MEETING NOTICE

Senator Tim Mathern, Chairman, has called a meeting of the BUDGET COMMITTEE ON GOVERNMENT ADMINISTRATION.

Date: Monday, October 15, 2001

Time: 9:00 a.m.

Place: Roughrider Room, State Capitol, Bismarck

Agenda: Presentations by representatives of the Veterans Home on the status of the Veterans Home budget, the method used to project and monitor expenditures, monthly cash flow projections for the 2001-03 biennium, expenditures and end-of-month balances for the first quarter of the 2001-03 biennium, estimated other funds collections, and on vacant beds; by representatives of the Administrative Committee on Veterans Affairs regarding any proposed statutory changes relating to the Veterans Home; by a representative of the Office of Management and Budget on the process involved in charging Veterans Home expenditures by fund type; by representatives of the State Auditor's office on the scope of the performance audit of the Veterans Home; by the Racing Commission on the status of the Fargo race facility and on a proposed bill draft; by representatives of the Attorney General's office regarding the Racing Commission study; by representatives of the Department of Transportation regarding the status of highway-related revenues, on the development of a strategic transportation plan for North Dakota, and on any recommended changes to highway tax distribution formulas; by representatives of counties and cities regarding road and street repair and construction funding; and other presentations, including a presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft relating to the deposit of selected receipts of the Racing Commission and of a memorandum on other states' methods of financing highway projects

Special Note: Anyone who plans to attend the meeting and needs assistance because of a disability should contact the Legislative Council staff as soon as possible.

Committee Members: Senators Tim Mathern, John M. Andrist, Dave Nething, David O'Connell, Tom Trenbeath; Representatives Larry Bellew, Curtis E. Brekke, Rex R. Byerly, Bruce Eckre, Rod Froelich, Kathy Hawken, Keith Kempenich, William E. Kretschmar, Andrew G. Maragos, Lisa Meier, Laurel Thoreson, Elwood Thorpe, Dave Weiler

Staff Contacts: Jim W. Smith, Legislative Budget Analyst and Auditor

Allen H. Knudson, Assistant Legislative Budget Analyst and Auditor

Any member who is unable to attend this meeting is asked to please notify this office as soon as possible.

Sincerely,

John D. Olsrud Director

JDO/PG