MN Assessor License Requirements

APPENDIX D

CERTIFIED
MINNESOTA ASSESSOR

CERTIFIED SPECIALIST
MINNESOTA ASSESSOR

ACCREDITED
MINNESOTA ASSESSOR

SENIOR ACCREDITED
MINNESOTA ASSESSOR

One Year Experience

Assessment Laws &
Procedures (A)

Appraisal Principles (B)
Appraisal Procedures (B)

Mass Appraisal Basics

Two Years Experience

Assessment Laws &
Procedures (A)

Appraisal Principles (B)
Appraisal Procedures (B)

Mass Appraisal Basics
Income Approach Course (1)
income Approach Course (2)

Residential Form Report

Three Years Experience

Assessment Laws &
Procedures (A)

Appraisal Principles (B)
Appraisal Procedures ( B)

Mass Appraisal Basics
Income Approach Course (1)

Income Approach Course (2)

Assessment Administration
Course

Elective Course
15-Hour USPAP Course

Demonstration Narrative
Appraisal

OR

Residential Form Report
AND

Residential Case Study Exam
OR

SRA or MAIl or RES or CAE

Five Years Experience

Assessment Laws &
Procedures (A)

Appraisal Principles (B)
Appraisal Procedures { B)

Mass Appraisal Basics
Income Approach Course (1)

Income Approach Course (2)

Assessment Administration
Course

Elective Course
15-Hour USPAP Course

Demonstration Narrative
Appraisal

OR

Residential Form Report
AND

Residential Case Study Exam
OR

SRA or MAI or RES or CAE

Demonstration Narrative
Appraisal
OR
Income Case Study Exam
OR
MAI or CAE or AAS
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North Dakota Appraiser Education Requirements

(Refer to North Dakota Appralser Rules and Regulations, Title 101, for complete detalls)

CLASSIFICATION

EDUCATION HOURS

APPRENTICE APPRAISER
(See Apprentice Course
Tracking Form-Schedule I}

75 hours Board Approved Education
{Covering required core cumiculum)

LICENSED APPRAISER
(See Licensed Course

150 hours Board Approved Education
(Covering required core curriculum)

Tracking Form-Schedule 11)

Associates Degree, or Equivalent, plus
200 hours Board Approved Education
(Covering required core curriculum)

CERTIFIED RESIDENTIAL
APPRAISER
(See Certified Res. Course
Tracking Form- Schedule IH)

Bachelors Degree, or Equivalent, plus
300 hours Board Approved Education
(Covering required core curriculum)

CERTIFIED GENERAL
APPRAISER
(See Certified Gen. Course
Tracking Form-Schedule IV)

Please Note: Credit for the class hours may only be granted when the length of the course Is at least 15 hours
and the Individual successtully completes an examination pertinent to that educational offering.
Refer to the ND Appralser Rules and Regulations (Title 101) for complete detalls.

Apprentice Appraiser Classification Required Education:
An applicant for the apprentice level must have successfully completed 75 hours of Board approved real estate appraisal

qualifying education covering the required core curriculum as established by the Appraisal Qualifications Board of The
Appraisal Foundation. Coverage must include a minimum of the following:

» 30 hours of basic appraisal principles.
» 30 hours of basic appraisal procedures,
» 15-Hour National Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice Course, or its equivalent.

Licensed Appraiser Classification Required Education:
An applicant for licensure must have successfully completed 150 hours of Board approved real estate appraisal qualifying

education covering the required core curriculum as established by the Appraisal Qualifications Board of The Appraisal
Foundation. Coverage must include a minimum of the following:

30 hours of basic appraisal principles.

30 hours of basic appraisal procedures.

15-Hour National Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice Course, or its equivalent.
15 hours of residential market analysis and highest and best use.

15 hours of residential appraiser site valuation and cost approach.

30 hours of residential sales comparison and income approaches.

15 hours of residential report writing and case studies.
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Certified Residential Appraiser Classification Required Education:
An applicant for certified residential must hold an Associate Degree or higher; in lieu of the Associate Degree, a minimum

of 21 semester credit hours covering the following specific collegiate level subject matter courses from an accredited
college, junior college, community college or university: English Composition; Principles of Economics (Micro-or Macro);
Finance; Algebra, Geometry or higher mathematics; Statistics; Introduction to Computers-Word Processing/Spreadsheets;

and Business or Real Estate Law.

In addition to the college-level course requirement, an applicant for certified residential must have successfully completed

200 hours of Board approved real estate appraisal qualifying education covering the required core curriculum as
established by the Appraisal Qualifications Board of The Appraisal Foundation. Coverage must include a minimum, as

indicated on the foliowing page:

30 hours of basic appraisal principles.

30 hours of basic appraisal procedures.
15-Hour National Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice Course, or its equivalent.

15 hours of residential market analysis and highest and best use.
15 hours of residential appraiser site valuation and cost approach.
30 hours of residential sales comparison and income approaches
15 hours of residential report writing and case studies.

15 hours of statistics, modeling, and finance.

15 hours of advanced residential applications and case studies.
20 hours of appraisal subject matter electives.
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Certified General Appraiser Classification Required Education:

An applicant for certified residential must hold a Bachelors or higher; in lieu of the Bachelors Degree, a minimum of 30
semester credit hours covering the following specific collegiate level subject matter courses from an accredited college,
junior college, community college or university: English Composition; Micro Economics; Macro Economics; Finance;
Algebra, Geometry or higher mathematics; Statistics; Introduction to Computers-Word Processing/Spreadsheets;
Business or Real Estate Law; and two (2) elective courses in accounting, geography, ageconomics; business

management or real estate.

In addition to the college-level course requirement, an applicant for certified general must have successfully completed

300 hours of Board approved real estate qualifying appraisal education covering the required core curriculum, as
established by the Appraisal Qualifications Board of The Appraisal Foundation. Coverage must include a minimum of the

following:

30 hours of basic appraisal principles.

30 hours of basic appraisal procedures.

15-Hour National Uniformn Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice Course, or its equivalent.
15 hours of statistics, modeling and finance.

30 hours of general appraiser market analysas and highest and best use.

30 hours of general appraiser sales comparison approach.

30 hours general appraiser site valuation and cost approach.

80 hours of general appraiser income approach.

30 hours of general appraiser report writing and case studies.

30 hours of appraisal subject matter electives.
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SOUTH DAKOTA
Certified Assessor Appraiser (CAA)Certification Process

Alf personnel appraising property for taxation purposes in South Dakota must be
certified by the South Dakota Department of Revenue and Regulation. To obtain the
CAA {Certified Appraiser, Assessor) designation all persons in the program must
complete the following within a year of entering the program (receiving a temporary

permit).

Complete successfully the following courses:

- 1AAQ Site Evaluation

- 1AAQ Market Eveiuation

- 1AAQD Cost Approach to Value

< IAAQ Income Approach to Value

- 1AAO Mass Appraisal

- South Dakota Department of Revenue Basics Course

In addition, each candidate for certification must:
- Take and pass with a score of at least 80% the CAA test.
< Work for one year in an assessor’s office,

64:02:01:03 Temporary Certificate - Term - Renewal. Any person assessing or
appraising property in this state for property tax purposes must hold a permanent
certificate or a temporary certificate, issued by the department.

During the first year, a temporary certificate holder must attend and pass the annual
assessors’ school, successfully complete the five required courses, and take and pass

the certification examination.
Renewal Requirements

64:02:03:16 Course Reguirements for Renewal Certificates. Applicants for renewal
certificates must successfully complete within each S-year renewal period following:

1} Attend three {3} annual assessor schools and receive a passing grade on the final
exam. One school must be a 30 hour course from the 1AAQ educational curriculum.

2} Attend three SDAAO, NCRAAO or IAAO conferences.
3} Attend three {(3) Department of Revenue {DOR} or DOR approved workshops. Any

DOR approved workshop must be approved by the secretary for credit prior to the

workshop.



4} Attend two 7-hour USPAP ciasses. During the applicant’s first recertification period,
one of these courses must be a tested 15-hour USPAP couwrse. The applicant must

receive a passing grade in the tested course.
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