
'"" North Dakota Appraiser Education Requirements 
(Refer to North Dakota Appraiser Rules and Regulations, Title 101, for complete details) 

CLASSIFICATION EDUCATION HOURS 

APPRENTICE APPRAISER 75 hours Board Approved Education 
(See Apprentice Course (Covering required core curriculum) 

Tracking Fonn-Schedule I) 

LICENSED APPRAISER 150 hours Board Approved Education 
(See Licensed Course (Covering required core curriculum) 

Tracking Fonn-Schedule II) 

CERTIFIED RESIDENTIAL Associates Degree, or Equivalent , plus 
APPRAISER 200 hours Board Approved Education 

(See Certified Res. Course (Covering required core curriculum) 
Tracking Fonn- Schedule Ill) 

CERTIFIED GENERAL Bachelors Degree, or Equivalent , plus 
APPRAISER 300 hours Board Approved Education 

(See Certified Gen. Course (Covering required core curriculum) 
Tracking Fonn-Schedule IV) 

Please Note: Credit for the class hours may only be granted when the length of the course Is at least 15 hours 
and the Individual successfully completes an examination pertinent to that educational offering. 
Refer to the ND Appraiser Rules and Regulations (Title 101) for complete details. 

Apprentice Appraiser Classification Required Education: 

APPENDIX D 

An applicant for the apprentice level must have successfully completed 75 hours of Board approved real estate appraisal 
qualifying education covering the required core curriculum as established by the Appraisal Qualifications Board of The 
Appraisal Foundation. Coverage must include a minimum of the following: 

~ 30 hours of basic appraisal principles. 
~ 30 hours of basic appraisal procedures. 
~ 15Hour National Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice Course, or its equivalent. 

Licensed Appraiser Classification Required Education: 
An applicant for licensure must have successfully completed 150 hours of Board approved real estate appraisal qualifying 
education covering the required core curriculum as established by the Appraisal Qualifications Board of The Appraisal 
Foundation. Coverage must include a minimum of the following : 

~ 30 hours of basic appraisal principles. 
~ 30 hours of basic appraisal procedures. 
~ 15-Hour National Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice Course, or its equivalent. 
~ 15 hours of residential market analysis and highest and best use. 
~ 15 hours of residential appraiser site valuation and cost approach. 
~ 30 hours of residential sales comparison and income approaches. 
~ 15 hours of residential report writing and case studies. 
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Certified Residential Appraiser Classification Required Education: 
An applicant for certified residential must hold an Associate Degree or higher; in lieu of the Associate Degree, a minimum 
of 21 semester credit hours covering the following specific collegiate level subject matter courses from an accredited 
college, junior college, community college or university: English Composition; Principles of Economics (Micro or Macro); 
Finance; Algebra, Geometry or higher mathematics; Statistics; Introduction to Computers-Word Processing/Spreadsheets; 
and Business or Real Estate Law. 

In addition to the college-level course requirement, an applicant for certified residential must have successfully completed 
200 hours of Board approved real estate appraisal qualifying education covering the required core curriculum as 
established by the Appraisal Qualifications Board of The Appraisal Foundation. Coverage must include a minimum, as 
indicated on the followi_ng page: 

}> 30 hours of basic appraisal principles. 
}> 30 hours of basic appraisal procedures. 
}> 15-Hour National Unifonn Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice Course, or its equivalent. 
}> 15 hours of residential mar1<et analysis and highest and best use. 
}> 15 hours of residential appraiser site valuation and cost approach. 
}> 30 hours of residential sales comparison and income approaches 
}> 15 hours of residential report writing and case studies. 
}> 15 hours of statistics, modeling, and finance. 
}> 15 hours of advanced residential applications and case studies. 
}> 20 hours of appraisal subject matter electives. 

Certified General Appraiser Classification Required Education: 
An applicant for certified residential must hold a Bachelors or higher; in lieu of the Bachelors Degree, a minimum of 30 
semester credit hours covering the following specific collegiate level subject matter courses from an accredited college, 
junior college, community college or university: English Composition; Micro Economics; Macro Economics; Finance; 
Algebra, Geometry or higher mathematics; Statistics; Introduction to Computers-Word Processing/Spreadsheets; 
Business or Real Estate Law; and two (2) elective courses in accounting, geography, ageconomics; business 
mana.gement or real estate. 

In addition to the college-level course requirement, an applicant for certified general must have successfully completed 
300 hours of Board approved real estate qual ify ing appraisal education covering the required core curriculum, as 
established by the Appraisal Qualifications Board of The Appraisal Foundation. Coverage must include a minimum of the 
following: 

}> 30 hours of basic appraisal principles. 
}> 30 hours of basic appraisal procedures. 
}> 15-Hour National Unifonn Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice Course, or its equivalent. 
}> 15 hours of statistics, modeling and finance. 
}> 30 hours of general appraiser market analysis and highest and best use. 
}> 30 hours of general appraiser sales comparison approach. 
}> 30 hours general appraiser site valuation and cost approach. 
}> 60 hours of general appraiser income approach. 
}> 30 hours of general appraiser report writing and case studies. 
~ 30 hours of appraisal subject matter electives. 
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SOUTH DAKOTA 

Certified Assessor Appraiser (CAA)Certification Process 

All personnel appraising property for taxation purposes in South Dakota must be 

certified by the South Dakota Department of Revenue and Regulation. To obtain the 

CAA (Certified Appraiser, Assessor} designation aU persons in the program must 
complete the following within a year of entering the program (receiving a temporary 

permit). 

Complete successfully the following courses: 

· IAAO Site Evaluation 
· IAAO Market Evaluation 
· IAAO Cost Approach to Value 

· IAAO Income Approach to Value 

· IAAO Mass Appraisal 
· South Dakota Department of Revenue Basics Course 

In addition, each candidate for certification must: 
· Take and pass with a score of at least 80% the CAA test. 
· Work for one year in an assessors office. 

64:02:01:03 Temporary Cert1Jicate- Term- Renewal. Any person assessing or 
appraising property in this state for property tax purposes must hold a permanent 

certificate or a temporary certificate, issued by the department. 

During the first year, a temporary certificate holder must attend and pass the annual 
assessors' school, successfully complete the five required courses, and take and pass 
the certification examination. 

Renewal Requirements 

64:02:03:16 Course Requirements for Renewal Certificates. Applicants for renewal 
certificates must successfully complete within each 5-year renewal period following: 

1) Attend three (3} annual assessor schools and receive a passing grade on the final 
exam. One school must be a 30 hour course from the IAAO educational curriculum. 

2) Attend three SDAAO, NCRAAO or iAAO conferences. 

3} Attend three (3) Department of Revenue (DOR) or DOR approved workshops. Any 
DOR approved workshop must be approved by the secretary for credit prior to the 
\<vorkshop. 



4) Attend two 7-hour USPAP dasses. During the applicant's first recertification period, 

one of these courses must be a tested 15-hour USPAP course. The applicant must 

receive a passing grade in the tested course. 
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MN Assessor License Requirements 

CERTIFIED CERTIFIED SPECIALIST ACCREDITED SENIOR ACCREDITED 
MINNESOTA ASSESSOR MINNESOTA ASSESSOR MINNESOTA ASSESSOR MINNESOTA ASSESSOR 
One Year Experience Two Years Experience Three Years Experience Five Years Experience 

Assessment Laws & Assessment Laws & Assessment Laws & Assessment Laws & 
Procedures (A) Procedures (A) Procedures (A) Procedures (A) 

Appraisal Principles (B) Appraisal Principles (B) Appraisal Principles (B) Appraisal Principles (B) 

Appraisal Procedures (B) Appraisal Procedures (B) Appraisal Procedures ( B) Appraisal Procedures (B) 

Mass Appraisal Basics Mass Appraisal Basics Mass Appraisal Basics Mass Appraisal Basics-

Income Approach Course (1) Income Approach Course (1) Income Approach Course (1) 

Income Approach Course (2) Income Approach Course (2) Income Approach Course (2) 

Residential Form Report --------------------------- --------------------------

Assessment Administration Assessment Administration 
Course Course 

Elective Course Elective Course 

15-Hour USPAP Course 15-Hour USPAP Course 

Demonstration Narrative Demonstration Narrative 
Appraisal Appraisal 

OR OR 
Residential Form Report Residential Form Report 

AND AND 
Residential Case Study Exam Residential Case Study Exam 

OR OR 
SRA or MAl or RES or CAE SRA or MAl or RES or CAE 

Demonstration Narrative 
Appraisal 

OR 
Income Case Study Exam 

OR 
MAl or CAE or AAS 

s:\certif\assessor certification requirements-MN.docx 


