APPENDIX H

ADMINISTRATIVE RULES COMMITTEE
DECEMBER 7, 2015
WRITTEN TESTIMONY OF THE NORTH DAKOTA HIGHWAY PATROL

ON MOTOR CARRIER AND PERMIT RULE CHANGES

TO: Chairman Bill Devlin and Members of the Administrative Rules Committee

The following written testimony is submitted in response to the November 20, 2015
request of Vonette J. Richter, Assistant Code Revisor. The written testimony is
submitted by Jackie Darr, Motor Carrier Permit Supervisor, North Dakota Highway

Patrol.

1. Whether the rules resulted from statutory changes made by the Legislative
Assembly.

The rules did not result from statutory changes.

2. Whether the rules are related to any federal statute or regulation. If so,
please indicate whether the rules are mandated by federal law or explain

any options your agency had in adopting the rules.

The rules are unrelated to any federal statute or regulation.

3. A description of the rulemaking procedure followed in adopting the rules,
e.g., the type of public notice given and the extent of public hearings held

on the rules.

The North Dakota Highway Patrol (NDHP) followed the statutory rule-making
procedures required under N.D.C.C. ch. 28-32. Public notice of the rule-making
was published in all official newspapers in accordance with the requirements of
N.D.C.C. ch. 28-32.
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A public hearing was held at the NDHP Bismarck Regional Office on August 4,
2015. The public comment period was open until August 17, 2015; no written or
oral comments were received. The NDHP submitted the matter to the North
Dakota Attorney General for review and an opinion.

The North Dakota Attorney General issued his opinion approving the rules on
October 29, 2015.

. Whether any person has presented a written or oral concern, objection, or
complaint for agency consideration with regard to these rules. If so,
describe the concern, objection, or complaint and the response of the
agency, including any change made in the rules to address the concern,
objection, or complaint. Please summarize the comments of any person

who offered comments at the public hearings on these rules.

No oral or written comments were received.

. The approximate cost of giving public notice and holding any hearing on
the rules and the approximate cost (not including staff time) of developing

and adopting the rules.

The cost of publication of the public notice was $1,645. There was no cost to hold

the hearing or to develop or adopt the rules.

. An explanation of the subject matter of the rules and the reasons for
adopting those rules.

The NDHP no longer sells self-issue permits, as this process was replaced with the
online automated permit and routing system; all information regarding self-issue

cards was removed.



We added an oversize load sign for both length and/or width in the interest of public
safety and to be uniform on standards with surrounding states (part of the uniformity
the Western Area States Highway Transportation Officials “WASHTO” was working
on). The sign is required on both the front and rear of vehicles.

The words “for the superintendent may authorize movements on weekends and
holidays if needed” were added. We currently do not permit loads more than 16’
wide on holidays and starting Saturday at noon, and all day on Sunday. The added
words will allow the NDHP to sell permits in emergencies or in the best interest of

the traveling public.

In policy we had a waiver of $1 per mile for construction equipment going to state
road construction projects. We added this to administrative rules since it has a
fiscal effect.

“Per trooper” was added for when more than one trooper is required to escort or

weigh vehicles.

Lastly, we cleaned up a few words and added required metric information.

. Whether a regulatory analysis was required by North Dakota Century Code
(NDCC) Section 28-32-08 and whether that regulatory analysis was
issued. Please provide a copy.

Yes — copies are provided.

. Whether a regulatory analysis or economic impact statement of impact on
small entities was required by NDCC Section 28-32-08.1 and whether that
regulatory analysis or impact statement was issued. Please provide

copies.

Yes — regulatory analysis, small entity regulatory analysis, and small entity

economic impact statement copies are provided.



9.

Whether these rules have a fiscal effect on state revenues and
expenditures, including any effect on funds controlled by your agency. If

so, please provide copies of a fiscal note.

The rules will have no fiscal effect; a fiscal note was not required.

10. Whether a constitutional takings assessment was prepared as required by

11.

NDCC Section 28-32-09. Please provide a copy if one was prepared.

Yes — copies are provided.

If these rules were adopted as emergency (interim final) rules under NDCC
Section 28-32-03, provide the statutory grounds from that section for
declaring the rules to be an emergency and the facts that support that
declaration and provide a copy of the Governor's approval of the
emergency status of the rules. If these rules were adopted as emergency
(interim final) rules, what steps were taken to make the rules known to
persons who can reasonably be expected to have a substantial interest in
the rules?

These were not adopted as emergency or interim final rules.



REGULATORY ANALYSIS OF PROPOSED AMENDMENTS TO
ARTICLE 38-06

Amended Sections:

38-06-02-01. General Rules

38-06-02-02. Flagging, sign, lighting, and mirror requirements.
38-06-02-06. Size and Weight Limitations

38-06-02-07. Travel restrictions

38-06-03-01. Permit Fees

38-06-04-02. Permit Cancellation and hearing request

GENERAL: The following analysis is submitted in compliance with SS 39-12-02 of the
North Dakota Century Code.

The proposed amendments are not expected to impact the regulated
community in excess of $50,000.

General Rules: The NDHP no longer issues self-issue single trip movement approval
forms, so removing the language pertaining to these forms.

Flagging, sign, lighting, and mirror requirements: Currently, the 12x60” oversize
load sign is required for over-dimensional movements that exceed 75 feet. The sign is
only required on the rear. Proposed amendment would also require the oversize load
sign on the front of the towing vehicle for over-dimensional movements that exceed 75
feet, and on the front and rear of all over-width movements regardless of the length. In
the interest of safety and due to the influx in traffic volumes, many of the motor carriers
already sign their loads in the front. This is especially beneficial in the interest of safety,
when travel is on a 2-lane highway and the width of the load exceeds the lane width.

Size and Weight Limitations: Removed the language on size limitations authorized by
the superintendent. This language pertains to identification supplements and self-issue
single trip movement approval form permits, which are no longer issued.

Travel restrictions: Added language so the superintendent has the authority to
authorize movement on holidays and weekends, which is randomly necessary. This is
a positive impact and at no cost.

Permit Fees: The NDHP can no longer issues identification supplements so removed
the fee. The NDHP no longer issues self-issue single trip movement approval forms
(permits), so removed the fee. Electronic permits, replaced the self-issue paper single
trip permits and the identification supplements.

Vehicles requiring a highway patrol escort are subject to a fee of $50/hour and
$.50/mile. Adding language so when a carrier requests a trooper(s) to weigh a vehicle



on portable scale, a fee of $50 hour and $.50 per mile shall be assessed. Because this
a practice previously done, it will have minimal impact to the regulated community.

Made a correction showing the fee assessed on the gross vehicle weight of a load
movement when traveling on a highway with load restriction weight limits. Currently it
shows the load movement is subject to $1 per ton per mile. The fee is $1 per mile when
the gross vehicle weight of a load movement exceeds 105,500 pounds and travel with
load restriction weight limits except when travel is on a 6 ton highway.

As authorized by the NDDOT director, a contractor hauling construction equipment to a
state project is exempted from the $1 per mile fee when obtaining a single trip permit.
The $1 per mile fee is specific to load movements being made during spring thaw or
when travel is on a highway with load limits year around. The exemption pertains to 10
permits for a contractor on a state construction project. Because this has been part of
policy since the early 1980’s, it will have minimal impact to the regulated community.

Permit Cancellation and hearing request: Removing the language on revocation or
cancellation of permit privileges includes the privileges of self-issue single trip permits
because the NDHP no longer issues self-issue single trip permits.

June 25, 2014



TAKINGS ASSESSMENT OF PROPOSED AMENDMENTS TO
ARTICLE 38-06

Amended Sections:

38-06-02-01. General Rules

38-06-02-02. Flagging, sign, lighting, and mirror requirements.
38-06-02-06. Size and Weight Limitations

38-06-02-07. Travel restrictions

38-06-03-01. Permit Fees

38-06-04-02. Permit Cancellation and hearing request

GENERAL: The following analysis is submitted in compliance with §39-12-02 of the
North Dakota Century Code.

The proposed amendments will not take any or limit the use of private real
property.
June 25, 2014



SMALL ENTITY REGULATORY ANALYSIS OF PROPOSED AMENDMENTS TO
ARTICLE 38-06

Amended Sections:

38-06-02-01. General Rules

38-06-02-02. Flagging, sign, lighting, and mirror requirements.
38-06-02-06. Size and Weight Limitations

38-06-02-07. Travel restrictions

38-06-03-01. Permit Fees

38-06-04-02. Permit Cancellation and hearing request

GENERAL: The following analysis is submitted in compliance with §39-12-02 of the
North Dakota Century Code.

The North Dakota Highway Patrol anticipates that the amendments to Article
38-06 do not have a substantial small entity regulatory impact.

General Rules: N/A

Flagging, sign, lighting, and mirror requirements:

Currently, the 12x60” oversize load sign is required for over-dimensional movements
that exceed 75 feet. The sign is only required on the rear. Proposed amendment would
also require the oversize load sign on the front of the towing vehicle for over-
dimensional movements that exceed 75 feet, and on the front and rear all over-width
movements regardless of the length. In the interest of safety and due to the influx in
traffic volumes, many of the motor carriers already sign their loads in the front.
Requiring signs on the front and rear and on over-width movement provides safety
benefits to the motor carrier industry and the motoring public. The rules will affect
industry and the motoring public positively.

Size and Weight Limitations: Removing the language on size limitations authorized
by the superintendent because these permit types are no longer issued does not have
substantial small entity regulatory impact.

Travel restrictions: Added language so the superintendent has the authority to
authorize movement on holidays and weekends, which is randomly necessary. This is
a positive impact on small entities.

Permit Fees: N/A

Permit Cancellation and hearing request: N/A.

June 25, 2014



SMALL ENTITY ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT

Amended Sections:

38-06-02-01. General Rules

38-06-02-02. Flagging, sign, lighting, and mirror requirements.
38-06-02-06. Size and Weight Limitations

38-06-02-07. Travel restrictions

38-06-03-01. Permit Fees

38-06-04-02. Permit Cancellation and hearing request

GENERAL: The following analysis is submitted in compliance with §39-12-02 of the
North Dakota Century Code.

The North Dakota Highway Patrol anticipates that the amendments to Article
38-06 will not have a substantial small entity economic impact.

General Rules: The NDHP no longer issues self-issue single trip movement approval
forms, so removing the language pertaining to these forms. No impact.

Flagging, sign, lighting, and mirror requirements: Currently, the 12x60” oversize
load sign is required for over-dimensional movements that exceed 75 feet. The sign is
only required on the rear. Proposed amendment would also require the oversize load
sign on the front of the towing vehicle for over-dimensional movements that exceed 75
feet, and on the front and rear all over-width movements regardless of the length. In the
interest of safety and due to the influx in traffic volumes, many of the motor carriers
already sign their loads in the front. Requiring signs on the front and rear and on over-
width movement provides safety benefits to the motor carrier industry and the motoring
public and may have a minimal small entity economic impact. The rules, in the interest
of safety will affect industry and the motoring public positively.

Travel restrictions: Added language so the superintendent has the authority to
authorize movement on holidays and weekends, which is randomly necessary. This is
a positive economic impact on small entities.

Permit Fees: The NDHP can no longer issues identification supplements so removed
the fee. The NDHP no longer issues self-issue single trip movement approval forms
(permits), so removed the fee. Electronic permits, replaced the self-issue paper single
trip permits and the identification supplements.

Vehicles requiring a highway patrol escort are subject to a fee of $50/hour and
$.50/mile. Adding language so when a carrier requests a trooper to weigh a vehicle on
portable scale, a fee of $50 hour and $.50 per mile shall be assessed. Because this a
practice previously done, it will have no economic impact to small entities.



Made a correction in the language on fees assessed when the gross vehicle weight of a
load movement travels on a highway with load restriction weight limits. Currently it
shows the load movement is subject to a fee of $1 per ton per mile. The correction is $1
per mile when the gross vehicle weight of a load movement exceeds 105,500 pounds
and travel with load restriction weight limits except when travel is on a 6 ton highway.
No impact.

As authorized by the NDDOT director, a contractor hauling construction equipment to a
state project is exempted from the $1 per mile fee when obtaining a single trip permit.
The $1 per mile fee is specific to load movements being made during spring thaw or
when travel is on a highway with load limits year around. The exemption pertains to 10
permits. Because this has been part of policy since the early 1980’s, it will no impact.

June 25, 2014



FISCAL NOTE

The rules will have no fiscal impact.





