## **MEETING NOTICE**

Representative Matthew M. Klein, Chairman, has called a meeting of the EMPLOYEE BENEFITS PROGRAMS COMMITTEE.

Date: Wednesday, February 22, 2006

Time: 9:00 a.m.

Place: Harvest Room, State Capitol, Bismarck

Agenda: Presentations by representatives of the Public Employees Retirement System regarding the number of retirees, loss ratios of the state health insurance plan, projected cost to the Public Employees Retirement System of allowing certain employee groups currently participating in the Teachers' Fund for Retirement to participate in the Public Employees Retirement System, and status of implementation of the Medicare Part D prescription drug program; by representatives of the Teachers' Fund for Retirement regarding the current number of school district employees receiving retirement benefits from the Teachers' Fund for Retirement and proposals for addressing the fund's unfunded liability; by representatives of the Department of Public Instruction regarding the number of first-year teachers currently employed by school districts; by representatives of the Attorney General's office on legal issues relating to retirement benefit changes; by representatives of Human Resource Management Services regarding an overview of the class evaluation system, updated information on the 10-state salary comparison survey, issues relating to recruiting and retaining state employees, nontraditional or nonmonetary benefits provided for state employees, and the implementation, progress, and bonuses provided under agency recruitment and retention bonus programs; by representatives of the Department of Human Services and the Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation regarding issues relating to the recruitment and retention of employees; and other presentations, including presentations by representatives of the judicial branch, State Board for Career and Technical Education, Workforce Safety and Insurance, Highway Patrol, and Adjutant General regarding their systems of providing salary increases for their employees

Special Note: Anyone who plans to attend the meeting and needs assistance because of a disability should contact the Legislative Council staff as soon as possible.

Committee Members: Representatives Matthew M. Klein, Al Carlson, Joe Kroeber, Ken Svedjan, Francis J. Wald; Senators Ray Holmberg, Ralph L. Kilzer, Karen K. Krebsbach, Carolyn Nelson

**Staff Contacts:** Allen H. Knudson, Assistant Legislative Budget Analyst and Auditor Jim W. Smith, Legislative Budget Analyst and Auditor

Any member who is unable to attend this meeting is asked to please notify this office as soon as possible.

Sincerely,

John D. Olsrud Director

JDO/CS