## NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

**Tentative Agenda** 

# **BUDGET COMMITTEE ON GOVERNMENT ADMINISTRATION**

Monday, January 7, 2002 Interactive Video Network Meeting

Bismarck - 18th Floor, State Capitol, 600 East Boulevard Avenue
Devils Lake - Room 172, Administration Building, Lake Region State College, 1801 College Drive North
Dickinson - Room 220, Klinefelter Hall, Dickinson State University, Second Street West and 10th Avenue West
Fargo - Room 170, East Morrow Lebedeff Building, North Dakota State University, Centennial Boulevard
Grand Forks - Room 130, Gamble Hall, University of North Dakota, Centennial Drive
Minot - Room 160, Administration Building, Minot State University, Broadway and University Avenue
Wahpeton - Allied Health Center, North Dakota State College of Science, Fourth Street North
Williston - Room 120, Main Building, Williston State College, 1410 University Avenue

9:00 a.m. Call to order Roll call Consideration of minutes of previous meeting

### **VETERANS HOME STUDY**

- 9:05 a.m. Presentation by representatives of the State Auditor's office on the status of the performance audit of the Veterans Home
- 9:20 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a memorandum relating to the statutory history of the Administrative Committee on Veterans Affairs, funding requests for expense reimbursement for administrative committee members, and uses of the veterans' postwar trust fund
- 9:25 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a memorandum relating to fees paid as part of Veterans Home bond payments
- 9:30 a.m. Presentation by representatives of the Veterans Home regarding the status of the Veterans Home 2001-03 biennium budget and operations including:
  - Actual expenditures compared to projections
  - Expenditures charged to the general fund, federal funds, or special funds
  - Federal and other funds collections
  - End-of-month balances available in federal funds and special funds
  - Number of residents
- 9:45 a.m. Presentation by representatives of the Administrative Committee on Veterans Affairs regarding any proposed statutory changes relating to the Veterans Home
- 10:00 a.m. Comments by other interested persons regarding the Veterans Home study

### **RACING COMMISSION STUDY**

- 10:15 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a memorandum on the funding history of the Racing Commission and on the estimated fiscal impact of the proposed bill draft
- 10:30 a.m. Presentation by representatives of the Racing Commission regarding the status of the Fargo race facility and comments regarding the proposed bill draft

10:45 a.m. Comments by other interested persons regarding the proposed bill draft and the Racing Commission study

### HIGHWAY FUNDING STUDY

- 11:00 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a memorandum on the estimated fiscal impact of sales tax exemptions
- 11:05 a.m. Presentation by representatives of the Department of Transportation of a comparison of actual highway tax distribution fund revenues to projections for the 2001-03 biennium to date, on the status of the development of a strategic transportation plan for North Dakota, and on recommended changes to distribution formulas for the state, counties, and cities
- 11:30 a.m. Comments by county representatives regarding county road construction and maintenance funding, including revenue sources and recommended changes to distribution formulas for the state, counties, and cities
- 11:45 a.m. Comments by city representatives regarding city street repair and construction funding, including revenue sources and recommended changes to distribution formulas for the state, counties, and cities
- 12:00 noon Comments by other interested persons regarding the highway funding study
- 12:15 p.m. Committee discussion and staff directives
- 12:30 p.m. Adjourn

#### **Committee Members**

Senators Tim Mathern (Chairman), John M. Andrist, Dave Nething, David O'Connell, Tom Trenbeath Representatives Larry Bellew, Curtis E. Brekke, Rex R. Byerly, Bruce Eckre, Rod Froelich, Kathy Hawken, Keith Kempenich, William E. Kretschmar, Andrew G. Maragos, Lisa Meier, Laurel Thoreson, Elwood Thorpe, Dave Weiler