## NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

**Tentative Agenda** 

# **ADVISORY COMMISSION ON INTERGOVERNMENTAL RELATIONS**

Thursday, June 10, 2004 Harvest Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m. Call to order Roll call Consideration of minutes of previous meetings Comments by chairman

#### **CONSOLIDATION OF MILL LEVIES**

- 9:05 a.m. Comments by Ms. Sandy Clark, North Dakota Farm Bureau, regarding the consolidation of county mill levies
- 9:20 a.m. Comments by Mr. Wade Williams, North Dakota Association of Counties, regarding the consolidation of county mill levies
- 9:35 a.m. Comments by Ms. Marcy Dickerson, Tax Commissioner's office, regarding the consolidation of county mill levies
- 9:50 a.m. Comments by interested persons
- 10:00 a.m. Commission discussion and directives

#### **DELINQUENT PROPERTY TAXES**

- 10:05 a.m. Comments by Ms. Dickerson regarding the process for foreclosure on a property tax lien
- 10:20 a.m. Comments by Mr. Mike Montplaisir, North Dakota Association of Counties, regarding options for changing the law relating to foreclosure on a tax lien
- 10:35 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff regarding how neighboring states proceed with foreclosure for delinquent property taxes
- 10:40 a.m. Comments by interested persons
- 10:50 a.m. Commission discussion and directives
- 10:55 a.m. Coffee break

#### MOTOR VEHICLE BRANCH OFFICE PILOT PROJECT

- 11:10 a.m. Comments by Ms. Linda Svihovec, McKenzie County Treasurer, regarding the motor vehicle branch office pilot project
- 11:20 a.m. Comments by Mr. Keith Magnusson, Department of Transportation, regarding the motor vehicle branch office pilot project
- 11:30 a.m. Comments by interested persons
- 11:40 a.m. Commission discussion and directives

POSSIBLE AREAS OF STUDY

- 11:45 a.m. Commission discussion and directives
- 12:00 noon Adjourn

### **Commission Members**

Representatives Scot Kelsh (Chairman), Andrew Maragos Senators Bill L. Bowman, Michael Polovitz

Citizen Members Ron Anderson, Randy Bina, Bob Frantsvog, Donny Malcomb, Mike Montplaisir, Bev Nielson, Devra Smestad

Governor John Hoeven