NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

BUDGET COMMITTEE ON GOVERNMENT SERVICES

Wednesday and Thursday, April 14-15, 2004
Dakota Women's Correctional Rehab Center
New England, North Dakota
Southwest Multi-County Correction Center
Dickinson, North Dakota

Wednesday, April 14, 2004 - Auditorium, Dakota Women's Correctional Rehab Center, 440 McKenzie Avenue, New England

12:30 p.m.	Committee luncheon at the Dakota Women's Correctional Rehab Center
(MDT)	

1:00 p.m. Call to order Roll call

Consideration of minutes of previous meeting

STATUS OF HOUSING FEMALE INMATES

1:05 p.m. A report by a representative of the Southwest Multi-County Correction Center regarding the status of housing state female inmates, including medical costs, and the center's facilities in New England

1:25 p.m. Presentation by a representative of the Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation regarding:

- The status of housing state female inmates and related costs, including medical costs
- The female inmate population and related treatment, programming, and training needs

OTHER AREAS

1:45 p.m. Presentation by a representative of the Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation regarding:

- Inmate populations
- Updated information on sentence lengths and recidivism rates
- The status of a vocational welding program between the Missouri River Correctional Center and Bismarck State College
- The value of land owned by the department, including an appraisal or market analysis

2:15 p.m.	Tour of the Dakota Women's Correctional Rehab Center
4:00 p.m.	Comments by interested persons regarding the committee's study
4:30 p.m.	Recess - Travel to Dickinson

Thursday, April 15, 2004 - Law Enforcement Center Training Room, Southwest Multi-County Correction Center, 66 Museum Drive, Dickinson

9:00 a.m. (MDT)	Comments by a representative of the Southwest Multi-County Correction Center regarding the center's facilities in Dickinson
9:15 a.m.	Tour of the Southwest Multi-County Correction Center
10:45 a.m.	Comments by interested persons regarding the committee's study
11:15 a.m.	Committee discussion and staff directives
11:45 a.m.	Adjourn

Committee Members

Representatives Ron Carlisle (Chairman), Bette B. Grande, Pam Gulleson, Joe Kroeber, Ralph Metcalf, Darrell D. Nottestad, Chet Pollert, Louise Potter, Amy Warnke Senators Richard Brown, Duaine C. Espegard, Joel C. Heitkamp, Ed Kringstad, Elroy N. Lindaas,

Stanley W. Lyson