.083) 

Georgia None Ga. Code §40-5-67.1(d) 

 

Refusal- 1-year license suspension  

Hawaii Hawaii Rev. Stat. §291E-68 

 

Refusal is a petty misdemeanor 

 

*Court may sentence jail time not 

to exceed 30 days for petty 

misdemeanor (HRS § 706-663) 

Hawaii Rev. Stat. § 291E-65, 

§291E-41(d) and(e). 

 

First refusal– 1-year license 

revocation.   

 

Second refusal– 2- 5-year license 

revocation 

  

Idaho None Idaho Code §18-8002A  

 

Civil penalty, $250  

 

Idaho Code §18-8002(3)(c), (4)(b) 

and (4)(c) 

 

First Refusal – 1-year license 

suspension  

 

Second refusal within 10 years) – 

2-year license suspension.-  

 

*Part of this statute was held 

unconstitutional in Idaho (State v. 

Wulff,Oct. 29, 2014)  

 

Illinois None §625 Ill. Rev. Stat. 5/6-208.1 

 

First offense – 1-year license 

suspension; not eligible for an 

interlock permit 

 

Subsequent offenses – 3-year license 

suspension 

Indiana None Ind. Code Ann. § 9-30-6-9 (a) 

 

First offense– 1-year license 

suspension  

 

Second refusal– 2-year license 

suspension  

 

Iowa None Iowa Code §321J.9  
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First refusal – 1-year license 

revocation 

 

Second or subsequent refusal – 2-

year license revocation (1 year 

mandatory)  

 

 

*A restricted license may be issued 

by the licensing agency after 

mandatory period with ignition 

interlock requirement 

(§§321J.9(2)(b) and 321J.20(6)) 

 

*$200 additional civil penalty 

assessed for refusals (§321.218A) 

 

*Refusal to submit to blood test is 

not considered a refusal, but refusal 

to submit a urine or breath test is 

considered a refusal (I.C.A. § 

321J.6) 

Kansas Feb. 26, 2016, in State v. Ryce, the 

Kansas Supreme Court ruled that 

the law making it a crime to refuse 

a chemical test violates federal 

constitutional rights of drivers 

Kan. Stat. Ann. §8-1002(a) and§ 

8-1014(a) 

 

First occurrence – 1-year license 

suspension followed by 2 years with 

interlock installed- 

 

Second occurrence – 1-year license 

suspension followed by 3 years with 

interlock installed.-  

 

Third occurrence –1-year license 

suspension followed by 4 years with 

interlock installed.- 

 

Fourth occurrence – 1-year license 

suspension followed by 5 years with 

interlock installed.- 

 

Fifth or subsequent occurrence – 

1-year license suspension followed 

by 10 years with interlock installed 

 

Kentucky Ky. Rev. Stat.  §189A.105 

 

Anyone who refuses test and is 

subsequently convicted of 

impaired driving will be subject to 

a longer mandatory minimum jail 

Ky. Rev. Stat.  §189A.070 

 

First refusal – license suspension 

of 30 to 120 days 

 

Second refusal – license 



sentence  suspension of 12-18 months (within 

a 5-year period) 

 

Third refusal – license suspension 

of 2 -36 months (within a 5-year 

period) 

 

*License will not be reinstated until 

alcohol or substance abuse 

treatment program is completed' and 

ignition interlock available after 12 

months 

Louisiana La. Rev. Stat. Ann. §32:666 

 

If arrested for driving while 

intoxicated after refusing to submit 

to such test on two previous 

occasions, the state can force 

violator to take the test and 

violator will be fined not less than 

$300 nor more than $1,000, and be 

imprisoned for not less than 10 

days nor more than 6 months 

La. Rev. Stat. Ann. §32:667 

 

First refusal – 1-year license 

suspension  

 

Second or subsequent refusal- –  

(within 10 years) 2-year license 

suspension  

 

*Interlock licenses may be granted 

in some circumstances  

Maine Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 29-A § 

2521 

 

*Refusal could be an aggravating 

factor in sentencing if person is 

convicted of impaired driving and 

could subject person to mandatory 

minimum of incarceration  

Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 29-A 

§2521(6) 

 

First refusal –275-day license 

suspension 

 

Second refusal –18-month license 

suspension (mandatory) 

 

Third refusal – 4-year license 

suspension (mandatory) 

 

Fourth refusal – 6-year license 

suspension. (mandatory) 

 

Maryland  None Md. Tran. Code Ann. §16-205.1 

 

First refusal – 120-day license 

suspension 

 

Subsequent refusals – Suspension 

for 1 year; suspension may be 

modified or a restricted license may 

be issued if an offender participates 

in ignition interlock program    

Massachusetts None Mass. Gen. Laws Ann. ch. 90 

§24(4)(f)  



 

First refusal –180-day suspension  

 

Second refusal – 3-year license 

suspension   

 

Third refusal – 5-year license 

suspension  

 

*Motorist’s vehicle shall be 

impounded for 12 hours after 

refusal   

Michigan None Mich. Comp. Laws Ann. 

§257.625f 

 

First refusal – 1-year suspension 

(restricted/hardship license may be 

issued) 

 

Second and subsequent refusals 
(within 7 years) – 2-year 

mandatory license suspension  

Minnesota Under Minn. Stat. Ann. 

§169A.20, subd. 2, it is a crime to 

refuse to submit to a chemical test 

under the implied consent law; 

Refusal to submit to a chemical 

test is a drunk driving offense and 

sentenced as such 

 

Minn. Stat. Ann. §169A.20, 

subd. 2 was found unconstitutional 

as applied by State v. Thompson 

Dec. 28, 2015 

 

 

Minn. Stat. Ann. §169A.52 

 

First refusal – 1-year license 

revocation  

 

Second refusal (within a 10 year 

period) – 2-year license revocation  

 

Third refusal (within a 10 year 

period) – 3-year license revocation 

 

 

Under Minn. Stat. Ann. §169A.63, 

any motor vehicle used in a third or 

subsequent implied consent refusal 

is subject to forfeiture 

 

Mississippi None Miss. Code. Ann. §63-11-30, §63-

11-23 

 

First refusal – 90-day license 

suspension  

  

Second refusal (or previous DWI 

conviction) – 1-year license 

suspension  

 

*Violator has option to install 

interlock for twice the amount of 
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time of the original suspension  

Missouri None Mo Rev. Stat. §577.04, §302.309.3 

 

First refusal – 1-year license 

revocation 

 

Second or subsequent 
refusal – 1-year license revocation 

(mandatory, and interlock device 

must be installed for 6 months with 

no fails) 

 

*Person must complete a substance 

abuse program before the license 

can be reinstated 

Montana None Mont. Code Ann. §61-8-402  

 

First refusal – 6-month license 

suspension and $300 administrative 

fee   

 

Second or subsequent refusals 

(within 5 years) – 1-year license 

revocation (mandatory) (An officer 

may apply for a search warrant to 

take blood if the person stopped has 

refused in a prior investigation) 

 

*No restricted probationary license 

can be issued  

 

Nebraska Neb. Rev. Stat. §60-6,197.03 and 

§28-106,  

 

First offense (Class W 

misdemeanor) – Maximum $500 

fine and 60 days in jail (mandatory 

minimum of 7 days in jail)  

 

Second offense – (Class W 

misdemeanor) – Maximum $500 

fine and 6 months in jail 

(mandatory minimum of 30 days 

in jail)  

Neb. Rev. Stat. §60-6,197  and  

§60-498.02, §60-498.03 

 

I. If probation is not granted 

 

First offense – 90-day license 

revocation with interlock required 

 

Second offense – 18-month license 

revocation with interlock license 

available after 45 days   

 

Third and subsequent offense – 



 

 Third offense – (Class W 

misdemeanor) – Maximum $1,000 

fine and 1 year in jail (mandatory 

minimum of 90 days in jail)  

 

 Fourth or subsequent offense – 

(Class IV felony) – Not more than 

$10,000/5 years in jail  

15-year license revocation (reduced 

to 7 years provided the person 1) 

has completed a chemical 

dependency program, 2) has not 

been  convicted of either a DWI or 

implied consent offense, 3) has 

abstained from the excessive 

consumption of alcoholic 

beverages and 4) is not under 

suspension or revocation for any 

other reason [§60-6,209[) 

 

II. If probation is granted, the 

following revocations must be 

imposed:  

 

First offense – 60-day license 

revocation, with interlock license 

and $500 fine  

 

Second offense – 18-month license 

revocation with interlock license 

and $500 fine and either 10 days in 

jail or 240 hours of community 

service.- 

 

Third and subsequent offense – 2- 

to 15-year license revocation with 

possibility of interlock after 45 days 

and $1,000 fine and 30 days in jail  

 

*Anyone who has been convicted of 

either a second or subsequent 

drunk-driving/implied 

consent refusal offense may be 

monitored by continuous alcohol 

monitoring device along with 

interlock  

(Neb. Rev. St. §60-6,197.01 (b))   

 

Nevada None Nev. Rev. Stat. §484C.210 

 

First refusal – 1-year license 

revocation 

 

Second or subsequent 
refusal (within 7 years) – 3-year 

license revocation 

 

*Officer may direct that reasonable 

force be used to the extent 



necessary to obtain samples of 

blood from the person to be tested 

 

New Hampshire None N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. §265-A:14 

 

First refusal –180-day license 

suspension (mandatory)   

 

Second refusal or a first refusal 

where there has been a previous 

DWI offense – 2-year license 

suspension (mandatory); 

revocations are not to run 

concurrently with any other 

suspension or revocation  

New Jersey None N.J. Rev. Stat. §39:4-50.4a (a) 

 

First refusal – 7-month to 1- year 

license revocation 

 

Second refusal – 2-year license 

revocation   

 

Subsequent refusal – 10-year 

license revocation 

 

N.J. Rev. Stat. §39:4-50.4a(b) 

School Property/Crossing: If the 

refusal occurred either 1) on 

property owned by or within 1,000 

feet of an elementary/secondary 

school, 2) while driving through a 

designated school crossing zone or 

3) while driving through a non-

designated school crossing zone 

when juveniles are present, the 

following sanctions apply: for either 

a first or subsequent offense – a fine 

of $500 to $1,000; for a first offense 

– 1-year license suspension 

(mandatory); for a second offense – 

4-year license suspension 

(mandatory); and for a third or 

subsequent offense – 20-year 

license suspension (mandatory).  

New Mexico None N.M. Stat. Ann. §66-8-111(B) 

 

First refusal – 1-year license 

revocation 

 

Second refusal – 1-year license 



revocation   

 

New York None N.Y. Vehicle and Traffic Law 

§1194 

 

First refusal – 1-year license 

revocation and $500 civil penalty 

 

Second or subsequent refusal 

(within 5 years) – 18-month license 

revocation and $750 civil penalty 

 

(1) Under V and T Law 

§1194(2)(b), anyone who refuses to 

submit to a chemical test may have 

his or her license suspended at the 

time of arraignment based upon a 

sworn written police report 

North Carolina None N.C. Gen. Stat. §20-16.2 and §20-

16.5 

 

First refusal – - 1-year license 

revocation (with 30-day  immediate 

license revocation)  

 

N.C. Gen. Stat. §20-28.2(b), (d) 

and (e), §20-28.5 and 20-138.5(e) 

 

Limited forfeiture – A vehicle 

(whether or not owned by the 

driver) is subject to forfeiture 

(which appears to be mandatory) if 

the driver was driving such vehicle 

1) while in violation of the drunk-

driving laws and 2) while his/her 

license is still in a revocation status 

for either 1) a previous drunk-

driving conviction, 2) implied 

consent refusal, 3) admin per se 

action, or 4) other license 

revocation-related alcohol 

conviction. Certain innocent parties 

who have an ownership interest in 

the vehicle or a lien holder may 

have the vehicle released to them.  

 

North Dakota N.D. Cent. Code §39-08-01 

 

First refusal (within 7 years) – 

Class B misdemeanor, $500 fine 

and offender must undergo 

N.D. Cent. Code §39-20-04 and 

§39-06.1-11(2)  

 

First refusal – 180-day license 

suspension   



addiction evaluation  

 

Second refusal (within 7 years) – 

Class B misdemeanor 10 days in 

jail (48 hours mandatory), $1,500 

fine and offender must undergo 

addiction evaluation 

Third refusal: – Class A 

misdemeanor (within 7 years) – 

120 days in jail, $2,000 fine and 

offender must undergo an 

addiction evaluation; at least 360 

days of supervised probation and 

participation in 24/7 program   

Fourth or subsequent refusal: – 

Class C felony (within a 15-year 

period) – 1 year and 1 day jail 

time,  $2,000 fine and offender 

must undergo addiction evaluation; 

at least 2 years of supervised 

probation and participation in 24/7 

program   

 

 

Second refusal (or previous DUI 

conviction) (within 7 years) – 2-

year license revocation 

 

 Third or subsequent refusal 

(within 7 years) – 3-year license 

revocation.  

 

*These license revocations are 

mandatory; however, a temporary 

restricted license may be issued 

under certain circumstances  

 

*After second or subsequent offense 

within 7 years, vehicle plates must 

be forfeited to the DMV   

 

Ohio None Ohio Rev. Code Ann. §4511.191 

 

First refusal – 1-year license 

suspension 

 

Second refusal (within 6 years) – 

2-year license suspension 

 

Third refusal (within 6 years) – 3-

year license suspension  

 

Subsequent refusal (within 6 

years) – 5-year license suspension 

 

*If person has been convicted of 

impaired driving two or more times 

within 6 years. the officer can use 

any reasonable means to make the 

person take a chemical test  

 

*$475 fine to have license reinstated 

after refusal  

Oklahoma None 47 Okl. St. Ann. §6-205.1, 

47 Okl. St. Ann. §753 

 



First refusal – 180-day license and 

18-month interlock requirement  

 

Second refusal (within 10 years) – 

1-year mandatory license revocation  

 

Subsequent refusal (within 10 

years) – 3-year license revocation  

Oregon  Or. Rev. Stat. §813.095 813.100, 

§813.130, §813.410, §813.420, 

§813.430  

 

*Traffic violation with $650 fine  

First refusal- 1-year license 

suspension ( if no previous 

suspensions for either a test refusal 

or a DWI offense) (90-day 

mandatory) 

 

Second or subsequent refusal – 3-

year license suspension (for either a 

previous test refusal or a previous 

DWI offense/admin per se 

violation based license suspension 

within 5 years (1 year 

mandatory)  

 

Pennsylvania None Pa. Cons. Stat. tit. 75 §§1547 

 

First refusal – - 1-year license 

suspension 

 

Second refusal – 18-month license 

suspension  

 

*Officer may compel test if person 

has had license suspended for 

alcohol-related offense 

 

Rhode Island  R. I. Gen. Laws §31-27-2.1 

 

 

Second Refusal (within a 5-year 

period) – Misdemeanor offense; no 

more than 6 months of jail time 

 

Third Refusal (within a 5-year 

period) – misdemeanor offense; no 

more than 1 year of jail time 

R. I. Gen. Laws §31-27-2.1 

 

First refusal – $200 to $500fine; 10 

to 60 hours of community service; 

6-month to 1-year license 

suspension; required attendance at 

course on DUI and/or alcohol or 

drug treatment; interlock may be 

required  

 

Second refusal (within a 5-year 



period) – $600 to $1,000 fine , 60- 

100 hours of community service; 1- 

to 2-year license suspension ; and 

required alcohol or/drug treatment 

program 

 

Third and subsequent refusal 
(within a 5-year period) – $800 to 

$1,000 fine; not less than 100 hours 

of community service; 2- to 5-year 

license  suspension; and required 

alcohol/drug treatment  

 

*In addition to the above fines, a 

defendant must pay an assessment 

fee of $500. The imposition of these 

fines, assessments and/or public 

community service is mandatory. 

South Carolina None S.C. Code Ann. §56-5-2951 

 

First refusal – 6-month license 

suspension 

 

Subsequent refusal (within 10 

years) – 9-month license suspension 

 

*Person also must enroll in an 

Alcohol and Drug Safety Action 

Program 

 

*Restricted driving privileges 

available for either employment or 

college education purposes (§56-5-

2951) 

South Dakota None S.D. Codified Laws Ann. §32-23-

11 and §32-23-18 

 

Refusal-  – 1-year license 

revocation;  restricted hardship 

license is available  

 

Tennessee Tenn. Code Ann. §55-10-407 

 

*If offender refuses test and 

already has a suspended or 

revoked license for a DUI or 

vehicular assault conviction, it is a 

Class A misdemeanor and offender 

must serve 5 days of jail time and 

pay a $1,000 fine  

Tenn. Code Ann. §55-10-407 

 

First refusal (If no prior DUI or 

vehicular assault convictions) – 1-

year license revocation 

 

Second refusal (or first refusal with 

a prior DUI or vehicular assault 

conviction) – 2-year license 

revocation   



 

*Interlock required if convicted of 

DUI after a refusal  

 

Texas None Tex. Transportation Code Ann. 

§724.035 

 

First refusal – 180-day license 

suspension  

 

Refusal where ,there has been a 

prior “alcohol-related or drug-

related 

enforcement contact” within 10 

years – 2-year license suspension 

 

* Officer can compel test if person 

has two prior DWI convictions or 

one prior DWI conviction but there 

had been a child in the car, or 

someone was seriously injured or 

killed 

 

Utah None Utah Code Ann. §41-6a-520  and 

§41-6a-521 

 

First refusal – 18-month license 

revocation  

 

Second refusal – 36-month 

revocation if previous alcohol-

related conviction within last 10 

years  

 

*Refusals can carry a 5- to 10-year 

prohibition of driving with any 

measurable or detectable amount of 

alcohol in the person's body, 

depending on the person's prior 

driving history, and a 3-year 

interlock requirement  

 

Vermont Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 23 §1202 

 

The person may be charged with 

the crime of criminal refusal if the 

person:  (A) has previously been 

convicted a DUI, or  (B) is 

involved in an accident or collision 

resulting in serious bodily injury or 

Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 23 §1205  
 

First refusal – 6-month license 

suspension; interlock license 

available after 30 days  

 

Second refusal – mandatory 18-

month license suspension with 



death to another, in which case the 

court may issue a search warrant 

and order the person to submit to a 

blood test, the results of which 

may be offered into evidence 

against the person at trial 

 

*There is no reference to the 

penalties for the crime of “criminal 

refusal” in Vermont statute   

 

interlock available after 90 days  

 

Third or subsequent refusal – 

suspension for life; interlock 

available after 1 year  

 

*$50 surcharge for refusals upon 

license reinstatement  

Virginia Va. Code Ann. §18.2-268.3 

 

First refusal– civil offense 

 

Second refusal (within 10 years); 

– Class 2 misdemeanor, which 

carries jail time of not more than 6 

months and a fine of not more than 

$1,000, either or both  

 

Third refusal (within 10 years); – 

Class 1 misdemeanor, which 

carries jail time of  not more than 

12 months and a fine of not more 

than $2,500, either or both 

 

 

Va. Code Ann. §18.2-268.3 

 

First refusal– 1-year license 

suspension  

 

Second refusal (within 10 years) – 

3-year license suspension 

 

*There is also a mandatory 7-day 

license suspension under §46.2-

391.2 

 

Third refusal (within 10 years) – 

3-year license suspension  

Washington None Wash. Rev. Code §46.20.308 and 

§46.20.3101 

 

First refusal – 1-year license 

revocation   

 

Second or subsequent refusal 

(within 7 years) – 2-year license 

revocation or until the person 

reaches age 21, whichever is longer 

 

*Interlock installation available  

 

West Virginia None W. Va. Code §17C-5-7 

 

First refusal – 1-year license 

revocation (or 45 days, with an 

additional 1-year of ignition 

interlock device) 

 

Second refusal – 5- or10-year 

license revocation 

 



Third refusal – Lifetime license 

revocation  

Wisconsin None Wis. Stat. Ann. §343.10, §343.305, 

§343.307(2) 

 

First refusal – 1-year license 

revocation; after 30 days of the 

revocation period, the driver is 

eligible for an occupational license  

Person also will also be ordered to 

comply with an assessment and 

driver safety plan  

 

Second refusal (within 10 years) – 

2-year license revocation; after 90 

days of the revocation period, the 

driver is eligible for occupational 

license (if 2 or more refusals occur 

within 5 years, occupational license 

is available after 1 year with 

interlock) 

 

Third and subsequent refusal – 3-

year license revocation; after 1 year 

of revocation period, the driver is 

eligible for an occupational license 

with interlock  

 

*If a minor is present during the 

incident of the refusal, all license 

suspension durations are doubled 

 

Wyoming None Wyo. Stat. §31-6-102   

 

First refusal – 90-day license 

suspension and may have to install 

interlock  

 

Second or subsequent refusal 
(within 5 years) –  -18-month 

license suspension (mandatory)  

District of Columbia None D.C. Code Ann. §50-1905 

 

First or subsequent refusal – 1-

year license suspension  

 

*If the person has had a conviction 

for a prior it will be a rebuttable 

presumption that the person is under 

the influence of alcohol or a drug or 



any combination thereof 

 

 




