APPENDIX F

TESTIMONY

Presented by: Chrystal Bartuska
Product Filing Division Director
North Dakota Insurance Department

Before: Transportation Committee
Representative Dan Ruby, Chairman

Date: August 20, 2015

Good morning, Chairman Ruby and members of the committee. My name is Chrystal
Bartuska. | am the Product Filing Division Director for the North Dakota Insurance

Department.

| was asked to present an overview of the required liability limits associated with auto
insurance (N.D.C.C. §§ 26.1-41-01 and 39-16.1-11) as well as the basic no-fault benefit
limits (N.D.C.C. § 26.1-41-01) in the state.

In North Dakota there are four types of required auto coverage. They are liability,
uninsured motorist, underinsured motorist and basic no-fault. The term basic no-fault

benefit is also commonly referred to as PIP (personal injury protection).

The minimum required liability limits in our state are commonly referred to as 25/50/25,
which means there is coverage for up to $25,000 of bodily injury per person, $50,000
per incident, and $25,000 dollars for property damage coverage. Uninsured and
underinsured coverage is also required to be at a minimum of 25/50 meaning $25,000
of bodily injury coverage per person and $50,000 per incident in both uninsured and

underinsured.

The last piece of these requirements is basic no-fault benefits, which covers economic
loss resulting from accidental bodily injury. This coverage includes medical expense;
rehabilitation expense; work loss; replacement services loss; survivors’ income loss;

survivors’ replacement service loss; and funeral, cremation and burial expenses.
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Specific dollar amounts apply to these coverages. For example, work loss and
survivors’ income loss have a maximum of $150 weekly benefit per person, funeral
expenses has a maximum of $3,500 and survivors’ replacement services loss or
replacement services loss cannot exceed $15 per day. The work loss and survivor loss
benefit levels of $150 and $15 have been in place since January 1, 1976, and the

funeral expenses $3,500 limit has been in place since the 1991 legislative session.

The medical benefit expenses are based on the reasonable and customary charges as
determined by medical necessity. The minimum amount that is required by insurance
companies for all basic no-fault benefits for any one person for any one accident is

$30,000, which became effective after the 1985 legislative session.

The chart below lists the various coverage limits that could make up the $30,000 no-

fault benefit.

Benefit Coverage Limit
Total benefit available for all no-fault benefits $30,000

Medical Expenses No specific dollar amount
Rehabilitation Expenses No specific dollar amount
Work Loss $150 per week
Survivors’ Income Loss $150 per week
Replacement Services Loss $15 per day
Survivors’ Replacement Services Loss $15 per day
Funeral Expenses $3,500

For your convenience, | have attached a copy of the 2013 National Association of
Insurance Commissioners chart listing states’ auto insurance coverage requirements.
This is a very high level overview of the required coverages associated with auto

insurance.
| also want to point out that coverage requirements are minimums. Consumers are able
to purchase higher liability limits, uninsured/underinsured and no-fault benefits

depending on their personal situations and budgets.

That concludes my testimony. | would be happy to answer any questions. Thank you.



Summary of State Laws Related to Auto Insurance

Rate Filing
Laws for (Prior | Form Filing Fault Compulsory
Approval, Use &| Laws (Prior System Tort UM (* =
File, File & Use, | Approval, Use| (Tort, No- | Threshold (C Insured can | Minimum | No Pay -
No File, Flex | & File, File & | Fault, Add- |= Choice, V=] Compulsory | Compulsory reject in Liability No Play Negligence
Rating) Use, No File) on) Verbal) Liability PIP writing) Limits Laws Systems
F&U/Flex PA/F&U T N/A Y N Y 50/100/25 Y Comparative
PA PA T N/A Y N N 25/50/25 N Contributory
F&U PA AO $5,000 Y Y * 25/50/25 N Mod. 50%
U&F PA T N/A Y N N 15/30/10 N Comparative
PA PA T N/A Y N N 15/30/5 Y Comparative
F&U NF T N/A Y N N 25/50/15 N Mod. 50%
PA. F&U Flex F&U T N/A Y N N 20/40/10 N Mod. 51%
F&U PA NF optional CorV Y N Y 25/50/10 N Contributory
F&U U&F AO N/A Y Y N 15/30/10 N Mod. 51%
PA/U&F PA NF \Y Y Y * 10/20/10 N Comparative
PA PA T N/A Y N N 25/50/25 N Mod. 50%
PA PA NF $5,000 Y Y N 20/40/10 N Mod. 51%
U&F PA T N/A N N * 20/40/15 Y Mod. 51%
U&F U&F T N/A N N N 25/50/15 N Mod. 50%
U&F U&F T N/A Y N Y 20/40/15 N Mod. 51%
F&U F&U T N/A Y N * 25/50/10 N Mod. 51%
Flex F&U NF $2,000 Y Y Y 25/50/10 Y Mod. 50%
Flex PA NF optional | $1.000 or V Y N N 25/50/10 N Comparative
Modified PA PA T N/A Y N * 15/30/25 Y Comparative
F&U PA NF $2,000 Y Y Y 20/40/5 N Mod. 51%
F&U PA AQ N/A Y Y Y 30/60/15 N Contributory
F&U F&U T N/A Y N Y 50/100/25 N Mod. 50%
F&U PA NF \Y Y Y N 20/40/10 Y Mod. 51%
F&U PA NF $4,000 or V Y Y Y 30/60/10 N Mod. 51%
U&F U&F T N/A Y N Y 25/50/10 N Comparative
PA PA T N/A Y N * 25/50/25 N Comparative
F&U PA T N/A Y N N 25/50/10 N Mod. 51%
PA PA T N/A Y N Y 30/60/25 N Contributory
PA PA NF $2,500 or V Y Y Y 25/50/25 Y Mod. 50%
F&U F&U T N/A Y N Y 25/50/25 N Mod. 50%
F&U PA T N/A N N Y 25/50/25 N Mod. 51%
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Summary of State Laws Related to Auto Insurance

Rate Filing
Laws for (Prior | Form Filing Fault Compulsory
Approval, Use &| Laws (Prior System Tort UM (* =
File, File & Use, | Approval, Use| (Tort, No- |Threshold (C Insured can | Minimum | No Pay -
No File, Flex |& File, File & | Fault, Add- |= Choice, V =| Compulsory | Compulsory reject in Liability No Play Negligence
Rating) Use, No File) on) Verbal) Liability PIP writing) Limits Laws Systems
PA PA NF optional CorV Y Y Y 15/30/5 Y Mod. 51%
F&U PA T N/A Y N N 25/50/10 N Comparative
PA PA T N/A Y N * 15/30/10 N Mod. 51%
Flex PA NF \% Y Y Y 25/50/10 N Comparative
F&U F&U T N/A Y N N 25/50/25 N Mod. 51%
U&F PA,U&F T N/A Y N * 25/50/25 Y Mod. 50%
F&U PA T N/A Y Y Y 25/50/20 Y Mod. 51%
PA PA NF optional C Y N N 15/30/5 N Mod. 51%
PA PA T Y 4 PD
Modified PA T N/A Y N * 25/50/25 N Comparative
F&U/Flex
Flex PA T N/A Y N Y 25/50/25 N Mod. 51%
F&U PA AO N/A Y N Y 25/50/25 N Comparative
PA/Flex PA T N/A N N * 25/50/15 N Mod. 50%
F&U PA NF optional N/A Y Y * 30/60/25 N Mod. 51%
U&F F&U NF $3,000 Y Y * 25/65/15 N Mod. 50%
F&U PA T N/A N N Y 25/50/20 N Contributory
No File PA T Y Y Y 10/20/10
U&F PA T N/A Y N Y 25/50/10 N Mod. 51%
PA PA AO N/A Y Y N 25/50/10 N Comparative
U&F F&U AO N/A Y N Y 25/50/10 N Mod. 51%
PA PA T N/A Y N Y 20/40/10 N Mod. 50%
No File PA T N/A Y N N 25/50/20 N Mod. 51%

Contributory = Pure Contributory Negligence

Comparative = Pure Comparative Negligence

Mod. 50% = Modified Comparative Negligence -- 50% Rule

Mod. 51% = Modified Comparative Negligence -- 51% Rule




Citations for State Laws Related to Auto Insurance

NO FAULT COMPULSORY | MINIMUM |NO PAY
RATE | FORM OR TORT COMPULSORY [COMPULSORY| UNINSURED |LIABILITY| NO
FILING | FILING | VARIATION | THRESHOLD LIABILITY PIP MOTORISTS LIMITS PLAY |NEGLIGENCE
§21.39.210{§§21.42.1 N/A N/A §28.22.011 N/A AS § §09.65.3
,21.39.220[ 20, 28.20.440(b)(3), {28.22.101(d) 20 §09.17.060;09.1
21.42.123 AS 28.22.101(e), 7.080
, AS AS 21.96.020(c)
21.41.125
Ins. Reg. | §27-14-8 N/A N/A § 32-7A-4 N/A N/A § 32-7- N/A | Alabama Power
123 6(c)(4) Co. v. Schotz,
215 So0.2d 447
(Ala. 1968).
§23-67- | §23-79- |§ 23-89-202 to| § 23-89-207 § 27-22-104  |§ 23-89-202 to 23{ Ark. Code Ann. 234 § 27-22-104 | N/A §16-64-122,
211 109 23-89-216 89-216 89-403
§20-385 | §20-398 N/A N/A § 28-4135 N/A N/A § 28-4009(2)| N/A §12-2505
Inss |§1861.01 N/A N/A Vehicle Code § N/A N/A Vehicle Code| Ins § Liv v. Yellow
1861.05; c 16020 § 16451 11580.2 | Cab, 119 Cal.
1851 Rptr. 858
(1975).
§10-4-401;] N/A N/A N/A § 10-4-619 N/A N/A § 10-4-620 N/A §13-21-111
10-4-
403(5);
Ins. Reg. 5-
1-10; 5-1-
11
§38a-688,| §38a- N/A N/A § 14-112, 38a-371 N/A §38a-334, 368-371(§ 14-112,38af N/A §52-5720
368-389 676¢ 371
§31-2704 | §31- § 31-2404 § 31-2404 § 31-2403 N/A § 31-2406 § 31-2406 N/A Wingfield v.
2502.27 People's Drug
Store, 379 A.2d
685 (D.C.
1994).
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Citations for State Laws Related to Auto Insurance

NO FAULT COMPULSORY | MINIMUM [NO PAY
RATE FORM OR TORT COMPULSORY [COMPULSORY| UNINSURED |LIABILITY NO
FILING | FILING | VARIATION | THRESHOLD| LIABILITY PIP MOTORISTS LIMITS PLAY |NEGLIGENCE
18 §§ 2502118 §2712| Tit. 21 § 2118 N/A Tit. 21 § 2118 Tit. 21 § 2118 N/A Tit. 21 § N/A 10 § 8132
to 2506 . 2118
§627.065118§627.410| §627.736 § 627.737 § 324.022 § 627.736 N/A § 324.022 N/A §768.81
§33-9-21 | §33-24-9 N/A N/A § 33-34-4 N/A § 33-7-11 § 33-344 N/A §51-11-7
§431:14- Haw. |§431:10C-306| §431:10C-306 | §431:10C-104; §431:10C-104, N/A 431:10C-301 N/A §663-31
104 Rev. Stat. §431:10C-301 §431:10C-301;
§§ §431:10C-304;
431:10C- §431:10C-306
201 to
216
§§515F.20(§ 515.102 N/A N/A §321.20B N/A §516A.1 § 321A.1; §613.2 §668.3
to S15F.25 321A.21
Bulletin 911 §41-1812 N/A N/A § 49-1229 N/A N/A § 49-117 N/A §6-801
]
Reg. tit. 50|Ch. 215 § N/A N/A 625 ILCS 5/7-601 N/A 215 [LCS 5/143a |625ILCS 5/7{ N/A 735 ILCS 5/2-
§§754.10{ 5/143 203 1116
to 754.40
§27-1-22-41§27-1-22- N/A N/A §9-18-2-11; § 27- N/A § 27-7-5-2 § 9-25-4-5 N/A §34-51-2-6
4 1-13-7
§40-955 | §40-216 | § 40-3103, et. §40-3117 § 40-3104 § 40-3107 § 40-3107,40-284| §40-3107 |§40-3130 §60-258a
al.
§304.13- | §304.14- | § 304.39-030; | § 304.39-060 § 304.39-110 N/A N/A § 304.39-110] N/A §411.182
051, 120 304.39-040;
§304.13- 304.39-060
021
§22:1451 R.S. N/A N/A § 32:861 N/A §22.1295 § 32:900 §32:866 | C.C. Art. 2323
22:861

Page 4 of 10




Citations for State Laws Related to Auto Insurance

NO FAULT COMPULSORY | MINIMUM |NO PAY
RATE | FORM OR TORT COMPULSORY [COMPULSORY| UNINSURED |LIABILITY| NO
FILING | FILING | VARIATION | THRESHOLD LIABILITY PIP MOTORISTS LIMITS PLAY [NEGLIGENCE
17SE §§ 5| 175 § 2B 90§ 1A 231§ 6D 90§ 1A 90 § 34M 175 MGLA 113L | 90 § 34A N/A §231:85
to 7
Ins. § 11- | Ins. §11- § 19-505 N/A Trans. § 17-103 | Trans. § 17-103 | Insurance §19-509| 15 Trans, § N/A  |Board of County)|
306 206 through 19- and Ins. § 19-505| through 19-511 17-103 Comm'r of
through 115 508 and 19-506 Garrett County v
319 Bell Atlantic,
695 A.2d 171
(Md. 1997).
24-As | 24-A'§ N/A N/A tit. 29-A § 1601 N/A 24 AMRSA 2902 | tit. 29-A § N/A 14 § 156
2302:2304f 2412 1605
A
§500.2108]§500.223  §500.3101,et. | §500.3135 § 257.520 §500.3101, et. N/A § 257.520 |§257.110( §600.2959
6 seq. seq. 5
§60A.315 | §70A.06 § 65B.48 § 65B.51 § 65B.48 § 65B.41-71 §65B.48 § 65B.44 N/A §604.01
§379.321 | §375.92 N/A N/A § 303.025 N/A §379.203 §303.190 N/A Gustafson v.
Benda, 661
S.w.2d 11 (Mo.
1983).
§83-2-7 | §83-2-7 N/A N/A § 63-15-4 N/A §83-11-101 § 63-15-4 N/A §11-7-15
§33-16- | §33-1- N/A N/A § 61-6-301 N/A N/A § 61-6-103 N/A §27-1-702
203 501; 33-4;
509
§58-36-70| §58-36- N/A N/A §§ 20-309: 20-314 N/A §20-279.21 § 20-279.1 N/A §99B-4
55; §58-
38-30
§26.1-25- 1§26.1-30-| §26.1-41-02 | §26.1-41-01 | §§26.1-40-15.2; §26.1-41-02 §26.1-40-15.2 |§26.1-40-01,] N/A §32-03.2-02.1
04 19 to 26.1-41-01; 39-08; 39-16.1-02
2020 20; 39-16.1-01
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Citations for State Laws Related to Auto Insurance

4509.45; 4509.46

NO FAULT COMPULSORY | MINIMUM [NO PAY
RATE | FORM OR TORT COMPULSORY |[COMPULSORY| UNINSURED |LIABILITY NO

FILING | FILING | VARIATION | THRESHOLD| LIABILITY PIP MOTORISTS LIMITS PLAY |NEGLIGENCE
§§44-7501|Neb. Rev. N/A N/A § 60-3,167 N/A §44-6408 Neb. Rev. N/A §25-21,18
to 44-7535| Stat. § 44+ Stat. § 60-

7501, et 310
seq.

§412:16 | §412:51 N/A N/A §264:2 N/A §264:15 § 264:20 N/A §507:7
§17:29A- | §17:29A | §§ 17.28-1.1; § 39:6A-8 § 39:6A-14 § 39:6A-4 §39:6A-14 § 39:6A-3.1 | §39:6A-| §2A:15-5.1
46.6; Reg. A-6 39:6A-8; t0 39:6A-4; § 4.5
11:3-16.6 39:6A-8.1 § 17:28-1.1

to 11:3-

16.16;
Reg. 11:3-
16B.1 to
11:3-16B.6
§S59A-17-| §59A-18- N/A N/A §§ 66-5-203; 66-5 N/A N/A § 66-5-208 N/A Scott v. Rizzo,
9; 59A-17- 12 205.1 634 P.2d 1234
13 (N.M. 1981).
§§ NRS N/A N/A §485.185 N/A NRS 687B.145 §485.185 N/A §41-141.
686B.070 |686B.070
to ; NRS
686B.110 |686B.030
Ins. Law § | Ins. Law { §§ 5102; 5103 § 5102(d); |Veh. & Traf. Law,| §§5102;5103 Insurance 3420 | §§ 345; 34201 N/A |Ins.Law § 1411
2305 § 2307 §5104 Sections 311 and
312
§3937.03 | §3937.03 N/A N/A §§ 4509.44; N/A N/A § 4509.51 N/A | Ohio Rev. Code

Ann. § 2315.32 1
2315.36.
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Citations for State Laws Related to Auto Insurance

NO FAULT COMPULSORY | MINIMUM |NO PAY
RATE | FORM OR TORT COMPULSORY |COMPULSORY| UNINSURED |LIABILITY NO
FILING | FILING | VARIATION | THRESHOLD{ LIABILITY PIP MOTORISTS LIMITS PLAY |NEGLIGENCE
titl. 36 § |36 §3610 N/A N/A tit. 47 § 7-601 N/A 36 Okla. St. Ann. | tit.47§7- | 47 §7- 23§13
987 3636 324 116
§737.205 | §742.003 N/A N/A § 806.010 § 806.010 §278.215 § 806.070 | §31.715 §31.600
§ 806.080
75P.S.§§| 40PS |Tit. 75§ 1705] Tit. 75§ 1705 | Tit. 75 § 1786 N/A N/A Tit. 75 § N/A §42-7102
2003 to 477b 1702
2009
tit. 26 tit. 26 tit. 26 § 8053 tit. 26
§1205 §1111 §8052(k)
§§27-44-6;(§27-9-6.1 N/A N/A §31-31-7 N/A §27-7-2.1 §§ 31-32-24;f N/A §9-20-4
27-6-8 to 31-47-2
27-6-11;
27-9-7 to
27-9-10
§§38-73- | §38-73- N/A N/A § 38-77-140 N/A §38-77-150 § 38-77-140 N/A Nelson v.
340; 38-73{ 1060 Concrete
915; 38-734 Supply, 399
960; 38-734 S.E.2d 783 (S.C.
520 1991).
§§58-24-1| §58-11- §58-23-8 N/A § 32-35-113 N/A §58-11-9 § 32-35-70 N/A §20-9-2
to 58-24- |12; 58-114
67 16; 58-11-
17
§56-5-305| §56-5- N/A N/A § 55-12-102 N/A §56-7-1201 § 55-12-102 N/A Mclintyre v.
305 Balentine, 833
S.w.2d 52
(Tenn. 1992).
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Citations for State Laws Related to Auto Insurance

NO FAULT COMPULSORY | MINIMUM |NO PAY
RATE FORM OR TORT COMPULSORY |COMPULSORY{ UNINSURED |LIABILITY| NO
FILING | FILING | VARIATION | THRESHOLD| LIABILITY PIP MOTORISTS LIMITS PLAY |[NEGLIGENCE
Texas Texas Texas N/A Texas Texas Insurance | Texas Insurance Texas N/A Texas Civil
Insurance |Insurance| Insurance Transportation Code, Chapter Code, Chapter | Transportatio Practice and
Code, Code, Code, Code, §601.051 | 1952, Subchapter| 1952, Subchapter n Code, Remedies Code,
§§2251.00| Chapter | §1952.151 D C §601.072 §§33.001-
| and 2301 33.017
2251.101
§31A-19a-1§31A-21-] § 31A-22-302 | § 31A-22-309 §41-12A-301 §31A-22-307 - §31A-22-305 § 31A-22- N/A |78B-5-817; 78B
201-§31A-] 201 to 307 309 304 5-818
19a-207
§§ 38.2- | §§38.2- N/A N/A N/A N/A § 38.2-2206 46.2-472 N/A | Common law of
1904, 38.2{ 2218 Virginia
1906, 38.2{ through
2003, 38.2{ 38.2-
2005, 38.24 2223,
2006 38.2-317
22 V.I.C. Tit. 20 § 701 Tit. 20 § 703
810
tit. 8 § T.8§ N/A N/A Tit. 23 § 800 N/A 23 V.S.A. 941 | Tit.23 §800| N/A T. 12 § 1036
4688 3541
§48.19.060|§48.18.10] § 48.22.085 N/A § 46.30.020 § 48.22.095 N/A § 46.29.090 N/A §4.22.005-015
0
§625.13 | §631.20 §632.32 N/A §§ 344.01; 344.29 N/A §632.32 §§ 344.01; N/A §895.045
34433
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Citations for State Laws Related to Auto Insurance

NO FAULT COMPULSORY | MINIMUM |NO PAY
RATE | FORM OR TORT COMPULSORY |COMPULSORY| UNINSURED |LIABILITY| NO
1) FILING | FILING | VARIATION | THRESHOLD| LIABILITY PIP MOTORISTS LIMITS PLAY [NEGLIGENCE
wv §33-20-4; | §33-6-8 N/A N/A §§ 17D-2A-3; N/A §33-6-31 § 17D-4-2 N/A Bradley v.
W. Va. 17D-4-2 Appalachian
Code R. § Power Co., 256
114-75-3 S.E.2d 879 (W.
Va. 1979).
wYy §26-14- | §26-15- N/A N/A §31-4-103 N/A N/A § 31-9-405 N/A §1-1-109
107 110
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Additional Comments Provided by the States

Rate Filing Laws

In 2008, the legislature changed the rate filing law, OCGA 33-9-21 to provide that rate filings for minimum
required liability limits be filed on a prior approval basis. All other liability limits and other coverages are filed on

Georgia a file and use basis and can be implemented when received by the Department.
Rhode Island Modified File and Use as state can extend deemer dates for reviews. State allows flex rating if +/- 5%.
Fault System
KY has No Fault for Bl only, not for PD. While each individual can reject the limitations on their tort rights, unless
Kentucky they have properly done so, they are deemed to have accepted the limitations.

Compulsory PIP

Kentucky

PIP is a compulsory coverage, it must be provided on every policy even if all insureds have rejected. There must
be coverage for guest passsengers and pedestrians struck by the insured vehicle.

Compulsory UM

In 2008, the legislature amended the UM law, OCGA 33-7-11 to provide two forms of UM coverage. Unless
rejected by the insured, the default coverage provides the UM Limits added to the liability limits of the "at fault"

Georgia party. The optional selection provides for the UM Limits reduced by the liability limits of the "at fault" party.
Kentucky writing.
An insurer transacting motor vehicle insurance in NV must offer, on a form approved by the Commissioner,
UM/UIM coverage to the insured in an amount equal to the limits of coverage selected by the insured for bodily
injury liability under the policy. The insured can reject that coverage, but a written signature of the insured must
Nevada be obtained if the insured selects less coverage than is required to be offered or if the coverage is rejected.

Virginia

Limits of at least $25,000/$50,000/520,000 required on motor vehicle liability policies.






