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Mr. Chairman and members of the Interim Transportation Committee my name is Arik
Spencer, Executive Vice President of the North Dakota Motor Carriers Association. Thank
you for the opportunity comment on the Uniform Truck Permitting Study.

The North Dakota Motor Carriers Association was involved with the creation of the state’s
current online permitting system. It’s proven itself to be very effective for our industry,
making the purchase of an oversized or overweight truck permit efficient and convenient.
The current system also allows the state to manage these large loads so damage to
infrastructure can be mitigated through requiring configurations that better distributes the
weight of loads or by requiring alternate routes that provide the needed clearance. We have
been very satisfied with the Highway Patrol’s management of this system and the work the
North Dakota Department of Transportation (DOT) and the Highway Patrol do to
accommodate the needs of the transportation industry.

When | ask our members for their thoughts regarding incorporating county level permitting
into the states permitting system, | get two answers. For counties that do not participate in
the oil and gas counties’ Uniform County Permit Program, there is strong consensus in favor
of this idea. This would provide a single point of access for most permits and would improve

compliance.

In regard to the Uniform County Permit Program there is ho consensus. Some of our
members like the current system while others would like one point of contact for all
permits. The only consistent comment | hear is related to the high costs of some permits.
For example, based on the different formulas used by each system, the cost per mile for a
300,000 pound load would be $2.50/mile (in addition to an $85.00 fee) for a ND permit vs
$486.25/mile for a county permit. That’s a difference of $483.75/mile when transitioning
from a state road to a county road which seems rather excessive.

Minimum fees for overweight vehicles are set in statute (N.D.C.C. 39-12-02) however there
is no cap on the fees. The state uses the minimum fee established by law to gain greater
compliance while the oil and gas producing counties have gone above and beyond that level

for funding reasons.

The North Dakota Motor Carriers Association will continue to visit with our members on this
issue and participate in the discussions created by this study.

Mr. Chairman, this concludes my remarks and | would be happy to answer any questions.
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Attachment A: North Dakota Motor Carriers Association
Cost of State Permitting Fees vs Uniform County Permit System
Interim Transportation Committee: 11-12-15

State System County System (Truck/Trailers)

Gross Vehicle Weight Permit Service Fee Total Gross Vehicle Weight Permit Difference
Up to 150,000 S 20.001 S 15.00 | § 35.00 | {Under 105,500 but oversized $ 20.00|S$ (15.00)
Up to 150,000 S 20.00 | S 15.00 | S 35.00 | |105,501-110,000 S 30.00|$ (5.00)
Up to 150,000 S 20.00 | S 15.00 | S 35.00 | {110,001-115,000 S 40.00 | S 5.00
Up to 150,000 S 20.00 | S 15.00 | S 35.00 | {115,001-120,000 S 50.00|S$ 15.00
Up to 150,000 S 20.00 | $ 15.00 | $ 35.00 | |120,001-125,000 S 60.00|$ 25.00
Up to 150,000 S 20.00 | S 15.00 | $ 35.00 | |125,001-130,000 S 70.00|$ 35.00
Up to 150,000 S 20.00 | S 15.00 | $ 35.00 | |130,001-135,000 S 80.00|S$ 45.00
Up to 150,000 S 20.00 | $ 15.00 | S 35.00 | |135,001-140,000 S 90.00|$ 55.00
Up to 150,000 S 20.00 ]S 15.00 | S 35.00 } {140,001-145,000 $100.00 | S 65.00
Up to 150,000 S 20.00 | $ 15.00 | S 35.00 | |145,001-150,000 $110.00|S$ 75.00
150,001-160,000 S 30.00 | $ 15.00 | S 45.00 | |Over 150,000 $5.00/ton/mile
160,001-170,000 S 40.00 | S 15.00 | $ 55.00

170,001-180,000 S 50.00 | $ 15.00 | $ 65.00

180,001-190,000 S 60.00 | S 15.00 | $ 75.00

190,001-200,000 S 70.00 | $ 15.00 | $ 85.00

Over 200,001 $ 70.00 | $ 15.00 | plus .05/ton/mile

Cost Comparison: State vs County Oversized Cost Formula
Permit for a 300,000 pound load

Gross Vehicle Weight
Weight Deduction
Total Excess Tons

Divide by 2,000
Ton Mile Fee
Cost Per Mile

State
300,000
-200,000
100,000
5,000
S 0.05
$ 250

County
300,000
-105,500
194,500
97.25
S 5.00
S 486.25
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