September 18, 2008

## MEETING NOTICE

Representative Ken Svedjan, Chairman, has called a meeting of the **HIGHER EDUCATION COMMITTEE**, including the **HIGHER EDUCATION ROUNDTABLE**.

Date, Higher Education Committee Roundtable Meeting

**Time, and** Wednesday, October 8, 2008, 8:30 a.m., West Heritage Room, Doublewood Inn, 1400 East **Place:** Interchange Avenue, Bismarck

Agenda: Discussion of higher education as it relates to workforce needs, accessibility, education attainment, and contribution to economic development

## Date, Continuation of Higher Education Committee Meeting

- **Time, and** Thursday and Friday, October 9-10, 2008, 8:30 a.m., Roughrider Room, State Capitol, **Place:** Bismarck
- **Agenda:** Presentations by a representative of the North Dakota University System regarding the higher education budget request formatted in the proposed finance model; by the Legislative Council staff regarding the process of selecting nominations for the State Board of Higher Education; higher education funding, including funds provided by tuition; and of bill drafts regarding higher education accountability measures; extension of authority for the University System's continuing special revenue fund appropriation, block grant budget request and appropriation format, and carryover of unspent general fund appropriations; to continue the higher education study during the 2009-10 interim; and continuation of the study of the provision of services to persons who are deaf or hearing-impaired during the 2009-10 interim; and other presentations, including a presentation by representatives of the Department of Public Instruction regarding the priority of options for the School for the Deaf
- **Special Note:** Anyone who plans to attend the meeting and needs assistance because of a disability should contact the Legislative Council staff as soon as possible.
- **Committee Members:** Representatives Ken Svedjan, Lois Delmore, Kathy Hawken, RaeAnn G. Kelsch, Matthew M. Klein, Bob Martinson, Jasper Schneider, Bob Skarphol, John D. Wall, Clark Williams; Senators Ray Holmberg, Karen K. Krebsbach, Elroy N. Lindaas, Dave Nething, Dave Oehlke, Tracy Potter, Larry J. Robinson

Higher Education Roundtable Members: Joseph A. Chapman, David Fuller, Robert Kelley, Richard McCallum, Franklin Michael, Deanette Piesik, Ken Quamme, John Richman, Shirley Wilson, William G. Goetz (ex officio), Greg Allen, David Farnsworth, Jennifer Feist, Bill Giese, Don Hedger, Dennis Hill, David Molmen, Don Morton, Mark Nisbet, Roger Reierson, Joe Rothschiller, Gene Veeder, Jason Zimmerman, Delore Zimmerman, Robert S. Badal, Jim Davis, Sue Andrews, Jon Backes, Haylee Cripe, Duaine Espegard, Michael Haugen, Jon Jackson, Pam Kostelecky, Grant Shaft, Richie Smith, Maren Daley, Dakota Draper, Shane C. Goettle, David Kemnitz, Wayne Kutzer, Ron Rauschenberger, Wayne Sanstead, David Sprynczynatyk, Paul Stremick, Senator Tony Grindberg

Staff Contacts: Brady A. Larson, Fiscal Analyst

Allen H. Knudson, Legislative Budget Analyst and Auditor

Any member unable to attend this meeting is asked to notify this office as soon as possible.

Sincerely,

Jim W. Smith Director

JWS/JFB