## **MEETING NOTICE**

Representative Jeff Delzer, Chairman, has called a meeting of the **HUMAN SERVICES COMMITTEE**.

Date: Tuesday, April 1, 2008

Time: 9:00 a.m.

Place: Roughrider Room, State Capitol, Bismarck

Agenda: Presentations by representatives of the Department of Human Services regarding an annual report on the alternatives-to-abortion program, information on the "swap" agreement, information on the temporary assistance for needy families (TANF) program, including components of the program, program statistics, eligibility requirements, the projected June 30, 2009, carryover balance of funds, and the estimated costs of providing additional postsecondary education opportunities for clients; by representatives of the North Dakota Association of Counties regarding the "swap" agreement and eligibility issues or concerns regarding economic assistance programs; by representatives of the State Department of Health regarding the status of the immunization program transition and information on public health units providing immunizations; by representatives of Blue Cross Blue Shield of North Dakota regarding the immunization program transition; by representatives of the Drug Utilization Review Board regarding a semiannual report on the utilization, costs, and effectiveness of certain drugs; by representatives of the Insurance Department regarding the Insurance Commissioner's recommendation for a private entity to contract with to perform cost-benefit analyses of health insurance mandates during the 2009 legislative session; and by representatives of Job Service North Dakota regarding training and educational needs of TANF clients and types of jobs in the state that are in demand; and other presentations, including a presentation by the Legislative Council staff of selected other states' TANF-related programs

Special Note: Anyone who plans to attend the meeting and needs assistance because of a disability should contact the Legislative Council staff as soon as possible.

Committee Members: Representatives Jeff Delzer, Patrick R. Hatlestad, Curt Hofstad, Lee Kaldor, James Kerzman, Gary Kreidt, Jon Nelson, Vonnie Pietsch, Chet Pollert, Clara Sue Price, Ken Svedjan, Robin Weisz; Senators JoNell A. Bakke, Dick Dever, Robert S. Erbele, Aaron Krauter, Judy Lee, Jim Pomeroy, John M. Warner

Staff Contacts: Brady A. Larson, Fiscal Analyst

Allen H. Knudson, Legislative Budget Analyst and Auditor

Any member who is unable to attend this meeting is asked to please notify this office as soon as possible.

Sincerely,

Jim W. Smith Director

JWS/AL