MEETING NOTICE

Representative Ron Carlisle, Chairman, has called a meeting of the BUDGET COMMITTEE ON GOVERNMENT SERVICES.

Date: Wednesday, October 6, 2004

Time: 8:30 a.m.

Place: Roughrider Room, State Capitol; Missouri River Correctional Center, Bismarck

Agenda: Presentations by a representative of the Dakota Women's Correctional Rehabilitation Center regarding the status of housing state female inmates and the center's 2005-07 biennium budget; presentations by a representative of the Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation regarding the status of housing state female inmates, the department's 2005-07 biennium budget request and plans for additional prison beds, the results of the architect's study of the replacement of the east cellhouse at the State Penitentiary, and inmate population information: presentation by a representative of the Mental Health Association in North Dakota regarding mental health services in North Dakota; presentations by a representative of the Department of Human Services regarding the status of the sexual offender program at the State Hospital and funding included in the department's 2005-07 biennium budget request to address additional child welfare costs related to illegal drug manufacturing and use; presentation by a representative of the Governor's office regarding an update on the Governor's Task Force on Violent and Sexual Offenders; and a tour of the Missouri Riverbank Stabilization and Aquatic Restoration Demonstration/Study Project site at the Missouri River Correctional Center

Special Note: The Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation will provide vans for transportation to the Missouri River Correctional Center for committee members to tour the Missouri Riverbank Stabilization and Aquatic Restoration Demonstration/Study Project site.

Special Note: Anyone who plans to attend the meeting and needs assistance because of a disability should contact the Legislative Council staff as soon as possible.

Committee Members: Representatives Ron Carlisle, Bette B. Grande, Pam Gulleson, Joe Kroeber, Ralph Metcalf, Darrell D. Nottestad, Chet Pollert, Louise Potter, Amy Warnke; Senators Richard Brown, Duaine C. Espegard, Joel C. Heitkamp, Ed Kringstad, Elroy N. Lindaas, Stanley W. Lyson

Jim W. Smith, Legislative Budget Analyst and Auditor Stephanie A. Johnson, Fiscal Analyst Staff Contacts:

Any member who is unable to attend this meeting is asked to please notify this office as soon as possible.

Sincerely,

John D. Olsrud Director

JDO/AAV