APPENDIX F

Presentation by Vicki Michels, a Representative of the North Dakota Board of Addiction
Counselors to the Human Services Committee

June 19, 2014
West Conference Center, Nutrition Services Building
Life Skills and Transition Center
701 West Sixth Street
Grafton, North Dakota

Chairman Damschen and committee members,

| am Vicki Michels, a member of the NDBACE and immediate past president. Background: director of
Minot State University Addiction Studies Program, President of the International Coalition for Addiction
Studies Education, a commissioner of National Addiction Studies Accreditation Commission, Chair of the
Northwest Training Consortium Board and a psychologist.

The NDBACE, as you and many are across the state and nation, is concerned about the shortage of
addiction counselors. NDBACE has the difficult job of creating a process which does not put undue
roadblocks to people entering the field and yet makes sure clients and the public are protected.

Clients who come to addiction treatment have complicated problems.

1. The majority will have at least one co-occurring disorder, abuse multiple substances, many
have trauma in their background, health complications, and troubled family lives.

2. LACs are required

a. to be able to diagnose accurately (takes time and exposure to many cases; protect

public) substance use disorders

assess for withdrawal symptoms of multiple drugs

recognize the symptoms of intoxication for multiple drugs

be able to screen for co-occurring disorders

make appropriate referrals

provide accurate information about addiction to the patient and families

create a treatment plan

provide individual and group counseling

assess for suicide and homicide risk

accurately document treatment

k. understand the justice system because LACs are involved in commitment
procedures and testifying.

I.  They need to understand complicated federal and state laws governing
confidentiality and child and vulnerable adult reporting laws.
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My point is that what LACs are licensed to do in the state of North Dakota requires a wide range of
knowledge and skills which take time to develop and need guidance to develop. Just as we would not
want a physician to treat us who was not thoroughly trained, we do not want addiction providers who
are insufficiently prepared. People who are in addiction treatment are suffering and their families are
suffering. At the same time, we strive to ensure our requirements are no higher than necessary to
ensure our licensees provide competent care.
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The basic requirements to become an LAC in ND are for the individual to:

1. Earn a bachelor degree in addiction studies or a closely related field and 32 credits of specific
course content related to addiction counseling.

2. Complete 1400 hours of a supervised training experience

3. Pass the national licensing exam.

The vast majority of other states require far more hours of supervised experience for those who will
practice at the level we are licensing addiction counselors in North Dakota. In 2009, | reviewed all of the
country’s state licensing laws.
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85% of the 49 states had over 2000 hours of supervised experience required to get certified
or licensed (at the level of expertise given in ND).

2. 78% of those 49 states required 4000 or more well above the 1400 hours required in ND.

3. Only 2 states require less than 1000 hours

4. 5 states require 1000 hour

5. the remaining 42 states require 2000-6000 hours.

The confusion about North Dakota hours may arise from a use of certain terminology related to the
hours necessary to be licensed. North Dakota requires 1400 hours, which we refer to as “training
hours.” Within these 1400 “training hours” we require that the prospective licensee be supervised
during 250 of those hours. Many other states require around 300 hours of training hours—which sounds
substantially less than the 1400 hours we require—but then in addition to those training hours, the
other states require an additional 2000-6000 hours of supervised work experience, making their
standards far higher than North Dakota’s requirements. .

The national trend is to increase standards not decrease the requirements.

We understand there has been concern about professionals from other states getting licensed in North
Dakota. Please understand addiction licensing and certification is not standardized across the nation and
varies greatly.

If a professional is moving from another state, they have two options to become licensed.

1. The first way to become licensed is the most common means of licensure—and it is referred
to as Initial Licensure. The person demonstrates that they have met ND academic
requirements, supervised experience, and have passed the required licensing exam.

2. The second option is a means by which individuals who are licensed in other states may
apply for licensure through reciprocity A licensure through reciprocity can be granted if the
other state’s laws are substantially the same as North Dakota law. Many applicants do not
fully understand this process and assume that during a reciprocity analysis we assess the
applicant’s education and experience, but we do not. We only analyze the similarity laws of
the two states. We endeavor to educate applicants on this requirement. In doing so, we
often encourage a person coming from a state where the laws are not substantially similar
to ours, but who individually seems likely to meet our Initial Licensures requirements—to
apply through that avenue. We do not charge them an additional fee if they apply for
licensure under both options.



We understand that persons licensed in other states and licensed in other professions gain valuable
experience during their years of practice, and as a result we calculate the hours of experience to
recognize this fact.

For example, to help people moving from the few states that require less supervised experience than
ND, we give 150 hours of credit toward supervised experience for every year the person has been
licensed/certified in the other state. This can make it easier for a person from another state to meet
our requirements and move to North Dakota for employment as an addiction counselor. If someone has
been licensed in Minnesota (which requires 880 hours) for 4 years (receiving ND credit of 150 hours X4
=600 hours), they will meet our supervised experience requirement. Because most states have more
supervised experience hours required, most licensees moving to North Dakota from the majority of
other states will meet our training requirement.

Similarly, to encourage mental health professionals such as psychologists to enter the field of
addiction counseling, we credit them 150 hours of for every year they have been licensed as a mental
health professional up to 900 hours. Because addiction is often neglected in mental health training, the
board and the members of the addiction field who helped craft the current rules decided 500 hours of
supervised experience is necessary to develop the mental health counselor’s skills at diagnosing and
treating addiction.

Considering the role of the addiction counselor is to treat patients with addiction and frequently dualk
diagnoses, | think comparing our licensing standards to other professions who work with similar cases is
also relevant. Our licensing requirements are not overly stringent considering a psychologist who will
share some of the cases with the addiction counselor must have

1 Ph.D.
2. 2000 hour internship
3. one year of post doctorate supervision

All mental health professionals who are licensed to provide treatment of mental illnesses must have at
least a master degree; addiction is a complicated mental illness.

| have rarely had a student balk at the number of training hours required for an addiction counselor;
never have | had a student tell me they believed the 1400 hours was too long. | have had students who
were returning to Canada where there are no requirements for supervised experiences, ask if they could
do their training here before returning home because they want to be well prepared. Rather than
feeling as if the 1400 hours is too long, students report feeling nervous about starting to practice after
such a short time. People who enter professions such as addiction counseling want to provide the best
treatment possible for their clients and therefore want to be well prepared.

A provider who is underprepared can harm clients by wrongly diagnosing, missing important
information, not making appropriate referrals, and providing substandard treatment. Clients and
families can become mistrustful of the field as a whole which becomes a barrier for people seeking
treatment. Professionals who are underprepared are more likely to burn out and those well prepared



who are working with underprepared professionals may also have increased work load because they
may need to take all of the more complicated cases, provide extra supervision to the under prepared
clinician, and correct work that is not done adequately. Now the problem is compounded because the
competent professional is also more likely to burn out.

Unfortunately, the nation is experiencing a shortage of addiction counselors even the states with lesser
requirements than North Dakota. Many factors contribute to the problem. Stigma, poor pay, stressful
work conditions, stressful cases, high burn out rate, and significant paper work all contribute.

In conclusion, | am of the opinion that an appropriate way to address these concerns is to continue
engaging in conversations with stakeholders in an effort to identify practical means for improving
recruitment results. Some ideas are to:

Increase incentive to clinical supervisors to train.

Provide a stipend to trainees going through training programs
Offer student loan repayment

Increase wages

Improve work conditions
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| think that it is not in the best interest of the state or its citizens to lessen the standards required for
licensure as an addiction counselor in North Dakota. These standards have served the state well and are
comparable and even less stringent than the requirements of most other states.



2009 State Standards Equivalent to North

Dakota Licensure

States requiring 6000 hours

Delaware
Florida
Georgia
Indiana
Kentucky
Maryland
Massachusetts
Mississippi
New Hampshire
Tennessee
Texas

Virginia

States requiring 3000 hours
New Jersey
Wyoming

States requiring 2000 hours

Alabama
Alaska
Louisiana
New Mexico
Oklahoma
South Dakota
Washington

States requiring 1000 or less

Colorado
lowa
Kansas
Minnesota
Missouri
Montana
Oregon

States requiring 4000 hours

Arizona
Arkansas
California
Connecticut
Hawaii

Idaho

Illinois
Maine
Michigan
Nebraska
Nevada

New York
North Carolina
Ohio
Pennsylvania
Rhode Island
South Carolina
Utah
Vermont
West Virginia
Wisconsin





