NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

AGRICULTURE COMMITTEE

Friday, December 14, 2001 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m.	Call to order Roll call Comments by chairman
9:05 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. John D. Olsrud, Director, North Dakota Legislative Council, regarding the supplemental rules of operation and procedure
9:10 a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum regarding the production and consumption of ethanol
9:20 a.m.	Presentation by representatives of the North Dakota Corn Utilization Council regarding the production and consumption of ethanol
9:55 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Roger Johnson, Agriculture Commissioner, regarding the production and consumption of ethanol and additional comments regarding the other studies assigned to the committee
10:00 a.m.	Presentation by representatives of the North Dakota Farm Bureau regarding the production and consumption of ethanol and additional comments regarding the other studies assigned to the committee
10:05 a.m.	Comments by interested persons
10:15 a.m.	Coffee break
10:30 a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum regarding biodiesel fuel and its integration into the economy of this state
10:40 a.m.	Presentation by representatives of the North Dakota Soybean Council and the North Dakota Soybean Growers Association regarding biodiesel fuel
10:55 a.m.	Comments by interested persons
11:15 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Steven D. Strege, North Dakota Grain Dealers Association, requesting an expansion of the committee's studies to include grain shipping issues
11:30 a.m.	Comments by interested persons
12:00 noon	Luncheon recess
1:00 p.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum regarding genetically modified organisms
1:15 p.m.	Presentation by Mr. Todd Leake, Dakota Resource Council, regarding genetically modified organisms
1:30 p.m.	Comments by interested persons
3:00 p.m.	Coffee break

3:15 p.m. Committee discussion

Staff directives

4:00 p.m. Adjourn

Committee Members

Senators Terry M. Wanzek (Chairman), Bill Bowman, Duane Mutch, Ronald Nichols, Harvey Tallackson Representatives James Boehm, Michael Brandenburg, Thomas T. Brusegaard, April Fairfield, Rod Froelich, C. B. Haas, Joyce Kingsbury, Edward H. Lloyd, Phillip Mueller, Jon O. Nelson, Eugene Nicholas, Dennis J. Renner, Earl Rennerfeldt, Arlo E. Schmidt, Ray H. Wikenheiser