MEETING NOTICE

Representative Ken Svedjan, Chairman, has called a meeting of the **HIGHER EDUCATION COMMITTEE**.

Date: Tuesday and Wednesday, September 9-10, 2008

Time: 9:00 a.m., Tuesday, September 9, 2008

8:30 a.m., Wednesday, September 10, 2008

Place: Missouri Room, Student Union, Minot State University, 500 University Avenue West, Minot

Agenda: Presentations by representatives of the School for the Deaf regarding the unduplicated number of persons served, options for additional revenue-generating services and related costs, and the vision for the future of the school; presentation by representatives of the Department of Public Instruction regarding the feasibility of combining the administration of the School for the Deaf with local school districts, regional education associations, or North Dakota Vision Services - School for the Blind; presentations by the Legislative Council staff regarding the per student cost of educating deaf or hearing-impaired students in other states, funding provided to local school districts for educating deaf or hearing-impaired students in other states, and contracts between states for providing residential education services to deaf or hearing-impaired students; presentation by a representative of Minot State University's North Dakota Center for Persons with Disabilities regarding services provided by the program and the number of persons served; presentation by a representative of Souris Valley Special

regarding the higher education study, and a review of the Higher Education Roundtable and the mechanism for continuing the efforts of the roundtable

Special Note: Anyone who plans to attend the meeting and needs assistance because of a disability should contact the Legislative Council staff as soon as possible.

Services regarding services provided to deaf or hearing-impaired students; and continued discussion of higher education funding models, action steps for committee recommendations

Committee Members: Representatives Ken Svedjan, Lois Delmore, Kathy Hawken, RaeAnn G. Kelsch, Matthew M. Klein, Bob Martinson, Jasper Schneider, Bob Skarphol, John D. Wall, Clark Williams; Senators Ray Holmberg, Karen K. Krebsbach, Elroy N. Lindaas, Dave Nething, Dave Oehlke, Tracy Potter, Larry J. Robinson

Staff Contacts: Brady A. Larson, Fiscal Analyst

Allen H. Knudson, Legislative Budget Analyst and Auditor

Any member unable to attend this meeting is asked to notify this office as soon as possible.

Sincerely,

Jim W. Smith Director

JWS/AL