NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

JUDICIARY COMMITTEE

Thursday and Friday, May 25-26, 2000
Prairie Rose Room, Radisson Hotel
Fargo, North Dakota
Roughrider Room, State Capitol
Bismarck, North Dakota

Thursday, May 25, 2000 - Prairie Rose Room, Radisson Hotel, Fargo

9:00 a.m. Call to order

Roll call

Consideration of minutes of April 10, 2000, meeting

Comments by the chairman

PUBLIC HEARINGS ON CONSTITUTIONAL MEASURES

9:10 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a memorandum regarding the four

constitutional measures to appear on the June primary ballot

9:20 a.m. Public hearing on measure No. 1 on the primary election ballot, relating to the

membership of the State Board of Higher Education

Public hearing on measure No. 2 on the primary election ballot, relating to the election of executive branch officials and providing for the election of several officials

in nonpresidential election years

10:20 a.m. Coffee break

10:35 a.m. Public hearing on measure No. 3 on the primary election ballot, relating to the

removal of the State Treasurer as a constitutional officer

Public hearing on measure No. 4 on the primary election ballot, relating to the filling

of vacancies in the Legislative Assembly

11:35 a.m. Committee discussion

12:00 noon Recess

Friday, May 26, 2000 - Roughrider Room, State Capitol, Bismarck

9:00 a.m. Comments by the chairman

PUBLIC HEARINGS ON CONSTITUTIONAL MEASURES

9:10 a.m. Public hearing on measure No. 1 on the primary election ballot, relating to the

membership of the State Board of Higher Education

Public hearing on measure No. 2 on the primary election ballot, relating to the election of executive branch officials and providing for the election of several officials

in nonpresidential election years

10:20 a.m. Coffee break

10:35 a.m. Public hearing on measure No. 3 on the primary election ballot, relating to the

removal of the State Treasurer as a constitutional officer

Public hearing on measure No. 4 on the primary election ballot, relating to the filling

of vacancies in the Legislative Assembly

11:35 a.m. Committee discussion and other business

12:00 noon Adjourn

Committee Members

Senators Wayne Stenehjem (Chairman), Dennis Bercier, Joel C. Heitkamp, Judy Lee, Stanley W. Lyson, Carolyn Nelson, John T. Traynor, Darlene Watne

Representatives Duane DeKrey, Lois Delmore, G. Jane Gunter, Kathy Hawken, Dennis E. Johnson, Scot Kelsh, Lawrence R. Klemin, Amy N. Kliniske, Kim Koppelman, John Mahoney, Shirley Meyer, Phillip Mueller