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ADMINISTRATIVE RULE
 HB 1048 required all mental health boards to review, 

and/or update their respective Administrative Rules.

 The NDBACE appointed two members to review the 
Rule and current law, pertaining to addiction 
counseling licensing in North Dakota.  These 
members were tasked with providing 
recommendations for revision.

 The NDBACE met on March 11th, 2016, to review the 
above recommendations and finalize suggested 
revisions to the Rule, which are to be presented at the 
Health Services Interim Committee meeting.



RECENT NDBACE CHANGES
 Added a new training (internship) consortium: (TAPP)

 Added a regular NDBACE review of academics/training/licensure 
requirements, during the 2nd and 4th board meetings

 Application processed modified/streamlined by creating a single 
licensure application, to decrease  review time.

 Academic crosswalk was reviewed and streamlined, decreasing 
review time.

 NDBACE website is more user friendly, accessible, with an added 
option to renew licenses online.

 Consortiums are becoming more flexible in terms of training start 
dates; better working relationships with other universities.

 Collaborating with NAADAC to provide the  (NCC-AP) exam, which 
allows for a national certification in Addiction Counseling. 



PROPOSED CHANGE 
#1

TIERED LICENSURE LEVELS



CURRENT LICENSURE IN NORTH 
DAKOTA

 North Dakota offers a single license:
 Licensed Addiction Counselor (LAC)

 Licensure Requirements:
 Bachelor in Addiction Studies or a related social 

science required
 Successful completion of a minimum of1400 hours of 

clinical training in a board approved site 
 Written exam



SAMHSA CAREER LADDER

 Protect the public by setting 
standards; 

 Put practice in line with 
higher education; 

 Allow practitioners to be 
reimbursed for services (e.g., 
to collect 3rd party payment); 

 Raise awareness of the 
profession; and 

 Inform workforce 
development activities. 

https://store.samhsa.gov/shin/content/PEP11-
SCOPES/PEP11-SCOPES.pdf



PROPOSED NDBACE CAREER LADDER 
LEVELS

 Recovery Coach 
 Addiction Counselor Trainee (ACT)
 Licensed Addiction Counselor (LAC)
 Master Addiction Counselor (MAC)

BENEFITS

 The ladder will allow out-of-state applicants to receive a 
credential while completing additional academic or clinical 
training requirements of the state of North Dakota.

 Students can remain in ACT status for 3 years (compared to 
the current 2 years), allowing them time to work as trainees 
while completing their education. 

 Career Ladder will allow out-of-state applicants to join the 
workforce in an addiction-related field earlier



PROPOSED CHANGE 
#2

ACADEMIC REQUIRMENETS



CURRENT & PROPOSED ACADEMIC 
REQUIRMENTS FOR *ACT, LAC, & MAC



PROPOSED ACADEMIC CHANGES 

Applicants who graduate with a bachelor’s, master’s, or 
doctorate degree in addiction counseling from a program 
accredited by the national addiction studies 
accreditation committee, the international 
coalition for addiction studies and education 
accreditation, or counsel for accreditation of 
counseling or addiction counseling will meet the 
academic requirements, without further transcript 
review. 



PROPOSED CHANGE 
#3

CLINICAL TRAINING



CURRENT CLINICAL TRAINING 
REQUIREMNT IN NORTH DAKOTA

 Clinical Training must be completed through one 
of seven (7) NDBACE approved Clinical Training 
Consortiums or a board approved individualized 
training plans.

 Trainees must complete a minimum of 1400 
hours of clinical (addiction specific) training.

 Individuals cannot begin clinical training unless 
they have completed all but two (2) required core 
courses in addiction counseling.



PROPOSED CLINICAL TRAINING 
REQUIRMENET IN NORTH DAKOTA

o Clinical Training may be completed through one of the seven (7) 
NDBACE approved Clinical Training Consortiums. 

OR

An individualized training plan, approved the NDBACE to 
be completed in one of the following:

1. Consortium
2. Individualized Training Plan 

3. University Placement

 Bachelor’s level trainees will complete 960 hours of clinical 
training (reduced from 1400 hours).

 Master’s level trainees will complete 700 hours of clinical 
training (reduced from 1400 hours).



CLINICAL TRAINING IN NORTH DAKOTA

 A trainee CAN be employed and PAID in private or 
public settings (agencies determine ability to pay).

 A trainee CAN complete clinical training on a full-
time or part-time basis.

 A new training consortium, Training Academy for 
Addiction Professionals, was created in 2015.

 As with other professions, training opportunities are 
available across the state of North Dakota. 



PROPOSED CHANGE 
#4

RECIPROCITY



CURRENT RECICPROCITY

o To become a Licensed Addiction Counselor (LAC) 
in North Dakota, laws in other states must be 
substantially similar.  



PROPOSED RECIPROCITY

 Individuals who possess a minimum of a Bachelor's degree in 
Addiction Studies or a related field and have a minimum of 5 
years (10,000 hours) of full-time experience (post-licensure) 
will be eligible for licensure as an LAC in ND.

 Individuals who possess a minimum of a Master’s degree in 
Addiction Studies or a related field and have a minimum of 5 
years (10,000 hours) of full-time experience (post-licensure) 
will be eligible for licensure as a MAC in ND.

 Out-of-state individuals who meet above requirements but 
have less than 5 years (10,000 hours) of experience, will 
receive 140 hours of clinical training credit for each year of 
full-time post-licensure addiction specific experience.

 Out-of-state individuals with NCAC-II credential (from 
NAADAC) will be eligible for licensure as an LAC in ND.



QUESTIONS?




