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Medicaid Expansion in Arkansas 

In September 2013, the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services approved Arkansas' Section 1115 demonstration to 

implement the Affordable Care Act's (ACA's) Medicaid expansion by using Medicaid funds as premium assist_ance to 

purchase coverage in Marketplace Qualified Health Plans (QHPs) for newly eligible adults. 1 The demonstration covers 

parents from 17-138% of the federal poverty level (FPL, up to $16,242 per year for an individual in 2015) and childless 

adults from 0-138% FPL. As of January 2014, Arkansas' demonstration: 

• Expands Medicaid by purchasing Marketplace QHP coverage for all newly eligible adults. 

• Requires newly eligible adults to enroll in Marketplace QHPs to receive Medicaid services. 

• Provides services that are outside the QHP benefit package, such as Early Periodic Screening Diagnosis and 

Treatment for 19 and 20 year olds, free choice of family planning provider, and non-emergency medical 
transportation, through the state's Medicaid fee-for-service delivery system. 

In December 2014, CMS approved an amendment to Arkansas' demonstration, based on changes required by state 

legislation. 2 Previously, Arkansas' demonstration included cost-sharing at Medicaid state plan amounts at the point-of­

service for beneficiaries from 100-138% FPL. As of January 2015, Arkansas' amended demonstration: 

• Establishes health savings accounts to which non-medically frail beneficiaries from 50-138% FPL make monthly 

income-based contributions, ranging from $5 to $25 per month, to be used for co-payments and co-insurance. 
These contributions are not a condition of Medicaid eligibility. 

• Imposes cost-sharing at the point-of-service at state plan amounts for beneficiaries above 100% FPL who do not 
make monthly account contributions. 

Arkansas also sought waiver authority to limit non-emergency medical transportation (NEMT) to 8 trip legs per year for 

non-medically frail beneficiaries. Instead, the state will establish a prior authorization process for NEMT for newly 

eligible adults (which does not require waiver authority). 

Arkansas is among the 29_states (including DC) irn.plementingJ;_he Medicaid Ei.Kpansion to date, most of which are doing so 
through a state plan amendment. To date, CMS has approved waivers in Ark_ansad, Iow_g, Indiana, Mkbig.an, and 
.Pennsvlvania to implement the ACA's Medicaid expansion. has a waiver application pending with CMS, and 
Tennessee and Utah have proposals pending at the state level. 

Other states expanding or seeking to expand Medicaid through Marketplace premium assistance include Iowa (optional for those 
from 101-138% FPL) and New Hampshire (pending waiver application would change expansion from direct coverage in the 
state's Medicaid program to Marketplace premium assistance beginning January 2016). Additional details about Arkansas' 
demonstration are included in Table 1. 
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Element 
Overview: 

Duration: 

Demonstration 
Goals: 
Coverage 
Groups Subject 
to Premium 
Assistance: 

Enrollment: 
Populations 
Exempt from 
Premium 
Assistance: 

QHP Choice 
and Auto­
Assignment: 

Premiums: 

Arkansas (approved, as amended) 
Uses Medicaid funds to pay Marketplace QHP premiums for all newly eligible adults 
statewide (estimated 200,000) under the ACA's Medicaid expansion. 

Waiver amendment establishes monthly cost-sharing contributions to health savings 
accounts for beneficiaries from 50-1 38% FPL and imposes cost-sharing at state plan amounts 
at the point-of-service for beneficiaries from 101-138% FPL who do not make monthly 
account contributions. Account contributions are not a condition of Medicaid eligibility. 
9/27/13 to 12/31/16 
Eligibility effective 1 /1 /14 

Cites promoting continuity of care, increasing access to care, and increasing Marketplace 
QHP enrollment. 
Newly eligible parents ages 19-64 between 1 7-1 38% FPL, and newly eligible adults without 
dependent children ages 19-64 between 0-138% FPL. 

Anticipates amending waiver in 201 5 or 2016 to add parents at or below 17% FPL and 
children (not included in current demonstration approval). 
QHP enrollment required for demonstration beneficiaries. 
People who are medically frail are exempt from premium assistance and have choice of FFS 
coverage of same ABP offered to new adult group or an ABP that includes Medicaid state 
plan benefit package. 

Those determined medically frail after QHP enrollment can be disenrolled from premium 
assistance and reassigned to other Medicaid coverage. 

Identified through state-established process. Waiver application describes 12 question 
online screening assessment, including health self-assessment, living situation, assistance 
with ADLs/IADLs, acute and psychiatric overnight hospital stays, and number of physician, 
physician extender or mental health professional visits. 

People with "exceptional medical needs" as identified through screening assessment, 
American Indian/Alaska Natives, pregnant women, and dual eligible beneficiaries also are 
exempt from premium assistance enrollment. 
Beneficiaries choose between at least 2 silver level Marketplace QHPs. If beneficiaries do not 
choose a plan, they will be automatically assigned to one. 

Beneficiary choice among all silver level plans in geographic area that offer only EHB. 

30 days to change QHP after auto-assignment. 

Auto-assignment based on target minimum market share of demonstration beneficiaries in 
each QHP in region. 
State pays monthly premiums directly to QHPs. 

Beneficiaries are not responsible for any premium costs. 
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Element 
Cost-Sharing 
and Health 
Savings 
Accounts: 

Benefits: 

Arkansas (approved, as amended) 
No cost-sharing for beneficiaries below 50% FPL. 

Beneficiaries from 50-138% FPL will make monthly contributions, no greater than 2% of 
income, to health savings ("Independence") accounts. Monthly contributions are $5 for 
beneficiaries 50-1 00% FPL, $1 0 for those from 101-11 5% FPL, $17.50 for those from 116-
1 2 9% FPL, and $ 2 5 for those over 1 3 0-1 3 3% FPL. 

The state will fund the account to cover beneficiaries' QHP co-payment and co-insurance 
obligations beyond Medicaid state plan limits, and a third party administrator will facilitate 
payments to providers. Beneficiaries will receive a credit or debit card to access account 
funds to pay co-payments and co-insurance to providers. 

Cost-sharing is not a condition of Medicaid eligibility and is limited to 5% of monthly or 
quarterly income. 

No cost-sharing for beneficiaries who are exempt under federal Medicaid law, including 
those who are medically frail and those with exceptional medical needs as determined 
through the Arkansas health care screening questionnaire. 

Beneficiaries from 101-138% FPL who fail to make monthly account contributions are 
responsible for Medicaid state plan level co-payments and co-insurance at the point of 
service, and providers can deny services for failure to pay cost-sharing. 

Beneficiaries from 50-1 00% FPL who fail to make monthly account contributions will use their 
account debit/credit card to pay providers for co-payments and co-insurance and will be 
billed by the third-party administrator for co-payments at Medicaid state plan amounts for 
services received. If there are insufficient account funds to cover the bill and it remains 
unpaid, these beneficiaries will incur a debt to the state, unless the beneficiary self-attests to 
financial hardship. 

Beneficiaries who make at least 6 non-consecutive monthly account contributions in a 
calendar year receive account credits that can be used to offset future QHP premiums (after 
enrollment in the Medicaid private option ends), employee contributions to ESI, or Medicare 
premiums (for those over age 64). The credits will be distributed as cash once the 
beneficiary is no longer eligible for Medicaid as a new adult, if the beneficiary continues to 
reside in Arkansas. For each month that they make a timely account contribution, 
beneficiaries accrue the lesser of their monthly contribution amount or $1 5, regardless of 
the amount of co-payments or co-insurance charged to the card. Credits are capped at $200 
and must be used within 2 years of accrual. 

Account contributions begin after CMS approval of the state's Independence Account 
protocol, and an initial account contribution is required prior to the end of the znct month 
after QHP coverage is effective. 

QHP QHPs provide services in the state's Medicaid Alternative Benefits Package (ABP) for newly 
benefits eligible adults. 

package: ABP is the same as Medicaid state plan benefits package. 

Federally Beneficiaries will have access to at least 1 QHP that contracts with at least one FQHC/RHC. 
qualified and Waiver application indicates that state will develop an alternative FQHC/RHC payment 

rural health methodology that moves from FFS per visit payments to those that account for service 
centers intensity and reduction in the uninsured. If unable to do so timely, state reserves right to 

(FQHC/RHC): seek waiver of FQHC/RHC reimbursement rules. 

Prescription Limited to the QHP formulary. Prior authorization within 72 hours instead of 24 hours. 
drugs: 
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Element 
Family 

planning 
providers: 

Wrap-around 
benefits: 

Retroactive 
coverage: 

Appeals: 

Financing: 

Cost­
Effectiveness: 
Oversight: 

Status: 

Evaluation: 

Reporting: 

Endnotes: 

Arkansas (approved, as amended) 
State covers out-of-network family planning providers on FFS basis. 

Provided on a FFS basis (non-emergency medical transportation and EPSDT). 

State to establish prior authorization process for non-emergency medical transportation. 

Provides 3 months' coverage prior to application date on FFS basis. 

Demonstration enrollees use the state fair hearing process for all appeals. (AR has approved 
SPA delegating Medicaid fair hearings for medical necessity and coverage issues for the new 
adults to state department of insurance. 3

) 

Estimates that the cost of covering the demonstration population will be the same with the 
waiver as without the waiver: $118 million in CY 2014, $126.4 million in CY 2015, and 
$135.4 million in CY 2016. 
May use state-developed tests of cost-effectiveness for premium assistance that differ from 
those otherwise permissible. 
State Medicaid agency and state insurance departments will enter into MOU or agreement 
with QHPs regarding enrollment, payment of premiums and cost-sharing reductions, 
reporting and data requirements, notices, and audits. 

Demonstration approved 9/27 /13 and amendment approved 12/31 /14. 

Within 6 months of implementation and annually thereafter, state must hold forum for 
public comment. 

State submitted draft evaluation design approved by CMS. 4 Evaluation shall be conducted by 
an independent entity. 
State must submit quarterly and annual reports to CMS. 

1 Ark. Health Care Independence Program (Private Option), CMS Special Terms and Conditions (Sept. 27, 13), available at 
htlp.J.lwwvv.medicaid.gov/Medicaid-~1-Information/By-Topics/Waivers/i115/downloads/ar/Health-Care-Independence­
PrQgrarn-Private-Option/ar-privat~:QP.1ion..:m2U:ltr-09272013.pdf; see also Ark. Medicaid, Health Care Independence (a/k/a 
Private Options)§ 1115 Waiver - FINAL (Aug. 2, 2013), available at 
htiJ2s:lj_www.medicaid.state.ar.~lJ_Q_9mment/demowaiyers.ill?_J;!K. 

2 Ark. Act 257, § 17 (Feb. 18, 2014), available at 
h!tp: / /wvvvv.arkleg.state.ar.us/assemblv /·)013/2014F /Pages/Billlnformation.aspx?measureno=SB111; Ark. Health Care 
Independence Program (Private Option) CMS Special Terms and Conditions #11-W-00287 /6 (Jan. 1, 2015), available at 
h.t:!r2: I /wvvw .medicaid.gov LMedicaid-CHIP-Program-Information/By-Topics lWaivers/1115/ downloads/ ar /ar-private­
QQtion-ca.pdf. 

3 Ark. State Plan Amendment #13-0013 MM4(July15, 2014), available at http://wv>'w.medicaid.gov/State-resource­
h.~Jer/Medicaid-State-Plan-Amendments/Downloads/AR/AR-11-0013-MM4.pdf. 

4 Arkansas Health Care Independence Program ("Private Option") Approved Evaluation for Section 1115 Demonstration Waiver, 
(February 20, 2014), available at https:l'.b:;_'lvw.medicaid.state.ar.us/Download/general/comment/HCivVEvalStrategy.pdf; CMS 
approval letter: http://wviw.medicaid.gov/tviedicakl=CHIP-Program-Information/By-Topics/Waivers I 1115/ downloads/ar /Health­
_Ca re-Independence-Program-Private-Option/ar-private-option-eval-design-<}ppvl-ltr-0324·)014..pdf. 

The Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation Headquarters: 2400 Sand Hill Road, Menlo Park, CA 94025 I Phone 650-854-9400 
Washington Offices and Barbara Jordan Conference Center: 1330 G Street, NW, Washington, DC 20005 \ Phone 202-347-5270 

www.kff.org I Email Ale1ts: kff.org/email I facebook.com/KaiserFamilyFoundation I twitter.com/KaiserFamFound 

Filling the need for trusted infonnation on national health issues, the Kaiser Family Foundation is a nonprofit organization based in Menlo Park, California. 
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