NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

AGRICULTURE COMMITTEE

Wednesday and Thursday, July 10-11, 2002 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

Wednesday, July 10, 2002

9:00 a.m.	Call to order Roll call Consideration of minutes from previous meeting
9:05 a.m.	Presentation by Dr. Robert N. Wisner, Department of Agricultural Economics, Iowa State University, regarding genetically modified organisms
10:15 a.m.	Coffee break
10:30 a.m.	Presentation continued
11:00 a.m.	Comments by interested persons
12:00 noon	Luncheon recess
1:00 p.m.	Presentation by Dr. William Wilson, Department of Agribusiness and Applied Economics, North Dakota State University, regarding genetically modified organisms
2:15 p.m.	Coffee break
2:30 p.m.	Presentation by Dr. Gary A. Goreham, Department of Sociology and Anthropology, North Dakota State University, regarding societal and ethical issues associated with genetically modified organisms
4:00 p.m.	Comments by interested persons

Thursday, July 11, 2002

4:00 p.m.

Adjourn

9:00 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Ron V. Lamberty, Market Development Director, American Coalition for Ethanol, regarding ethanol marketing and promotion
10:30 a.m.	Coffee break
10:45 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Ted Aulich, Research Manager, Energy and Environmental Research Center, University of North Dakota, regarding ethanol production and marketing
12:00 noon	Luncheon recess
1:00 p.m.	Presentation by Mr. Tade Sullivan, Director of Public Affairs, Iowa Corn Growers Association, regarding ethanol promotion legislation
2:15 p.m.	Coffee break
2:30 p.m.	Comments by interested persons
	Committee discussion

Committee Members

Senators Terry M. Wanzek (Chairman), Bill Bowman, Duane Mutch, Ronald Nichols, Harvey Tallackson Representatives James Boehm, Michael Brandenburg, Thomas T. Brusegaard, April Fairfield, Rod Froelich, C. B. Haas, Joyce Kingsbury, Edward H. Lloyd, Phillip Mueller, Jon O. Nelson, Eugene Nicholas, Dennis J. Renner, Earl Rennerfeldt, Arlo E. Schmidt, Ray H. Wikenheiser