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North Dakota

Step 1 - Certification

Step 2 — Investment in

certified angel fund

Credit allowed

!

Step 3 — Proof of

investment in certified
angel fund

Apply for certification (fund only)
Funds that want to participate apply to
ND EDF* for certification as a qualified
angel fund. Certification is effective for
3 years; may apply for recertification.

Invest in certified angel fund
The angel investor must invest cash in
certified angel fund.

File investment report

When an angel investor invests in
certified angel fund, the fund must file an
investment report with the North Dakota
Tax Department within 30 days of
receiving the monies.

* North Dakota Economic Development & Finance Division,
ND Commerce Department
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Step 4 — Proof of

investment in qualified
business

Step 5 — Credit certificate

Credit allowed
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Certification / Credit Process

Apply for certification (all entities)
ALL investors, funds, and businesses that
want to participate must apply to MN
DEED* for certification. Must apply for
certification every year (incl. fee).

Jointly apply for credit allocation
Qualified investor (or fund) and qualified
business must jointly apply to MN DEED for
a credit allocation, which is a tentative set-
aside of credits pending actual investment.

Invest in qualified business

Qualified investor (or fund) must invest
cash in exchange for an ownership (equity)
interest in the qualified business within a
specified time period.

Jointly file proof of investment
Qualified business (or alternatively, the
investor or fund) must file a proof of
investment with MN DEED within a
specified time period after making
investment.

Credit certificate(s) issued
If investment is approved, MN DEED issues
a credit certificate to the qualified investor.

(If investment was made by a qualified
fund, a separate credit certificate is issued
to each qualified investor in the fund.)

* Minnesota Department of Employment and Economic Development
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Angel Fund

Qualified
BUSINESS
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Qualifications to Participate

Qualified angel fund

» Organized as passthrough entity in North
Dakota

* Headquartered in North Dakota

* Minimum of 6 accredited investors who have
committed at least $500,000 to fund’s use

* Managed by its investor members

* No one investor holds over 25% of fund’s
assets or over 49% of business in which fund
invests

( Angel Investor )

* Purpose is to invest in at least 3 qualified
businesses—see “Qualified Business” below

* Has not invested in real estate

* Compliant with North Dakota securities law

Angel Fund

* Certified by ND EDF (for 3-year period)

Qualified business

* Primary sector—see definition below
* Private, nonpublicly traded entity

* Annual revenues do not exceed $10 million

Qualified
BUSINESS

“Primary sector” refers to business that uses
knowledge or labor to add value to a product or

service that creates new wealth (but excludes
production of crops and livestock in regular farm
operation)

“New wealth” means revenues from sales to
customers outside North Dakota, or from sales
of products or services with limited or no
availability in North Dakota.
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Qualified investor

* Natural person

* Accredited or non-accredited

* Not an officer, principal, or 20% or more
voting owner of qualified business (incl. family
member)

* Invests at least $10,000 in qualified business

* Certified by MN DEED (annually w/ 5350 fee)

Qualified angel fund

* Organized as passthrough entity (in any state)

* Minimum of 3 investors, 3 of whom are
qualified investors

* Investment in fund must be for equity interest
or interest-bearing note

* Invests at least $30,000 in qualified business

* Certified by MN DEED (annually w/ 51,000 fee)

Qualified business

* Headquartered in Minnesota

* Under 25 employees

e Operating for 10 years or less (20 years, if related
to FDA-approved medical devices or drugs)

* Minimum of 51% of employees and payroll in
Minnesota

* Pays annual wage of at least 175% of poverty
level for family of 4 (excludes officer, principal, or
20% or more owner)

Continued on next page...
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Qualifications to Participate

Qualified Continued from previous page...

Primary activity involves any of following:

» Uses proprietary technology to add value to
a product, process, or service in high-tech
field

» Research or development of proprietary
product, process, or service in high-tech
field

> Research, development, or production of
new proprietary technology, or research or
development of non-technological
proprietary product, process, or service, in
field of agriculture, tourism, forestry,
mining, manufacturing, or transportation

* Is not involved in a non-qualifying activity—

> Real estate development, banking,
insurance, IT consulting, constructions,
wholesale or retail trade, hospitality and
leisure, transportation, or corn ethanol
production

> Professional services

* Does not have securities trading on public-
exchange, and does not issue securities that
begin trading on public-exchange within 180
days receiving qualified investment

* Has not received 4 million in private equity
investment (incl. from owner/officer), and has
not received $4 million in qualified
investments under program

* Certified by MN DEED (annually w/ S150 fee)
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Limitations on Credits

Credit rate: 45%
Program limit:  None

Credit rate: 25%
Program limit:  $15 million of credits per year for
2014-16 calendar years *

* Starting 2015, S7.5 million set aside
for Greater Minnesota and minority-
or women-owned businesses

Other: Credit not allowed if tax credit is claimed for
fund’s investment in business certified under
ND seed capital or ag commodity program.

PROGRAM

I
—~—

Annual limit: $45,000 of credits

Lifetime limit: $500,000 of credits per taxpayer
(married couple is one taxpayer for
this purposes)

Annual limit: $125,000 of credits ($250,000, if
married filing jointly)

Angel Investor Lifetime limit:  None

Unused credit: Refundable

1
—

Unused credit:  May be carried over up to 7 years

Annual limit: None There are no limits on credits with respect to the

Lifetime limit:  $5 million of credits per fund angel fund. Separate credit certificates are issued
Angel Fund directly to the individual angel investors, who are

subject to the limits on an angel investor—see above.

=
2

Not applicable; there are no limits on credits with Qualified Lifetime limit: S1 million of credits

respect to any business. B“Sl“Ess

+
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Revocation of Credit

i

( Angel Investor )

There are no specific provisions in North Dakota’s angel fund statute
regarding revocation or paying back the credit.

However...the statute does require an investor to leave monies in the
certified angel fund for 3 years following date of investment to remain
eligible for credit.
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( Angel Investor )

Angel Fund

Qualified investor or qualified angel fund must hold investment in
qualified business for 3 years following investment year.

Otherwise...credit is revoked and qualified investor(s) must pay back
100% of credit.

Exceptions—Revocation does not apply if any of following occur
before end of 3-year period:
* Investment becomes worthless
* 80% of qualified business’s assets are sold
* Qualified business is sold
* Qualified business’s stock begins trading on public exchange
* Death of qualified investor

Qualified
BUSINESS

Qualified business must maintain following for 5 years following
investment year:
* Minimum of 51% of employees and payroll in Minnesota
* Annual wage of at least 175% of poverty level for family of 4
(excludes officer, principal, or 20% or more owner)

Otherwise...credit is revoked and qualified business must pay back
credit as follows:

If not metin—  Pay back this % of credit—
15t year 100%
2 year 80%
3rd year 60%
4th year 40%
5thyear 20%
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Reporting Requirements

Annual reporting by

Qualified Funds

Every qualified fund must file an annual report with the North
Dakota Tax Department. For each business in which the fund makes
an investment, the report must show—

* Name of business
* Location of principal place of business

Other reporting

Qualified Funds

For each investment that an angel investor makes into a qualified
angel fund, the fund must file an investment reporting form with
the North Dakota Tax Department showing—

* Name and FEIN of qualified angel fund

* Name, address, SSN, and entity type of angel investor

* Date and amount of investment

Disclosure to North Dakota Legislature

The statute does not require, but allows, the North Dakota Tax
Department to disclose the following to ND Legislative
Management—

* Name of qualified angel fund

* Name of each business in which fund made an investment

* Location of each business’s principal place of business

* Date and amount of each investment made in a qualified
angel fund (but not the investor’s identity)
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Annual reporting by

Qualified Investors and Qualified Funds

Qualified Investors / Qualified Funds

Every qualified investor and qualified fund must file an annual
report for 3 years with Minnesota Dept. of Employment and
Economic Development (MN DEED) showing—

* Current investments not held for 3 years*
* Investments not held 3 years and reason for divesting™*

* Business name, and investment date and amount

Report filing fee of $100 ($500 late filing penalty)

Qualified Businesses

Every qualified business must file an annual report for 5 years
with MN DEED to verify it is meeting following requirements:

* Headquartered in Minnesota

*  Minimum of 51% of employees and payroll in Minnesota
(unless it is pre-payroll)

* Annual wages of at least 175% of poverty level for family of 4
(excludes officer, principal, or 20% or more owner)

* Engaged or committed to engage in the type of innovative
activity defined by statute

Report must also show—

*  Amount of investment not qualifying for credit

* Whether its securities trade on public exchange, or it had a
liquidation event

* Indirect hires, e.g., contractors and consultants

Report filing fee of $100 ($500 late filing penalty)

Continued on next page...
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Reporting Requirements

Continued from previous page...

Annual reporting to
Minnesota Legislature

Minnesota Department of Employment and Economic
Development (MN DEED)

The Minnesota Department of Employment and Economic

Development (MNDEED) must file an annual report with the MN

Legislature’s tax and economic development committees showing
the following:

* For each qualified business—
> Location of headquarters
» Line of business
» Amount of investment qualifying for credit
» Amount of investment not qualifying for credit

* Total number and amount of credits issued for all qualified
businesses

* Recipients of credits
* Number and amount of credits revoked

* Number and amount of credits no longer subject to 3-year
investment holding period because of a statutory exception
to revocation of credits
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Miscellaneous Provisions

The North Dakota Tax Department may disclose the Public information

Tolllyming D Legllee wEneganoen — The following information is disclosable to the public:

* Name of qualified angel fund

. . . * Name of qualified investor or qualified angel fund
* Name of each business in which fund made an

* Name, address, phone no., email address, contact

:_nves'smen;c h busi 's brincioal bl ‘ name, and industry type of qualified business
boc‘atlon ot each businesss principal place o * Credit certificate issued—names of qualified investor
usiness

(or fund) and qualified business, and investment and
credit amounts

* Revoked credit—name of qualified investor, fund, or
business and revoked credit amount

* Date and amount of each investment made in a
qualified angel fund (but not the investor’s
identity)

Disclosure to program evaluator (see below)

Information on certification applications, annual reports,
and income tax returns filed by qualified investors, funds,
and businesses is disclosable to program evaluator.

The fees collected with certification applications and
Program annual reports are appropriated to MN DEED for
Funding administration of program.

Not applicable

The original 2010 legislation creating the program
Program required an evaluation of the program to be done by a
. qualified outside independent party with completion by
Evaluation January 2014. $100,000 was appropriated for study.

Not applicable

The program expires December 31, 2016; however,
annual reporting remains in effect through 2021.

Not applicable

Note: Originally effective through 2014, but was extended
through 2016 by 2014 legislature.
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