NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

HIGHER EDUCATION FUNDING COMMITTEE

Tuesday, August 6, 2013 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m.	Call to order Roll call Review of the Supplementary Rules of Operation and Procedure of the North Dakota Legislative Management
9:05 a.m.	Comments by the Chairman
9:10 a.m.	HIGHER EDUCATION STUDY Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum regarding the committee's assigned studies of higher education funding, intellectual property policies and procedures at research institutions, and the use of open textbooks as directed by Section 39 of Senate Bill No. 2018, Section 3 of Senate Bill No. 2200, and House Concurrent Resolution No. 3009
9:15 a.m.	Presentation by Dr. David Longanecker, President, Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education, Boulder, Colorado, and committee discussion regarding:
	 An overview of higher education issues and trends
	An overview of higher education funding, including the use of performance funding
12:00 noon	Luncheon recess
1:00 p.m.	OTHER BUSINESS Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum regarding other responsibilities of the committee
1:10 p.m.	Comments by a representative of the North Dakota University System of an update on the status of various University System issues
1:35 p.m.	Presentation by a representative of the University System of the December 2012 performance and accountability report required by North Dakota Century Code Section 15-10-14.2
2:05 p.m.	Comments by interested persons regarding the committee's studies and other responsibilities
2:15 p.m.	Committee discussion regarding activities of the committee and staff directives
2:45 p.m.	Adjourn

Committee Members

Representatives Mark Sanford (Chairman), Thomas Beadle, Lois Delmore, Mark A. Dosch, Eliot Glassheim, Kathy Hawken, Joe Heilman, Dennis Johnson, Andrew G. Maragos, Bob Martinson, Kylie Oversen, Robert J. Skarphol, Clark Williams

Senators Tim Flakoll, Tony Grindberg, Ray Holmberg, Karen K. Krebsbach, Carolyn C. Nelson, Larry J. Robinson

Staff Contact: Brady A. Larson, Assistant Legislative Budget Analyst and Auditor