NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

GOVERNMENT PERFORMANCE AND ACCOUNTABILITY COMMITTEE

Wednesday, August 13, 2003 Harvest Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

- 9:00 a.m. Call to order Roll call Review of Legislative Council supplementary rules of operation and procedure
- 9:05 a.m. Comments by the committee chairman on the studies assigned to the committee

GOVERNMENT PERFORMANCE AND ACCOUNTABILITY STUDY

- 9:15 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum relating to the committee's study, as directed by House Bill No. 1497, of state government performance and accountability practices, including a review of other states' performance budgeting and strategic planning efforts
- 9:45 a.m. Comments by representatives of the Office of Management and Budget regarding suggestions for improving government performance and accountability

Comments by representatives of the following agencies regarding their performance and accountability practices and suggestions for improving government performance and accountability:

- 10:15 a.m. Department of Transportation
- 10:30 a.m. Highway Patrol
- 10:45 a.m. University System
- 11:00 a.m. Information Technology Department
- 11:15 a.m. Department of Commerce
- 11:30 a.m. Comments by other interested persons regarding the government performance and accountability study
- 11:45 a.m. Comments by committee members regarding the government performance and accountability study
- 12:00 noon Luncheon recess

BUDGET MONITORING

- 1:00 p.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum regarding the committee's responsibility to monitor the status of state agency and institution appropriations
- 1:15 p.m. Comments by other interested persons regarding budget monitoring responsibilities
- 1:30 p.m. Comments by committee members regarding budget monitoring and responsibilities
- 2:00 p.m. Committee discussion and staff directives
- 3:00 p.m. Adjourn

Committee Members

Representatives Al Carlson (Chairman), Ken Svedjan, Dave Weiler Senators Randel Christmann, Michael A. Every, Ray Holmberg Citizen Member John Patrick Traynor